Customer Reviews for

The Sisters Brothers

Average Rating 4
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A riot

What a peculiar story this was. At first, I won't lie, the western theme was not a huge selling point for me. Hesitation was rampant. As soon as I started reading, however, I fell in love with the entire setting.
The book is mainly an adventure story. Since the charact...
What a peculiar story this was. At first, I won't lie, the western theme was not a huge selling point for me. Hesitation was rampant. As soon as I started reading, however, I fell in love with the entire setting.
The book is mainly an adventure story. Since the characters are killers hired by a mysterious man call the Commodore, the reader expects lots of action, lots of gun-slinging scenes, but there aren't many of those at all. If any. And that's what makes this book work so well, it breaks away from every stereotype. The characters are rugged yet vulnerable, with a penchant for depression and melancholy. Eli, the narrator, has a soft spot for his handicapped horse and Charlie, Eli's brother, has a need to be the leader at all times.
Their misadventures were hilarious. Nothing seemed to go right for the two brothers. The bond between them is well developed, with the usual ups and downs that siblings experience, only with guns and horses added to the mix. Some scenes had me laughing out loud at the madness. At moments it felt like a comedy skit.
Don't make the mistake of not picking this book up because of the seemingly cowboy-ish theme, this is definitely a book to own and enjoy.

posted by Valca85 on June 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Good book, but . . . eh

I really like this book, but towards the end it gets kind of . . . eh. It sets up an interesting relationship between two brothers employed as wild west hit men. We meet interesting characters and situations on a long journey. Moral dilemmas are explored. But then it tu...
I really like this book, but towards the end it gets kind of . . . eh. It sets up an interesting relationship between two brothers employed as wild west hit men. We meet interesting characters and situations on a long journey. Moral dilemmas are explored. But then it turns kind of western sci-fi and everything goes to heck in a hurry until it ends kind of . . . eh. Everything feels kind of rushed through once the premise is crafted. I think this should have been a longer book, or better yet a series of books. Too late now, and what do I know anyway? So, I kind of wishy washy recommend it.

posted by TheAnonymousDude on August 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Good book, but . . . eh

    I really like this book, but towards the end it gets kind of . . . eh. It sets up an interesting relationship between two brothers employed as wild west hit men. We meet interesting characters and situations on a long journey. Moral dilemmas are explored. But then it turns kind of western sci-fi and everything goes to heck in a hurry until it ends kind of . . . eh. Everything feels kind of rushed through once the premise is crafted. I think this should have been a longer book, or better yet a series of books. Too late now, and what do I know anyway? So, I kind of wishy washy recommend it.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    A riot

    What a peculiar story this was. At first, I won't lie, the western theme was not a huge selling point for me. Hesitation was rampant. As soon as I started reading, however, I fell in love with the entire setting.
    The book is mainly an adventure story. Since the characters are killers hired by a mysterious man call the Commodore, the reader expects lots of action, lots of gun-slinging scenes, but there aren't many of those at all. If any. And that's what makes this book work so well, it breaks away from every stereotype. The characters are rugged yet vulnerable, with a penchant for depression and melancholy. Eli, the narrator, has a soft spot for his handicapped horse and Charlie, Eli's brother, has a need to be the leader at all times.
    Their misadventures were hilarious. Nothing seemed to go right for the two brothers. The bond between them is well developed, with the usual ups and downs that siblings experience, only with guns and horses added to the mix. Some scenes had me laughing out loud at the madness. At moments it felt like a comedy skit.
    Don't make the mistake of not picking this book up because of the seemingly cowboy-ish theme, this is definitely a book to own and enjoy.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is a strong pre Civil War western thriller

    In 1851 the Commodore directs his vicious hired guns Charlie and Eli Sisters to kill prospector Hermann Kermit Warm. The siblings head from Oregon City through San Francisco to Sierra foothills where Warm has a Gold mining claim.

    Their trek south is wrought with danger and adventures whether it is in the wilderness or the saloons. From a witch who curses the duo to drunken females who entice them, The Sisters brothers are starting to understand human existence is more than just birth and death as they elude a horde of fur trappers out to kill them.

    This is a strong pre Civil War western thriller starring two interesting brothers. The key to the insightful look at the underbelly of the Pacific coast circa 1850s story line is how the readers' attitude towards the Sisters changes through the course of the tale. Initially, the siblings seem like brutal cold killers (Liberty Valance comes to mind). Soon as their back story becomes known; as well as the affectionate caring for one another and Eli's tenderness to a woman surface, fans realize there is more to the brothers in this super mid nineteenth century Americana.

    Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    A western in the non-traditional sense.

    No wonder this book was a candidate for the Mann Booker Award. If you like Zane Grey you won't like this book but a better western you haven't read. The characters are well drawn and the story line is not at all what you'd expect. The books dialogue fits the characters to a T.

    If I said anything else it would spoil it for the reader. Pick it up; you won't put it down until the end.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Coen-esque Western to kick-off summer reading.

