BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Sister

Average Rating 3.5
( 154 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of the BEST books I have ever read

This book was great. It was easy to read but didn't feel like 'an easy read'. It really makes you think about who the crazy one is. It shows that it is a matter perspective. It reminded me of the Bette Davis movie WHATEVER HAPPENED TO BABY JANE.

posted by Anonymous on September 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Blech!

Poppy Adams does have a very nice style of writing which is probably the only reason I finished this book. There was way too much information about moths! After reading this book I feel like I am Ginny. There is nothing to figure out in this book because, just like Ginn...
Poppy Adams does have a very nice style of writing which is probably the only reason I finished this book. There was way too much information about moths! After reading this book I feel like I am Ginny. There is nothing to figure out in this book because, just like Ginny, you don't know enough to draw any solid conclusions about what happened. So this is what it's like to be mentally challenged about your surroundings? To top it off, I'm totally annoyed at flyjo9 who ruined the only surprise/twist in the book.

posted by Anonymous on September 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 48 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2008

    Sister

    I'm not really sure what I think of this book. It's dark - almost Gothic in tone - and I didn't find the characters all that sympathetic. Even so, I was anxious to see just what was going to happen next. After I finished it, though, I wasn't sure I actually LIKED the book. Well-written, yes with an interesting plot and lots of character development, but it just wasn't my cup of tea. However, this is the author's first book, and she impressed me enough that I will take a long look at anything else she may write.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2008

    Sister

    An interesting novel set in England in the 1940's, about two sisters, their parents and many dark secrets. The final chapters will put you at the edge of your seat. This novel includes everything you ever wanted to know about moths, but were afraid to ask. This is a wonderful debut novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2008

    Sister

    I found this book to be extremely mind provoking. It was very well written, and the imagery was very interesting. I feel that this book will be enjoyed more by selective readers rather than readers-at-large. I might have titled it 'Through Ginny's Eyes.' I appreciated the oportunity to be a part of this book club and wish Ms. Adams good luck with her book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2008

    Sister

    This was an interesting read for me. I found the characters interesting, but I was wanting more from them. I found the plot intriguing, but I was wanting to learn more about some twists. I found the mood mysterious, but I was wanting it filled out a little more. The moth theme throughout was a neat touch, although it got a little much at times. Some day I plan to read this again to see if I can catch more the second time around. Overall it was a decent book that I would recommend to certain friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2008

    Sister

    While this novel contained thought-provoking, intelligent ideas, and intriguing concepts about nature vs. nurture, I feel there are ultimately too many unanswered questions at the end of the book, for my taste, to consider it a huge success. While I understand that The Sister is 'purposefully nonpresecriptive, and at times ambiguous' (according to the author), I personally do not find it effective when nothing is given a definitive answer, including situations that must, in reality, have one true answer. (There are clues, though, so pay attention so you can form your own intepretation.) It's like an equation featuring distance, time, and speed - you need two to figure out the third value there aren't many fixed reference points to be found here. The narrator, Ginny, is memorable her sister, Vivi, is not. I was fine with the moth-y content, particularly since the author drew elegant, important parallels based on what we learn about moths. (But I truly enjoy learning about subjects about which I have no previous knowledge.) This would make a good book club book, because it improves with discussion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2008

    Sister

    It was a good book but I felt it dragged a lot in the middle with a lot of moth talk. Picked right up at the end though..... All in all, a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2008

    Sister

    I give this book three stars. The author does a good job of showing how growing up in a dysfunctional family affects a child and their ability to form relationships. The book was a little slow in parts, especially in describing the vocation of insect collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2008

    Sister

    I found the book slightly interesting but could put it down for a few days and not have the excitement I had with the past First Look Books. I also found it very hard to connect with the main character, she seemed very underdeveloped that she was just like reading about someone in the news paper. I was able to finish the book, and towards the end it did become little more interesting. If I seen it in a book store I doubt that I would honestly buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2008

    Sister

    I felt that this could be condensed into a better short story. There were too many words about irrelevant and to me not very interesting moths. I would have preferred more attention to the reason why Viv has returned after so many years. We do not know what happened to cause the rift between the two sisters and what the real family secret was about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2008

    Sister

    I think that 'The Sister', the premier work of Poppy Adams, succeeded well in what it was meant to do: show us one perspective from among the members of a unique family. It was interesting and well written. It would make a great movie. But for my personal reading pleasure, it was too limited in it's scope. It left too many interesting options unaddressed. I like to draw my own conclusions, but I also like a little reinforcement that I've made the correct guesses! Also, it was a bit too much scientific methodology for me (and I'm a clinician!) I did really enjoy Ginny analyses of her own personality and motives. We all surely do think that way at times and probably are about as accurate and honest. I also hope that they do a little work in editing the typos and grammaric errors before the final printing. I would recommend 'The Sister' as a summer beach read but that's about it. I do look forward to Ms. Adams future work, as I think she shows real promise in a longer, more complex work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2008

    misleading synopsis

    I found the book spent way more time teaching you about the ways of a lepidopteran than it did opening up the many secrets that where involved in the characters.I was also disappointed in the abrupt ending that was not satisfying in the least.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2008

