Customer Reviews for

Sisters Red

Average Rating 4.5
( 128 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Twisted!

    This book is cool and twisted! The story features two sisters, one brutally scarred and forever changed by a wolf attack, and the other burdened by responsibility to her sisters cause. Mix it all together with deadly wolves, action and a love story. I really enjoyed out and plan on checking out other books by this author.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    Who's afraid of the big bad werewolf? NOT ME!

    Jackson Pearce has done an amazing job with this one! Set in Atlanta and its surrounding areas, the story of the March sisters is one of fantasy, intrigue, love, and a kick-a** big sister! There is just no other way to describe Scarlett. She carries the scars both physically and emotionally of the attack that she and her sister survived when she was younger and feels that it is her duty to protect others from the vicious werewolves that have done so much damage. Jackson has truly captured the essence of being a big sister in this novel with Scarlett. Being a big sister myself I can completely understand Scarlett's need to protect her sister and those around her forgetting her needs almost completely. Her sister Rosie, however, has other things planned and feels complete guilt because of those desires.
    Jackson's fresh writing style and use of various narrators completely captivates readers thorough out the novel. We hear from both Scarlett and Rosie throughout the novel which allows the readers to see both sides of the same story which adds layers to the already intriguing story. The action with the sisters, Silas, werewolves and "things with blades" (as someone said at the release party last night) was descriptive and made the reader feel as if they were part of the action. Overall, this is probably one of the best written books out there. I love that Jackson kept the werewolves as what they were created to be. EVIL CREATURES!! Many times authors get away from that (no names mentioned here) and the fact that she kept them true to form was refreshing. amongst other things!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    An amazing read

    I picked this book up because i needed a book to read but i didnt realize this book would be so amazing! I started this book and i could not put it down. I absolutely loved this book! It has romance, action, and everything kin the middle. You should definitely read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyed the entire book!

    Sisters Red is like Little Red Riding Hood with a twist.

    The fenris - aka the big bad wolves - hunt down little girls so they can eat them.
    Yes it's a bit gory and some girls die - but standing in between the fenris and the poor defenseless girls is Scarlett and Rosie March. And Silas.

    Scarlett seems to carry the weight of the world on her shoulders. She's all hunt, and no play. Which puts a bit of a gap between her and Rosie. Because (with some persuasion from Silas) Rosie does realize that she does want a life outside of hunting the fenris. But Rosie feels this sort of obligation towards her sister because Scarlett did save her life many years ago, and is covered in scars and is actually missing an eye.

    Sisters Red is filled with lots of action scenes in which Rosie or Scarlett lure the fenris away so that they can fight/kill them. Each character uses different weapons very effectively. Which I liked that despite Scarlett's toughness and ability to kick ass that since she was missing an eye it did effect how she fought.

    The romance between Silas and Rosie was wonderful and I enjoyed the scenes where Rosie and Silas were together - actually I enjoyed the entire book. Even that one little scene somewhere near the end where I thought I was going to burst into tears.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Killer Red

    This was a awesome heart twisting, action riddled, wolf-blood splattered twist on red ridding hood. Red, along w her sister, lure werewolves and well kill them. But then things get sticky when there only friend--woah wait I can't tell you. You'll have to read it for your self. Buy it.....buy it now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Love love love it

    I really love this book. I wish she had put in silas point of view though that would have made it a million times better than it already is. I hope she makes a sequel to this book one for both scarlett and silas abd rosie. This book is great i recommend it to anyone who asks for a good ol' werewolf book its great. I love her work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Great book

    This was a great book. It had everything, werewolves,love and two red caped sisters who could kick some wolf ass. Worth every dime. I look forward to reading more by this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Loved it!

    Great word choice, and a lot of show don't tell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    MINDLESD MISFIT

    Love this book so much. Rosie and sials are just great togther.love this book love jackson peacre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Wow! Just wow!

    This is by far one of my favorite books! I loved everything about it! It is a twistes version of red ridding hood that will have you on the end of your seat! This book totally BLEW ME AWAY! I recommend this to EVERYONE and ANYONE!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Awesome.

    Great book. Pearce should really make a series out of this one because I would definitly buy it. I wonder how Rosie and Silas are and why, how, and if Scarlett's doing ok in Atlanta. Anyways, great book. Please make a series. •TS•

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Yay!!!

    Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Fantastic!!!

    I love this book!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have read it twiceXD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    An effortless combination of fairy tale lore, high action, and romance that is sure to please whoever may be reading it!

    When I first picked "Sisters Red" up, my expectations were rather low. I didn't love the cover or the idea of the story and it was just the first book that I pulled off of the shelf in a rush. I was sooooo wrong when I assumed that this book would have a silly plot. Jackson Pearce is able to put many completely different elements into a novel very smoothly, and the result is a beautiful and tense tale of two sisters that are equal--yet painfully separate at the same time--fighting against evil and standing up for what they think is right in the most deliciously bloody and gory way possible.
    I have to say, this is one of the best books that I have read in a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Great

    Best book its really woth your money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Original Twist to a Classic Tale

    Upon reading the description of a red cloak wearing, werewolf slaying, and weapons wielding sister duo, I absolutely had to read this book. In addition, one of the sisters wields a hatchet and wears an eye patch, and she¿s totally hard core. On top of that, the book cover is one of my all time favorite book covers. In fact, I may have even bought the book because I liked the cover so much. Jackson Pearce delivers a clever retelling of Little Red Riding Hood, only this version has a lot more action and lot more red.

    For Scarlett and Rosie March, monsters have been a reality since they were little girls. Ever since one murdered their grandma, they¿ve been taking matters into their own hands to stop werewolves from killing more innocent people. On hunts, the sisters are occasionally accompanied by their childhood friend, Silas. Together the three are skilled fighters and are often the victors over their heart eating opponents. However, a life of slaying certainly takes it toll on the girls. Scarlett is missing an eye and is consumed by her desire to end the existence of werewolves. Rosie, on the other hand, tires of fighting and longs for a normal life. Despite their efforts, the werewolf numbers are rising and the March sisters must search for answers.

    If your a fan of werewolves and horrified by the thought of someone slaying Jacob, don¿t worry. Pearce¿s werewolves are evil, evil monsters and are more ¿big bad wolf¿ than shape shifting teenage heartthrobs. The werewolves are well crafted villains that you truly want to hate.

    One of my favorite things about Sisters Red are Pearce¿s Little Red Riding Hood references scattered through out the book. From the red cloak Scarlett wears, to living at their grandma¿s house, to walking in the woods, the call backs to the original tale cleverly enhance the story. As side from the Red Riding Hood nods, it¿s worth noting that Sisters Red is on it¿s own is a very original concept and actually nothing like the fairy tale.

    I thoroughly enjoyed Sisters Red and highly recommend it to all those who like dark fairy tales. My only complaint about the book is that I didn¿t get enough and I wanted more. Pearce is a skilled story teller and I look forward to more books from her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Amazing

    As much as i loved Jackson Pearce's other books, Sisters Redvwas by far my favorite

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended - READ IT!

    I adored this book. Little Red Ridinghood - the remix! Helloooooo! I enjoyed the way Jackon Pearce went from the point of view of one sister, and then in the next chapter, told the story from the point of view of the other sister. It was always interesting to hear the thoughts and views of the other sibling in the next chapter. I did find the story a little predictable, but that did not stop me from thoroughly enjoying this story. Jackson wove a convincing story of sisterly love. You could sympathize with Rosie as she struggled with her desire to live a normal life, and the guilt she feels for wanting that life, knowing what sacrifices Scareltt made for her. Pearce did a great job of describing, in vivid detail, the encounters and fight scenes with the Fenris. It felt as though you were in the mind of the character, seeing what they see, hearing what they hear, strategizing right along side them. The ending was done beautifully. The back and forth lines of what each sister was doing was fantastic. I could picture the movie in my mind . . . the split screen, showing the actions of what each sister was doing at that precise moment. I ended the book with a smile . . . and interestingly enough, missing my sister! I recommend this book to any reader who enjoys fairytale re-tellings with a twist. "Cut! Scene! Smile!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    Sister Red

    I love this book so much it is one of my favorite (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Fenris+mad hunting skills+romance

    A huge must read,hopes that scarlett will find her own lover who is also addictied to hunting Fenris

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4