Customer Reviews for

Siren of the Waters (Commander Jana Mantinova Series #1)

Average Rating 3
( 652 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(194)

3 Star

(187)

2 Star

(93)

1 Star

(82)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

This is a terrific European police procedural

The van skidded on ice near Bratislava, Slovakia before bursting into an inferno roasting to death the occupants, a pimp and his six hookers. Slovak Criminal Police Commander Jana Matinova believes this was no accident that the victims were murdered. Evidence seems to...
The van skidded on ice near Bratislava, Slovakia before bursting into an inferno roasting to death the occupants, a pimp and his six hookers. Slovak Criminal Police Commander Jana Matinova believes this was no accident that the victims were murdered. Evidence seems to point to human sexual slave trafficking from the east coming through Bratislava to the west.

Meanwhile Police Chief Trokan sends Jana to Strasbourg, France to attend a conference on prostitution. When two of the guest speakers are killed with the murder weapon being an ice pick and with the E.U. approval, Jana teams up with Russian Levitin; both believe the culprit in Strasbourg and Bratislava is master criminal Ivan "Koba" Makine. As they search for evidence, he seeks his missing sister allegedly part of Friends of Russia Ball in Nice and she prays for reconciliation with her married daughter who holds her culpable for the death of her father under the communists.

This is a terrific European police procedural with plenty of misdirection that takes the heroine and readers to the Ukraine and France. The story line is fast-paced and fabulously supported and enhanced with a subplot involving Jana's relationship with her spouse and surviving under the communist regime. She makes the tale work, past and present, as her attitude is take no prisoners not even her daughter. Fans will relish this strong whodunit.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Good

I enjoyed the novel. I especially liked the short,to-the-point chapters. I actually thought that the subplot of paranoia and oppression under a communist regime to totally innocent citizens was better fleshed out than the actual crime mystery plot. But, all in all, i...
I enjoyed the novel. I especially liked the short,to-the-point chapters. I actually thought that the subplot of paranoia and oppression under a communist regime to totally innocent citizens was better fleshed out than the actual crime mystery plot. But, all in all, it was good.

posted by GBU on June 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 194 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    Character-driven mystery

    I downloaded this book as part of the Free Fridays ebook promotion. I'm not much of a mystery fan, but this book really pulled me in with its well-drawn characters. I liked spending time with them, and finding out what would happen to them. It wasn't a "cheery" read, but I found it to be interesting - especially in the depiction of how murder cases are investigated in other countries. Worth reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    If you enjoyed Stieg Larsson's "The Girl . . ." series . . .

    This spellbinding account of Mafia-style crimes and international crime fighting in the ethical quagmire of countries tainted by decades of Communist dominance, is a good read. The tale provides insight into the evolving culture of Slovakia and quickly transports readers to the Ukraine, Austria, and finally Nice (France) with Commander Jana Mantinova of the Slovak National Police Force.

    With help and considerable hindrance from a host of intriguing characters, Mantinova exhibits stealth and savvy in her struggle to connect the dots in a string of crimes that literally explode out of an initial investigation of a single suspicious “traffic accident” in Bratislava. Flashback-style chapters throughout the book provide glimpses of Jana’s past personal and professional life and trials.

    Dare I say that this book and Genelin’s "Commander Mantinova Series" may be the next stop for readers of Stieg Larsson’s Swedish police stories. Can Hollywood be far behind?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    Really well written

    I like this author's style of writing, had no trouble following a complex plot with many characters and lots of things happening at once. I could see the story. There were a couple of things I struggled with - (What was up with the death of the blind cats?) but over all -very good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2013

    This is a wonderful police procedural that takes place in Europe

    This is a wonderful police procedural that takes place in Europe but the main character lives in Slovakia. The Slovakia location is unusual and very interesting. There's no sex, no romance, just a beautiful mystery with terrific characters to fuel the plot. Loved it and will read the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2010

    Pretty Good Read

    I like the main character and the plot was interesting. Also, it is interesting to read about the countries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    I liked this book.

    It was nice to read a mystery, where the professionals stayed professional. It didn't turn into a love story, or have to add a sex scene to steam it up.
    Just a good story, written well, that came to a conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Siren of the Waters

    This was an interesting book, not something I would normally choose for myself. If it hadn't been a free book for Friday I would not have bought it. But I would have missed out. The story line was good, the characters were good, and I didn't want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read

    I was not expecting much because it was a Free e-book but not more than ten pages into the book I could not put it down. I anxiously await then next in the series. I appreciated the flashback method the author used, though at times it was a tad confusing. Overall, it was worth reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Really engaging

    This book drew me in immediately with its interesting plot line and engaging characters. So much so, in fact, that I've ordered the next in the author's series. And, I put other books I'm in the middle of aside to finish this one, as I couldn't wait to see where it was going. VERY worth the free download!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    Easy, enjoyable and has a twist

    I enjoyed reading this book. It made for a fun read this summer. The characters were interesting and even though I am from the US not Europe I got a feel for the place and countries written about. I enjoyed the web of intrigue created by the author. The ending was surprising and a touch sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 194 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10