Customer Reviews for

Sister, Sister

Average Rating 4.5
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2008

    Good Book :)

    This was the first book that I read by EJD. I read this book in 3 days and thought that it was a pretty good book. It wasn't the best book, but it was a very good read. I'm pretty sure his other books are better because this was his first book. I'd recommend that you buy this book. It's at a really good price too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2008

    GREAT BOOK!!!!

    I am a first timer to the Eric Jerome Dickey phenomenon. I had heard so many great things about his work that I decided to start with the first book. I could not put the book down! I could relate to ALL of the characters. It is always good to have family and friends on your side when you need them. This book reflected just how important people are in your life. This book was much better than I imagined. I give 'ejd' a standing ovation and I can not wait to read the next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    SEQUEL

    CHICKEN IS AWESOME WISHED IT TALKED MIRE ABOUT BROWN AND CHIQUITA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Great read!

    I loved this book! I couldnt seem to put the book down... i loved Inda. She is a bad chick!!! Lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    GOOD READ

    Not my favorite EJD book, but definately a touching and sometimes funny story that I really enjoyed reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    One of my favs from EJD!!

    I love EJD and allnof his books!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    Great Book

    Great book and easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Really Impressive

    I was impressed with the story line. Sister, Sister was a really good read. I recommensd this book to any woman who is fed up with a good-for-nothing man. I like in the story how Valerie and Inda are total opposites of each other. What happened in Chiquita's life was pretty sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    This was one of his best books

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. Most Authors first one to three books are their best and I would definitely say that about Sister Sister. It is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2007

    Not chronicled very well.

    Too much jumping around, I got lost. Started out really slow, sped up then got all out of order. I had to backtrack to figure out what was going on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2006

    Good Book

    THIS IS THE THIRD NOVEL I'VE READ FROM MY COLLECTION OF EJD NOVELS... IT WAS A PRETTY ENTERTAINING BOOK... IT WASN'T THE BEST I'VE READ BUT IT WAS FAR FROM THE WORST... I READ IT IN TWO DAYS, I LOVED INDA'S CHARACTER, THOUGHT IT WAS KINDA WEIRD HOW HER AND CHIQUITA MET BUT I APPLAUDED HER FOR REMAINING HER FRIEND AFTER WHAT SHE SAW CAUSE MOST WOMEN WOULD'VE LEFT HER TRIFLING BEHIND ALONE... I ADMIRED THE WAY VALERIE LOVED HER HUSBAND AND IN THE END SHOWED HIM THAT SHE WASN'T THE WOMAN HE THOUGHT SHE WAS...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2006

    good read

    this book was okay, ive read seven of his books and my goal is to read every one of them...i liked this book but i just thought that the ending wasnt very good because i wanted to know what happened with chiquita and brown...Inda was my favorite character because she seemed to be the one with the most sense...THE OTHER WOMAN is still by far my favorite book by EJD...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2006

    Ok but not the best!!!

    This book was kind of dry. Maybe because it was a male writing in a womans point of view. It was not a page turner. It was good but he dragged it out a little to long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2005

    read better

    I don't know this was my second EJD book and I found it very boring and slow. The characters had little substance and absolutly no depth. I felt like each woman in the story was a typical sterotype of a black woman. Loud mouth, loose, etc. I only read this book because I needed something to preoccupy me at work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2005

    7th Book read by EJD

    The sisterhood in this book was really good. I like the way EJD portrayed the fact that women go back to losers even when they find out the guy is a loser, it shows realism. I also like the way the women left those same losers when they had had enough, it shows growth. However, this book was not as good as the others were, it is obvious that he has grown as a writer (his descriptiveness improved as well as his raunchyness), which is great. I think that if I had read this one first I would appreciate it more. The storyline was good but the drama seemed to lead up suspensefully and then just be over. It was an ok read. I recommend new readers to read this one first and then move on to the others. Then it won't seem like he left you hanging. It said somewhere that readers should read this one first, but I didnt. I wish I would have, then I would have probably given this 4 stars. Next I'm getting Drive Me Crazy and Genevieve.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2004

    This Book is A Very Exciting Novel 2 Read.

    I liked this book alot and I would like to have my son and kids to read this book when they get older. I am only 13 years old and I think that this book deserves a golden medal. It is very interesting and I really like it most becuz I live in L.A. and I knew every place they was talking about in this book. I also enjoyed how the character's in this book communicated with each other. The words and everything in this story was understood very well and could almost be visualized. Eric Jerome Dickey you did a good job on this book and I would be expecting more from you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2004

    BORING

    This book was VERY slow. It was soo predictable. The fights between the sisters were corny. This was not his best book at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2004

    Fake sistas real problems

    Eric Jerome Dicky Is a great writer i enjoyed sista sista i like how they handled their problems instead of being all ghetto. Me being only 13 I really enjoyed this book even though its past ninth grade reading level next I plan on reading Milk in My Coffee.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2003

    Leisure

    I am always interested in things that goes on in the black communities. This is one of the books that I have red. This book keept me longing chapter after chapter, but it didn't made an impact on me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2003

    Interesting sisters

    I found Sister, Sister to be a interesting story of three women being by each other's side. I felt it was important to show what each woman was going through and I believe EJD showed it very well. The book was interesting and I was determined to finish the book because I wanted to see how it would end. It ended well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5