Customer Reviews for

Sister

Average Rating 4
( 213 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Highly compelling and totally riveting!

Sister is an engrossing, emotional thriller touching on devotion, betrayal, self-absorption, madness, and grief. It keeps you wondering just how unraveled Bee is going to become and wondering what really happened to Tess. The story is cleverly plotted and fast paced. Be...
Sister is an engrossing, emotional thriller touching on devotion, betrayal, self-absorption, madness, and grief. It keeps you wondering just how unraveled Bee is going to become and wondering what really happened to Tess. The story is cleverly plotted and fast paced. Bee is the responsible sister and Tess is an impulsive free spirit who sees the beauty in the world around her. When Beatrice learns that her beloved sister has disappeared, she rushes home to London. But when the police find young Tess's body, everyone seems ready to accept it as suicide. Everybody, that is, but Beatrice. While bureaucracy stands in her way, she leaves the rules behind and goes in search of the truth. Her search and discoveries blend romance, politics, and science in surprising ways. When everyone is sure that her pursuit of Tess's killer is a delusion, she has to nurture that so-called delusion to unlock the truth. This selective turn of the head gives her a vivid personality. The book is highly compelling and totally riveting. The writing is excellent.

posted by angeleyesAS on June 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Not what I expected

After reading the reviews I couldn't wait to download this book and curl up for a good read. I was very disappointed. For me it was just a long drawn out letter and I couldn't wait to finish it and get back to my usual mystery writers. Maybe the fact that I don't have a...
After reading the reviews I couldn't wait to download this book and curl up for a good read. I was very disappointed. For me it was just a long drawn out letter and I couldn't wait to finish it and get back to my usual mystery writers. Maybe the fact that I don't have any sisters kept me from being able to appreciate her drive to find the truth behind her sisters life and death. Sorry guy's

posted by carol68CR on June 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 217 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly compelling and totally riveting!

    Sister is an engrossing, emotional thriller touching on devotion, betrayal, self-absorption, madness, and grief. It keeps you wondering just how unraveled Bee is going to become and wondering what really happened to Tess. The story is cleverly plotted and fast paced. Bee is the responsible sister and Tess is an impulsive free spirit who sees the beauty in the world around her. When Beatrice learns that her beloved sister has disappeared, she rushes home to London. But when the police find young Tess's body, everyone seems ready to accept it as suicide. Everybody, that is, but Beatrice. While bureaucracy stands in her way, she leaves the rules behind and goes in search of the truth. Her search and discoveries blend romance, politics, and science in surprising ways. When everyone is sure that her pursuit of Tess's killer is a delusion, she has to nurture that so-called delusion to unlock the truth. This selective turn of the head gives her a vivid personality. The book is highly compelling and totally riveting. The writing is excellent.

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    I just finished it but I'm tempted to just start it all over again...

    Riveting thriller that had me torn between not being able to put the book down with not wanting to finish it because I loved the characters and storyline so much.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    Great Summer Read

    I couldn't put this book down! The plot kept me guessing and just when I thought I had the mystery solved it would twist and turn again. Writing was smart and characters well developed. The beautiful relationship of Bee and her sister brought me to tears. LOVED IT!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Not what I expected

    After reading the reviews I couldn't wait to download this book and curl up for a good read. I was very disappointed. For me it was just a long drawn out letter and I couldn't wait to finish it and get back to my usual mystery writers. Maybe the fact that I don't have any sisters kept me from being able to appreciate her drive to find the truth behind her sisters life and death. Sorry guy's

    5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Not bad

    Overall a pretty good read, not great. There were numerous points in the story i wanted the author to just get to the point. The ending was alright.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Decent read.

    I truly felt connected to Bee and Tess, until about page 200, then it seemed like the story just strayed too far from their relationship and on to a very twisty reality of Beatrice. A turn in the novel that I wasn't expecting and believe may have hindered the initial plot. It was unexpected and a unique turn but seriously under developed and rushed. Still, I will recommend this book and look forward to watch/reading as this author perfects her style!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another wonderful debut by a new mystery writer

    One of the things that I am enjoying about being involved in Goodreads and writing a blog, is the amount of new authors that I have been exposed to. Rosamund Lupton is another one of those authors. Sister is her debut novel, and it is well worth the read. What Lupton gives us is a tale of the relationship between two sisters all wrapped up in a mystery. Rather than taking away from either story, these two stories fit well together and keep the reader involved. Bee flies to London as her sister is reported missing, only to have the police discover her sister's body and to have the coroner declare it as a suicide. Bee does not believe Tess would commit suicide and proceeds to try to prove otherwise. The story is told in the form of letters to her sister and Bee's ultimate recollection of events. I found both stories captivating and engrossing. The characters were excellently portrayed and believable. The relationship story had the right mix of nostalgia and poignancy. The mystery was excellent, complete with all the right twists and turns and an ending that was surprising on more than one level. Great debut by Ms. Lupton and I am looking forward to reading her next book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    I heard an interview with the author on NPR and decided I would pick this up. It was great, as I have a sister and it was so real, I totally understood the prespective of the narrator and couldn't put it down until I was finished!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Good thriller

    The story started out slow during the introduction of characters but mid way through so much was happening I could not put it down. A very interesting account of "who done it".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Loved it

    Best book I have read in a while. Grabs you. I kept sneaking off to read it anytime I could.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Excellent, I highly recommend this book.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this beautifully written book. The characters are wonderful, the essence of the story was captivating. Would love to read other books written by Rosamund Lupton. I have recommended this book to many friends already. Enjoy, Luv 2 read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Read this - Especially if you have a sister

    This book is suspenseful with enough twists to keep you thinking, guessing & interested. I was a bit underwhelmed with the overt genetics underpinnings. I also at times had to focus on the setting - are we in the past or the present?; however, there is an eventual payoff to the reader. The best part of this novel the author's ability to vividly portray the bonds of sisterhood.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great story, well written

    Rosamund Lupton has become one of my author's to watch with Sister. This isn't a murder mystery novel as much as it is a story that demonstrates the power of the bonds of sisterhood under the worst of circumstances. Through Lupton's writing I began to find myself mourning for Tess, the lost sister, and desperately wanting to see Beatrice succeed in proving Tess didn't kill herself. Sisters made me long for the bond that these two sisters had in my own life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    Loved It

    I really loved this book....can hardly wait for her next one! The end was especially good. I did not see it coming and it definately left me wanting more books from this author! This book would also make a good book club read because it has mystery, suspence, and romance. In other words, a little bit of something for everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Disappointing

    I muddled through this book hoping that it would get better...it didn't. The author did manage to convey the loving bond between the sisters. Not a page turner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Lex

    I feel bad for leading him on tho. Ill ttyt i gtgtb nightnight cx

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Wow. Very imaginative story. I did not see that one coming...

    Wow. Very imaginative story. I did not see that one coming...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Brooke

    Np ty just broke up with me 2 days ago

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    2 stars

    Good book overall. A bit sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Jennifer

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 217 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11