    Sister

    I give this book three stars. It had a sort of creepy beginning, that really draws you in, and I liked the narrator's voice. The beginning is very dark and mysterious, and I also found the information about the study of moths fascinating. But ultimately I found the book fairly predictable and sort of flat.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2008

    Sister

    I was eager to begin this book -- my first arc from B&N and first time in an interactive online book club -- but had to put it down because I realized that I was reading it too early and too fast. It had captured my interest from the very beginning -- but then I had to stop! I read The Book of Negroes (excellent & 5 stars for this one!) and then turned back to The Sister starting over where I left off. It seemed to have lost some of my interest in the meantime and the technical/scientific info about the moths almost made me want to put it down (downright gross in one chapter!)....but I try not to give up on any book, unless I really HAVE to, so I read on. My interest picked up and about two-thirds of the way through I wanted to find out what was going to happen in the end -- just where was this droll, sad, strange story going?! I'm glad I stuck with the book -- the twist was unexpected -- but am also a little frustrated by some unanswered questions (also raised by many other readers). I don't often analyse books -- I usually read for pleasure and to learn about things that I am interested in -- so it was a challenge to relate to the symbolism/metaphors other readers were discussing. All-in-all it was an interesting book, something I wouldn't normally read or pick off the library shelf where I work, so it was a good opportunity for me to try something different and get a taste of the busy, busy world of an online book club right here in my computer! Thanks B&N and Poppy for this new experience and (I think) I look forward to trying it all again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2008

    Sister

    This book, narrated by the main character, is a look into a past riddled with secrets. The reader is taken on a backward glance into the past of two sisters and is led into a series of mysterious happenings with many possible explanations. This thought provoking novel is an excellent first beginning for Poppy Adams.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2008

    Sister

    I thought this was a very well written book, but rather disturbing. At the end of it all I am not sure I liked it. I would have liked a little more information. What was most fascinating to me was the first person narrative. I think without outside checks--i.e. people in our lives, we can come up with a very off center world view. When a life is lived so isolated there is the potential for things to go very wrong. It was certainly thought provoking, but in the end not a satisfying read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2008

    Sister

    I enjoyed the many secrets and mystery involved in this book. However, the insects and moths really turned me off. I also felt that there was too much thinking and figuring out what was happening. I still felt at the end of the book that too many questions were unanswered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2008

    Sister

    It had a slow start that almost made me want to put it down but I kept reading and got pulled in by the story. It not only showed the dynamics of family life, the relationship of sisters but also how things may or may not change after years of separation. I thought some of it was a little too technical to read for enjoyment, unless you're interested in Moths but over all, a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2008

    Sister

    I give The Sister 3 Stars. This book reminded me of a Bette Davis movie thriller. It had that old fashioned dark kind of creepy noir feel that the old movies used to thrill viewers. Although I had the desire to finish the book, I found myself reluctant to pick it up in my free time. While I was interested in the descriptions the author gave of the characters and the house, I was turned off by all the detail about the moths. I don't think the author needed to go into the subject quite as much as she did. I found myself trying to skip through all that description. The author did a good job in unveiling the personalities of the two sisters from the time they grew up together, attended school, and eventually ended up together in their old age. I do wish the author gave us more of an explanation of what was going on with Ginny. I belong to a book club and I wouldn't recommend this book. It contained a few surprises but I think the author didn't quite make a connection with the reader. And you need some kind of connection to keep the reader interested. I wasn't sure I really cared what happened to these two sisters!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2008

    Sister

    Interesting read from a first time author. Contains lessons in how the mind deteriorates with some scientific research thrown in. This book is not for those who prefer a 'begining, middle, end' read. There are no answers, as in life, we often don't know the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2008

    Sister

    Overall I liked the book. I seriously considered giving it 4 stars rather than 3, but in the end decided on 3. The book hooked me from the very first page. I would consider it a page-turner. Despite the intense desire to keep reading until the end, however, the book did have its flaws. I have always enjoyed books with twists and turns along the way, but I prefer my endings tied up with a nice little bow. I had the impression that the 'sister' in the book was going to be Vivian, but I question whether the 'sister' is really Ginny. Over the course of the story we learn a great deal about Ginny's past, but very little about Vivi's. I was disappointed and frustrated not to learn more about Vivi after she left their childhood home and her motives for returning. I was left with an unfinished feeling at the end of the book and had more questions than answers. Personally, I did not find the scientific information regarding the moths interesting or useful to the book. The symbolism was lost on me. I read this book with a friend and it was helpful to discuss it with her as we read. I agree with other reviewers that this would be a good choice for a book club. The ending, or lack of one, would generate interesting discussion amongst the members.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 48 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3