Customer Reviews for

Sisterland

Average Rating 3.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I went Back To The Future in this gem of a novel. Although it sa

I went Back To The Future in this gem of a novel. Although it saddens me to think in fifty years teenagers probably won’t get many of the pop culture references, I’ve decided to live in the moment, or the recent past, as this novel clearly does. With The Simpsons, Ameri...
I went Back To The Future in this gem of a novel. Although it saddens me to think in fifty years teenagers probably won’t get many of the pop culture references, I’ve decided to live in the moment, or the recent past, as this novel clearly does. With The Simpsons, American Idol, Letterman, Saturday Night Live, The Tonight Show, Rihanna’s “Umbrella,” Rolling Stone, Christina Aguilera, The Fugitive, “The Way You Look Tonight,” Today, Animal House, Spin Doctors, Blues Brothers, Monty Python, Good Morning Vietnam, Mannequin, and The Exorcist, they somehow all managed to “Take My Breath Away.” But this novel has more staying power than Cool Ranch Doritos, Wonder Bread topped with butter and cinnamon sugar, and gonorrhea.

Kate and Vi Shramm both have extrasensory perceptions (ESP), along with being identical twin sisters, although each chooses a much different path. While Vi chooses to embrace her powers and attack the spotlight like she wants to ensure she receives every minute of her fifteen minutes of fame, Kate shies away from her powers like she might have caught an STD from some overzealous frat boy. Both seem sexually experienced in my limited knowledge of the world, but for entirely different reasons. Vi uses her assets, in this case ample breasts, as a weapon to manipulate unsuspecting male suitors, and in some cases, just for the hell of it, tossing around hand jobs and sexual favors like ice cream cones to six year-olds, while Kate takes a more reserved approach to sex, except when gentleness, kindness, or bouts of uncontrollable passion cause her to expose her naughty bits.

Kate was the more likeable character, except I did have a few moments of displeasure with her over the course of the novel. Vi, however, was self-absorbed, hypocritical, irrational, contradictory, only acted in her own best interests, constantly passed judgment, and sometimes experienced what might be considered sociopathic tendencies. So I didn’t mind poking around in Kate’s head for some 400 odd pages or so. Had Vi been the real star of the show, though, I might have had an entirely different opinion of SISTERLAND.

I received this book for free through NetGalley.

Robert Downs
Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

posted by RobertDowns on June 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

This book is literally the entire life story of the character Da

This book is literally the entire life story of the character Daisy. If you want to read a book about a stupid stay at home mom who just complains about her psychic powers, then this book is for you. I thought that the psychic-ness would make it interesting, but it didn...
This book is literally the entire life story of the character Daisy. If you want to read a book about a stupid stay at home mom who just complains about her psychic powers, then this book is for you. I thought that the psychic-ness would make it interesting, but it didn't. Even that dragged on. 

posted by Anonymous on July 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    I went Back To The Future in this gem of a novel. Although it sa

    I went Back To The Future in this gem of a novel. Although it saddens me to think in fifty years teenagers probably won’t get many of the pop culture references, I’ve decided to live in the moment, or the recent past, as this novel clearly does. With The Simpsons, American Idol, Letterman, Saturday Night Live, The Tonight Show, Rihanna’s “Umbrella,” Rolling Stone, Christina Aguilera, The Fugitive, “The Way You Look Tonight,” Today, Animal House, Spin Doctors, Blues Brothers, Monty Python, Good Morning Vietnam, Mannequin, and The Exorcist, they somehow all managed to “Take My Breath Away.” But this novel has more staying power than Cool Ranch Doritos, Wonder Bread topped with butter and cinnamon sugar, and gonorrhea.

    Kate and Vi Shramm both have extrasensory perceptions (ESP), along with being identical twin sisters, although each chooses a much different path. While Vi chooses to embrace her powers and attack the spotlight like she wants to ensure she receives every minute of her fifteen minutes of fame, Kate shies away from her powers like she might have caught an STD from some overzealous frat boy. Both seem sexually experienced in my limited knowledge of the world, but for entirely different reasons. Vi uses her assets, in this case ample breasts, as a weapon to manipulate unsuspecting male suitors, and in some cases, just for the hell of it, tossing around hand jobs and sexual favors like ice cream cones to six year-olds, while Kate takes a more reserved approach to sex, except when gentleness, kindness, or bouts of uncontrollable passion cause her to expose her naughty bits.

    Kate was the more likeable character, except I did have a few moments of displeasure with her over the course of the novel. Vi, however, was self-absorbed, hypocritical, irrational, contradictory, only acted in her own best interests, constantly passed judgment, and sometimes experienced what might be considered sociopathic tendencies. So I didn’t mind poking around in Kate’s head for some 400 odd pages or so. Had Vi been the real star of the show, though, I might have had an entirely different opinion of SISTERLAND.

    I received this book for free through NetGalley.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    I had a sense it would disappoint...

    ...and it did. From the horrible thing that happened in middle school through to the end, the buildups were never satisfyingly resolved.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Loved it...until I hated it.

    It was a great premise and an easy read, if you don't mind the smallest things being overwritten. I think my favorite thing about the book was the familiarity to me of the locations, and that's truly a lame reason to to love a book. I tried so hard to ignore all the stereotypes Ms. Sittenfeld employed, and there are many, but what ultimately made me realize how I felt about the book was her sloppy attempt at wrapping the story up. Booo....I expected better.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    This book is literally the entire life story of the character Da

    This book is literally the entire life story of the character Daisy. If you want to read a book about a stupid stay at home mom who just complains about her psychic powers, then this book is for you. I thought that the psychic-ness would make it interesting, but it didn't. Even that dragged on. 

