Customer Reviews for

Sir Thursday (Keys to the Kingdom Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Can't Wait 'til Friday

    The Keys of the Kingdom series hits a turning point in the fourth book, "Sir Thursday." People are killed, new creatures appear, and Arthur finds himself in a lethal power struggle with the Morrow Days. Garth Nix is in fine form in this book, one of the best of the series, and it only promises to get better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    sir thursday

    in this thrilling sequel authur is brain washedand doesnt remeber a thing how will he come to reality and takeover he army of sir thirsday and sir thursday him self

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not great, but not bad.

    There's certainly one thing to be said about everything Nix writes, and that is that it's rife with original creativity and completely new fantasy stories. However, sometimes the books themselves, although phenomenally imaginative, are hit or miss depending on how much Nix is able to flesh out the story. The Seventh Tower series, for instance, is deftly imagined, a two worlds drawn together through light and shadow, and the ability to use colored gemstones to create light beams that can do all sorts of interesting things. Unfortunately for whatever reason, Nix doesn't explore the world and the story enough. It's much more like eating watery soup than it is like consuming a good meal.

    The Abhorsen Trilogy, on the other hand, is a great work, and although it's not a classic literature sort of story, the world itself is fleshed out well, so that the reader can really imagine the world and lose themselves in it. I feel like the Keys to the Kingdom series is a mixture of both, and I'd love to see the world more fully explored. The first book, especially, seems to move toward that path, but as the books progress, they seem to become more and more formulaic and lacking in substance. Ultimately, Nix's imagination seems to know no bounds, but if he would slow down and put more life into these books, I think they would be much better. Not to say that the books aren't fun to read, but I believe they could be fun to read and rich. Hopefully his next fantasy series will be more like The Abhorsen Trilogy.

    -Lindsey Miller, www.lindseyslibrary.com

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Action, Humor, Thrill, Everything a Great Book Needs to be Great!

    "Sir Thursday", by Garth Nix has everything a good book should have! It is the fourth book in the "Keys to the Kingdom" series. Throughout every book, the good characters get more likable, the bad characters get more dislikable, and, ultimately, each book gets more and more enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2008

    Action and an interesting plot

    Arthur Penhaligon's adventure continues as he is drafted into the Army. This book has a lot of action and a good plot. I like the way the action shifts from Arthur over to his friend, Leaf, on Earth who is trying to battle Arthur's evil double. This book is really suspenseful and leaves you hanging at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2008

    Why you should read this book.

    This book takes you places and you can just imagine yourself in the character's place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2008

    Awsome

    One of the best in the sieres yet.Really recomended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2006

    Loved it

    This is, possibly, my favorite series by Garth Nix. This book had more action, I think, than the others. I like how the seven deadly sins are used and the days of the week. There are more interesting bits of the House as you get farther up too. I like the Great Maze and its moving tiles, the Will's sarcasm, and how the fourth Key (and the others as well) were right with the Trustee, causing Arthur to face them at the end. I always read these books in a day or two, so the year in between is almost torturous. As soon as I can I get the next book and pounce on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2006

    Great Series

    I have read all the books in this series and this author always delivers, each book better than the last. This book was a great read, one that has me eager for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2006

    Excellent

    I think that this book was very interesting, but I wish that the book explained a few more things. Who sent the spirit-eater? I think that the book was entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2006

    Can you believe what happens in this book!?!

    This book surprises you completly!Like when Arther gets washed between the ears.Everyone who has at lest read mister monday knows about the Pipers Childern who were brought to the House by the Piper.Well he has come back to claim the House and to be The Rightful Hier.The only bad thing about this book is that Arther is still in the House and Leaf is in trouble on earth, I not going to give away all the good stuff so all stop there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2006

    Sir Thursday Book Review

    Sir Thursday is the fourth book in a series called Keys to the Kingdom. Written by Garth Nix, it is part of the fantasy genre. Arthur Penhaligon, the rightful heir to theKingdom of Seven Days, has been drafted into Sir Thursday's army. Not only does hhe have to topple Sir Thursday, but he also now ha to fight for him! Something is going on in the military that just isn't quite right, and it is up to Arthur to find out what is wrong and save the entire army from being overwhelmed. This book is an easy read, but would be absolutely impossible to understand without reading the first three books of the series. It is a very entertaining book. When you are reading it, you find yourself getting very involved with the characters and plot. Nix wrote it so you can almost see and touch it. 'Sir Thursday drove the bayonet into the mapboard with his last words, ripping and tearinga the wood with unbelievable ferocity. When he had reduced it to pieces, he impaled the remains with the bayonet, leaving the weapon quivering in a broken board.' Sir Thursday touches on sin in a slightly controversial way. This book actually brings something up that is subtle, but if you are expecting it, it's obvious. Each book focuses on one of the Seven Deadly Sins. Sir Thursday especially focuses on anger. Mister Monday, another book in the Nix series, focuses on sloth Grim Tuesday focuses on greed and Drowned Wednesday on gluttony. I find it interesting that the author has done this, and generallky, I would be offended by Nix's attempt to dictate the Bible through fictional means, but the seven deadly sins are never really mentioned as a formal list in the Bible. What Nix does is creative. This book hasn't influenced any change in what I believe about sin, but what it has said has been fairly close to what I believe. I would definitely suggest this book if you enjoy reading long series, and deep thinking presented in an extemely uncommon way. This book, at least in my opinion, is quite entertaining, as well as thought provoking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2006

    fLiP'n sWeEt

    read all books in this series so far, and i thought it was pretty sweet, with Arthur battling against all those guys, and making them all pitiful in the end. im really not a book person, but reading this was cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2006

    This was Awesome!

    This book was awesome! If you have read the other Keys to the Kingdom books you'll think this is the best. This book really develops Arthur, in previous books arthur never really fought he just ran, but in this book he turns into a soldier. mentally and physically. you'll defiantely enjoy this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2006

    A great series

    I have read and Purchased the three before this one. And am Anixous to read this one. Nix has a unique style of telling the story and has a unique mind. One can't help but love his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2006

    We're not worthy

    Garth Nix is one of the greatest writers ever. He sucks you in, chews you up, then spits you out and leaves you thinking it's over already. If only he wrote faster,but the worlds not perfect so...oh well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2006

    Best One Yet

    I loved the whole dark mood for this book. It had a wonderfully written script and was extremly well detailed. Read this book or this series now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2006

    Greatest Novel ever!

    Sir Thursday, along with the rest of the Keys to the Kingdom series are better than any other novel series that i have ever read. The plot was extremely interesting and it filled in some gaps, i'm only sorry that i have to wait for the next one to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2006

    The Keys to the Kingdom is the Best Series

    The Keys to The Kingdom Series is one of the best series I've read in a while. Garth Nix writes such a fantastic story I could almost believe I was in the story, I wish I was in the story it's just so amazing.I would really recommend this Series and book to everyone. I'm really looking forward for when this new book comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2005

    Please, please, PLEASE be as good as the others!

    Well, Nix's Keys series is spellbinding and intriging, and complex yet simple. In short, this is a fresh and fluid series. We eagerly await this episode.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4