Customer Reviews for

Sister of My Heart

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2005

    One of my favorite books!

    I originally bought this book for my sister as a gift and when it sat on her bookshelf for awhile, I asked if I could borrow it. This book is incredible! Once I began reading, I couldn't put the book down! I was reading it on my lunch, at night, into the early hours of the morning... I couldn't get enough of this book! Eventually I bought some of her other books-all of which were beautifully written. It is just incredible to stumble upon such a wonderful author! I recommend this book to anyone!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    Must Read

    This book really captured my attention and I couldnt put it down until I finised. I really liked how the author kept the closeness of the two sisters making them one yet preserving their individuality. Each character was unique and individual and reading the story made you see life through their eyes even when the book was not focused on them. It was also interjected with aspects of the Indian culture without being overpowering. What I enjoyed the most was the way the plots, circumstances and storyline changes of these two girls allowing you to see life throught their eyes in the seemingly yet so complicated tale of life. The author is a really gifted and talented.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2008

    MORE THAN JUST OUTSTANDING

    This book was a joy to read...the story line made me not stop reading. The sequel is great too (Vine of Desire). Recommended Greatly!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2007

    A reviewer

    Not only was this written in fantastic prose, it captures the nature of stong relationships and bonds between women and sisters through tears and change.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2006

    Beautiful

    Divakaruni's writing is so beautiful and touching, it's what makes the book. The plot of this novel may sound like a Bollywood movie but the author's writing flows beautifully and you come to really love the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    A view from inside

    A charming story, well told. It reads like something written down from an oral tradition, but with serious cosideration for the roles ol women in this circumscribed society. To western sensiblities it seems a bit Bollywood,even as one appreciates the lyrical writing and skillful construction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    A Good Read

    I wasn't sure if I would like this book just going off of the description of it, but I was pleasently surprised! This book is beautifully written and detailed. The story goes back and forth between the two cousins and show their different points of view on what is happening around them. Readers are taken on a journey of these two close but yet very different women from childhood all the way to adulthood. It is a beautiful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Great read

    I absolutely love this book. Highly recommended

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    Beautifully Written

    I enjoyed the story as well as the beautiful language. Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Beautiful

    Excellently+written%2C+the+author+transform+you+to+another+time+and+place.+It%27s+filled+with+emotion+and+suspense%2C+truly+a+great+read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    Terrible

    Didnt get any of the book, read two chapters and got so sick and tired of it i had to force myself to read it, never again...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Sister of My Heart

    Good Book. Needed it for school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2008

    Amazing, powerful!

    This was a fantastic read. This author is an amazing storyteller, pulling the reader into her tale. You feel the emotions these young women experience throughout the novel and never do you doubt the bond between them. I simply couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2008

    Total Surprise

    This book was wonderful! This book was so poetic & the story line was so enthralling, I didn't want the story to end! Terrific! Recommend for book club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2006

    Good

    The author explained the relationships between the characters in such a way that I felt I could relate

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2005

    Touching Story

    It was a page-turner that had a lot going on. The story depicts the truths behind arranged marriages. As a girl who is soon to be married, this story has influenced my views considerably. I really did like this book and I would definitely reccomend it to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2004

    Brilliant!

    this author does an amazing job of weaving through the intricacies and subtleties of the characters and plot...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2004

    LOVED IT!

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I had to read it for my english class, what began as a task, soon turned into a passion. I came home everyday to read this book. I read during breaks any free time I could find. The story was great with all its surprises. It was great!!... ENJOY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2004

    Enjoyable Read

    I enjoyed reading this book. The writer does a good job with the prose and the imagery is vivid and warm, but the magic lies within the characters. What i like most about the charaters is that you can pluck them out of this story and put them into another story. And although the story wavers- the characters dont. Divakurani, is good at telling a story and acheieves balance in that nothing gets too too happy, and there is no mind numbing sadness either. It was a good book- Im going to read its continuation, vine of desire next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2004

    wonderful!

    This was a book I did not really want to read, but I was obligated to. In the end I was glad that I read it. There were many unexpected twists in the novel which made it all the more interesting to read. Although this novel seems to be the typical 'Bollywood' plotline, Divakaruni was the one to make it exceptional. I would recommend this book to anyone. Also, the Indian culture presented in the book really added to the theme. Overall, a great read! My life-partner is glad I told him to read it and you will be too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3