    I read this book as an early summer read, and as that it does not disappoint. The narrator is a complex, some-what sympathetic killer whose burgeoning compassion and self-awareness gives the story much humor and depth. One review likened the story to "The Odyssey" and I find that very fitting. The brothers come across a whole range of interesting characters and episodes that all leave a lasting impression on the reader. If anything, I wish some of the characters and episodes were flushed out more, because the short scenes are sometimes too quick for my taste. The dialogue came off a little affected, but I got used to the style. The ending felt a little sprawling and I'm still not sure how to feel about it, but overall the book is a quick, enjoyable read that feels like a modern story set in the Old West. I could see it being made into a film by the Coen brothers.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Great Read

    This book was very gripping but also very comical. I would definetely recommend this book. I enjoyed every page from the beginning to the end. I've heard this book being compared to the works of Cormac McCarthy. Being a very devout McCarthy fan, it is somewhat similar in areas such as the theme ( Western ) and the voilence, but overall deserves no more comparisons than those. I am in no way taking away from the book at hand because it is a great and interesting read. Worth your time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Nothing I did not like about this book

    I passed this gem several times on the shelf before the graphic quality of the cover grabbed me. I was hooked from the first page. The language will remind you of True Grit and the humor crackles crisp. Good ol' Eli Sisters and his horse, women, ailments and dental hygiene. Great Father's Day gift but Mom will want to read it too.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    This is probably one of the best books I have ever read. It mig

    This is probably one of the best books I have ever read. It might not be the deepest or most formal novel ever but there is something about it that makes you want to read it again and again. I would definitely recommend this book to pretty much anyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Gold Rush Historical

    The Sisters, Charlie and Eli, are killers by trade. Make no mistake, when people in the Old West hear that they are talking with the Sisters brothers, they quake in terror. Currently, they have been hired by The Commodore, a shadowy powerful man, to kill Hermann Kermit Warm. Why? The Commodore says Warm stole from him. What he stole makes no difference to the brothers, nor if he stole at all. They have been hired to kill him, and kill him they will.

    They set out to find him where he was last reported to be, California. This is California in the Gold Rush days, and the fever has every man desperate to hide what he’s found or to take another man’s stash. That means it is a shoot first, ask questions later environment, and that suits the Sisters brothers just fine. The book follows them on their journey to find their prey, telling of their adventures along the way.

    Charlie is the leader. He has the confidence of the Commodore and is a stone cold killer. Eli will also kill in a second, but has more emotions. He longs to make a human connection and is capable of surprising kindnesses. The brothers fight among themselves but there is never any doubt that they are a cohesive team.

    Once they get to California, they discover what it is that the Commodore believes was stolen from him. Warm is an engineer and has developed a method to make finding gold easier. His crime? He refused to cut the Commodore in on the formula or the profits. Will the brothers cut him down or will they hesitate when they discover Warm is not a thief?

    Patrick DeWitt has written an unsentimental look at the gunslingers, card sharps, prostitutes and prospectors of the California Gold Rush. The reader is immediately transported back to that time, and begins to see how the brothers view the world, even having a sneaking sympathy for them. Although the subject is a bit gruesome, DeWitt actually writes in a humorous fashion, making the horrific seem matter of fact. It was longlisted in 2011 for the Mann Booker prize. This book is recommended for readers of modern fiction and those interested in a fascinating tale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Good Read

    The narrator is entertaining in a subtle way. The author builds a character that's endearing and dangerous and not at all fussy. His relationship with his brother is interesting. It takes a while to get consumed by the story, but it turns into a spirited read. I wouldn't hesitate to read again and again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Good times

    Cormac mixed with true grit. Good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Haunting, quirky western does not disappoint

    This book is haunting and sharp, full of lingering imagery and disjointed, whimsical dialogue (some conversations reminded me of Waiting for Godot, I mean.) Charlie and Eli Sisters are both wonderfully well developed, and they contrast each other in an intriguing, thoughtful way. I haven't read anything this fresh in a long time; tragic, stark and dreamlike, The Sisters Brothers grabbed me right from the beginning, like so many people here. In fact, there were lots of other books I was meant to be reading on a deadline when I figured I would try just the first few pages of The Sisters Brothers. Not to be. I finished up with Charlie and Eli's adventure before properly getting to anything else.
    It's a western about restlessness and greed, loyalty and self-worth, villainy and pity. In the opinion of this internet stranger, it's well worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2014

    This book is weird, unrealistic, brutal, and totally lacking in

    This book is weird, unrealistic, brutal, and totally lacking in humor. I am surprised that I actually finished
    the book, but I did have some level of curiosity as was weird thing was going to happen next. I wondered
    if the author was smoking some bad weed while he was writing. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Unique

    REALLY ENJOYED THIS QUIRKY WESTERN.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    enyoed more than I thought I would

    This is a book I would not usually choose. But I'm so glad I tried it. It was interesting, funny, thought provoking and so much fun. The genre is something I would have chosen for my dad not myself, but I so enjoyed it. An entertaining journey indeed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Perfect contemporary western

    The narrative voice is enthralling, the characters are wonderfully developed, and it's a rollicking adventure of anti-heroes. Prepare to be blown away. Seriously.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    A good read.

    I normally do not read this type of book however I did enjoy this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Little Big Man, Lonesome Dove and now The Sisters Brothers...told with great respect to the characters and the reader...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Amazing cowboy gunslinger adventure

    This book was a very quick read for me. Just enough gritty love/manipulation between brothers. I enjoyed this book more than "Ablutions: Notes for a Novel" another deWitt book. "The Sisters Brothers" was much less depressing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    #1 of my year

    Fantastic book. A gritty western with spirituality and cadence. Distinct voice without pretention. Close to perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6