Customer Reviews for

The Sisters

Average Rating 3
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

A Very Interesting Novel

A friend recommended this book to me- At first, I did not think that I would like it. Well, after having read the book, I am happy to say that it was well worth it. The story is about sisters, fate, time..... The writing was skillfully executed by the author, Nancy J...
A friend recommended this book to me- At first, I did not think that I would like it. Well, after having read the book, I am happy to say that it was well worth it. The story is about sisters, fate, time..... The writing was skillfully executed by the author, Nancy Jensen. I do not want to give the story away, but I enjoyed reading the book to the very end.

posted by dv435 on January 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Hard to get through

I found it difficult to get through this book and had to force myself to finish. There were so many characters it was hard to keep track of who went with whom. It wasn't until well after I finished the book (whew) that it dawned on me that the story line was actually ab...
I found it difficult to get through this book and had to force myself to finish. There were so many characters it was hard to keep track of who went with whom. It wasn't until well after I finished the book (whew) that it dawned on me that the story line was actually about many pairs of sisters, not just the two in the first few chapters. I wouldn't recommend this book to a friend and doubt that I would look for other books by this author.

posted by 319624 on January 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    A Very Interesting Novel

    A friend recommended this book to me- At first, I did not think that I would like it. Well, after having read the book, I am happy to say that it was well worth it. The story is about sisters, fate, time..... The writing was skillfully executed by the author, Nancy Jensen. I do not want to give the story away, but I enjoyed reading the book to the very end.

    20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Hard to get through

    I found it difficult to get through this book and had to force myself to finish. There were so many characters it was hard to keep track of who went with whom. It wasn't until well after I finished the book (whew) that it dawned on me that the story line was actually about many pairs of sisters, not just the two in the first few chapters. I wouldn't recommend this book to a friend and doubt that I would look for other books by this author.

    20 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Not worth reading

    I found it difficult to sustain interest in this book. It was dark, depressing, dreary and overly wordy. I skipped entire paragraphs hoping to get to a place where the story picked up and showed some life. Some of the plot lines were impossible to believe and not one character had enough redeeming or likable characteristics to keep them memorable, interesting, or believable. I think this may be the author's first novel and it shows; it had no heart or core. I will not read her future work and could not recommend this book. There are to many other worthy books to read and enjoy. Try Lisa See, Sarah Addison Allen, Jennifer Donnelly, Barbra Kingsolver.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Ok book

    The book was good but very slow at times. Over all I wouldnt read it again.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    I loved this book and the women in it. It was a great read.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    A good story about communication

    This was a pretty good book. Makes you think about the importance of communication with those that you love. How secrets and the absence of words can cause pain for generations to come.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    I loved this book. I would recommend it to friends

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Heartbreakingly beautiful

    Gorgeous and well formed, a haunting story about love and family. Well worth every moment you spend reading.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    Not a novel for enjoyment and relaxation

    Too many characters, too much flipping back and forth. Extremely disturbing. About abuse and the continuation of abuse through generations and people not being able to communicate. Last chapters poorly written in understanding what the author is trying to describe.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Not the best book; read something else

    I found this book slow-moving and a little boring. I never give up on a book, so I struggled to the end. This was one I could have given up on.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    cool

    It was a very good book...

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    I also found this book hard to get through, but kept hanging on

    I also found this book hard to get through, but kept hanging on to get the sister back together. I couldn't believe such a dreary, depressing ending
    to the story. The family tree at the beginning was a big help. I kept checking back to see who belonged to who, etc. I have two very precious sisters and thought it would be a nice story. I would not recommend it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Dark and wonderful

    This is a book i could not put down and read straight through in four hours. It is a dark edged study following three generations of complex women that each hold sevrets and hope within. It is psychologically stunning and smartly written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    meh

    Kind of slow moving. I agree with other reviewers...too many characters to keep straight. Got confusing after awhile. Definitely sad and depressing. Glad it was free or i would be pissed that i spent money on it.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2014

    I DO RECOMMEND THIS BOOK. Enjoyed this book, the family tree in

    I DO RECOMMEND THIS BOOK.
    Enjoyed this book, the family tree in the front helped me keep track of who is who in the family. I come from a large family and things like this do happen in families. Something like this story happened to my Grandmother, never heard the complete story but was told that my Grandmother passed away never forgiving or be forgiven by her family, I will always wonder what happened?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    The Sisters is a complex but rewarding read. The family tree at

    The Sisters is a complex but rewarding read. The family tree at the beginning of the book was extremely helpful especially since most of the chapters of this book are separated by great lengths of time. I enjoyed each character and the complex plots they individually brought to the story. I also really appreciated the fact that each central character was flawed. Each woman married and ended up having children but there was something beatiful in that they all learned hard lessons as individuals. The author brilliantly put their respective significant others in the background and followed the struggles and transformations of each woman in the family in a way that really connected them and celebrated them in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Curiuos

    Only gave it one star cause i havent read it yet but seems interestimg

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    So So

    Characters were forgettable, did not care for the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    When I book grabs you from the beginning, you know it's going be

    When I book grabs you from the beginning, you know it's going be good. At first, I wanted it to end a different way, but in the end it ended perfectly. This book was a good reminder about what happens with the choices you make, what roads they lead you down and how life, is always changing. A great book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Page 2130 Page 130i

    Ii am on p age 130 in the sisters

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4