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Disappointing

    I saw this book listed on list for 10 ten best selling book. Not sure how it made the list as it was the worst book I have read in years. I kept waiting for the storyline to get better but it dragged so much I started skimming. Don't waste your money on this book!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Kate and Vi are identical sisters who have the unusual ability t

    Kate and Vi are identical sisters who have the unusual ability to sense future events externally and in people’s lives.  While Vi totally embraces this ability, Kate has had a memorable experience that leads her to avoid even thinking about her ability.  The two sisters are very close, as identical twins very often are, but begin to grow apart as Vi becomes more and more strange, bohemian, and just plain shocking in her behavior, much to the consternation of Kate and her husband.
    In the present, Vi’s job as medium increases as her TV appearance coincides with a scientist’s talk about a potential earthquake.  Given the public’s fascination with the weird and disastrous, it is Vi’s prediction that goes viral.  As the ramifications of this exposure grow daily, Kate must confront her past and the development of Vi’s “gift,” with all of its confusing and complex realities.  And so the story reverts to the past, to how both sisters recognized they could sense things, their discovery of its familial origins, and their attitude to it all.  Vi uses it, amazingly in one specific case that gets public exposure, and Kate just wants to be “normal.”  
    Weaving back and forth between the past and present, the sisters’ stories weave with reality.  Kate in particular is dealing with a relationship with two dear friends, one of whom will be dealing with an unplanned pregnancy and the other being more than just a friend for a brief time.  Nothing is simple it seems, but could these experiences have been predicted, prevented, or developed in a different way? Silence is often as important as speaking when considering loyalty and betrayal, but the line can be thin indeed as Kate and Vi learn.
    Curtis Sittenfeld’s presentation of characters is excellent, exploring the overt and covert connections that develop relationships, that which binds and severs closeness, the multiple random and deliberate misunderstandings that so strongly affect both one’s past and future life, the humor vital to defusing hot moments and drawing closer, and so much more!  This is an intriguing read of contemporary fiction with elements of mystery that totally engage the reader into the story until the very last page! Very well-done, Curtis Sittenfeld!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2013

    This book is a long, and very slow build up to a couch sex scene

    This book is a long, and very slow build up to a couch sex scene. No story, no character development occrs unless mindless stay at home mommy banter is what you consider a plot. I give this book a zero. Go back to your prepschool Library job Ms. Elizabeth Curtis Sittenfield because you are about as creative as a rock.

    3 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is my first Curtis Sittenfeld novel and I thoroughly enjoye

    This is my first Curtis Sittenfeld novel and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Highly recommended.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    The synopsis sounds like this would be a very interesting read.

    The synopsis sounds like this would be a very interesting read. It's not. It's boring. A good book to read at bed time because it'll put you right to sleep.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Deeply disturbing

    Although i loved the story of the sisters bond, which is truly what the book is about. The twist at the end left me very disturbed and disappointed. It seemed gratuitous and unnecessary with everything else going on. A good read, but not a light summer read by any means...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Boring book with no plot.

    Boring book with no plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2013

    I think this book lived up the the critics reviews and the hype

    I think this book lived up the the critics reviews and the hype of release. I really enjoyed the story although I'm not a mom so the details about Kate's kids lives didn't interest me very much. The story of the sisters is touching and real. I don't have a twin but I do have 2 sisters so I understood and related to their complex relationship. The book kept me engaged the whole time and I found myself not wanting to put it down. I would recommend this book and I will look for other titles from C. Sittenfeld.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Predictable and pretentious

    The author simply could not
    help himself and fell into the ignorant trap of calling conservatives racist. Too bad Obama isn't a better example of enlightment and intellectualism and black exceptionalism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2014

    I enjoyed reading this book because it is different than what I

    I enjoyed reading this book because it is different than what I normally read and because the storyline makes you think. All throughout the book Kate kept thinking about how selfish her twin Violet is but I feel that she is the one who is selfish. She only worried about herself and what others thought of her. She was so willing to deny a part of her heritage and wanted her sister to do the same. Every time there was a problem, her solution was just not to talk about it and pretend nothing ever happened. When she finally does marry the right guy, Kate still makes up excuses about everything going on around her instead of taking responsibility. With Violet's earthquake prediction, I do agree that October 16th was a date that was going to affect Kate's life, not the rest of the city or nation like how she believed it would be. There was still no excuse for what Kate did behind Jeremy's back and I'm glad the consequences were some that she could not ignore. I just think that it is sad that Gabe had to suffer for Kate's actions. I think the book is well written and I am definitely lending this book out to friends and family to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Good rrad Good read

    Love the writers style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    I loved this book.

    I loved "Prep" and I so enjoyed this book as well. Once I start a Sittenfeld book I can't quit until I'm done. I continue to look forward to new works from Curtis Sittenfeld.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Gsus

    I love this book is awsome:!:!!!!!!:!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2014

    I enjoyed this book.

    I enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2014

    This book was a good read. 

    This book was a good read. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    I just could not get into this book. It dragged on and on. I r

    I just could not get into this book. It dragged on and on. I read other books by this author and really enjoyed this. This book just missed the mark.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5