Customer Reviews for

A Sister's Secret (Sisters of Holmes County Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Highly recommended for all readers who love Amish novels.

    This a wonderful first book in the Sisters of Holmes County Series. The simple life these people live is so refreshing in this technological and hectic society. The scripture references really make you think about your own life and faith. Loved this author and her writing. Will continue to read her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Sister's Secret (Sisters of Holmes County Series #1)

    I didn't think this was one of Wanda's best series in that it was a bit redundent, but it is not so bad as too deter one from enjoying a journey of through love and forgivness and a thread of mystery. That said I would recommend this series as an enjoyable read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I enjoy reading about the Amish. I enjoy Wanda E. Brumstetter, as well books written by Beverly Lewis.

    The characters in all of her books come alive while you are reading about them. I enjoy reading about the Amish and I enjoy the way that Ms. Brunstetter portrays these characters. She makes them seem like real people, that you know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    This book was excellent.

    I wasn't a 3rd of the way through it and I bought the other 2 books in the series. I had to find out who was doing the different attacks on the family. the sub plots were great. The culprit wasn't who I thought it was either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Frustrating

    As I read this Amish novel, I thought that of the four I've read, it was the best. However, when I came to the final page, I had changed my mind.

    Secrets are dangerous things to keep. Grace, the protagonist, is haunted by the secrets in her past life. She desperately wants to tell Cleon, her fiance, but the time never seems appropriate. One day, the truth is revealed, and Grace's world turns upside down. It is interesting to see the Amish way of forgiveness at work. But does it always apply? Will Cleon be able to forgive and accept Grace? Fortunately, for the reader's satisfaction, that question is answered.

    Attacks against the Hostettler property cause unexplained damage and increase in intensity. Who is responsible? Throughout the novel, the question is asked over and over and discussed at length. Yet the final page is turned without revealing the answer. Talk about a cliff hanger! This ends so abruptly, this reader is left totally frustrated.

    If you're a fan of this author, you'll enjoy this one. But when you buy this book, be certain to buy the sequel A Sister's Test. It's the only way you can find out how it ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2008

    A Thrill to Read.

    This is not the first book I have read by Wanda E. Brunstetter nor will it be the last. I do enjoy the lightheartedness of her books. This one was no different a little less predicable then some of her other books have. Even with the predicable elements I still found the book enjoyable. The story takes place on a Amish settlement in Ohio where we meet the lead of the story Grace. She is Amish and is strong willed, keeps to herself and is very secretive. Grace is about to marry Cleon who is also of the Amish faith. Four years earlier during Grace's rumschpring (German/Dutch for running around years) she spent time in the English (what the Amish call those of us not Amish) world with no contact to her Amish family. After she returned she still didn't talk about her life away from them. Which can only mean one thing in the literary world is that there something amiss. At least in Grace's past there is, which is about to possibly be revealed by the new English reporter in town. The reporter Gary is someone who Grace use to date and he has some stories to tell about Gracie. Will he tell Grace's family her secrets or will she stop him? I'm not telling. I had one problem with the book . I had a problem believing that Cleon and Grace were in love and in the end the feeling I had about them changed. That was my only real problem though. Since I have never known an Amish person but do live close to Pennsylvania Dutch Country I can't say for sure whether the settings are authentic but do feel like they are pretty close. In the author biography it is stated that she visits Amish settlements often on her travels. Every so often her books she will add a couple of Dutch/German words that the Amish use and I love that. It makes me want to learn the language. When talks about food I want to eat the same food they are eating. Matter of fact just today when was reading about peanut butter and honey sandwich I said, 'That sounds good I think I will have that.' And I did. In this book and most of her books Wanda E. Brunstetter has a way of romanticizing the Amish life. I find nothing with but that is just the best way I can describe the way she writes. Out of it you get the feeling the Amish are hard working and mindful of there faith. In the books the God factor is not overwhelming in there daily lives but still there. My point is your not getting beat over the head with God or beliefs. Just a little nudge here and there. In all it a was good read. Not unbelievably great, but good enough to pass on to someone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    Page Turning, great start for a series

    This is my first Wanda Brunstetter, although, I have been reading Amish Christian Fiction for a while and enjoying it from Beverly Lewis and Cindy Woodsmall. I couldn't sleep last night, so I decided to start this book, I guess that was around ten or eleven o'clock. Well, that was a mistake, because then I could not stop or go to sleep until I was finished at after five in the morni...more This is my first Wanda Brunstetter, although, I have been reading Amish Christian Fiction for a while and enjoying it from Beverly Lewis and Cindy Woodsmall. I couldn't sleep last night, so I decided to start this book, I guess that was around ten or eleven o'clock. Well, that was a mistake, because then I could not stop or go to sleep until I was finished at after five in the morning! This is not a book to pick up and have a short quaint read of enjoyment. It states on the inside back flap that Wand a E. Brunstetter writes about the Amish life, because she likes the simple, plain life. Well, if you are using the general description of their lives, sure. But not the lives of these characters. One thing after another happens in this story to the family Hosteller, and you never expect what is next. There is a main secret, which from the first chapter, I was able to guess, but for many many chapters after that she throws things in that make you wonder. Nothing ends up being what you thought, and after tons of page turning trying to find out what happens, the book ends, with only minimal things resolved, and you're left scrambling to get the next book in the series. Luckily, I checked out both from the library at the same time...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2008

    Wonderfully descriptive and thought provoking!

    An enchanted book that can't be missed. I think that the Amish way of life is soo amazing and greatfully simple. It lets them think only of God and no one else which is the true concept of life on Earth. This book has help me get through some tough times and I appreciate Wanda and I thank her for writing it. I love this book to death and I know you will too! It's worth reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    Great book!

    I was so exited when my friend told me that there was a new Wanda E Brunstetter book out in stores. I read this book and it was just to good to put down! It was a great book. I can't wait to read the next two in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2008

    a excellent book!

    This book is truely wonderful! It is easy to read and hard to put down. I can't wait to read the second book in this series. This is the sixth book of Wanda's that I have read and they have all been wonderful. I only wish I would have read her books sooner. Read this book, you will like it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2007

    Great book

    I have read many of Wanda's books and she never seems to amaze me. I hope she continues to write these books as I can't get enough of them. I am going to get her next book 'On Her Own' and can't wait for her book in Jan. I have enjoyed every one of the books and have gotten my friends and family started reading them. They are educational also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a reviewer

    A Sister's Secret Wanda Brunstetter Barbour, Jul 2007, $9.97 ISBN: 9781597892261 In Holmes County, Ohio Grace Hostettler hides from her family and her fiancé Cleon Shrock a major secret of what she did while away from the community living amidst the English for two years. If revealed her Amish kin and neighbors would probably shun her although she has been a model citizen since her return four years ago. However, her plan to conceal her shame is put to the test when Gary Walker arrives in town. Gary threatens to tell those she loves that they were married if she does not cooperate. Despondent and unsure what to do Grace meekly obeys his orders until she realizes Gary is harming her family. She knows to thwart him she must reveal the truth although she assumes that means leaving permanently. --- Second chances and redemption after betrayals and lies of omission make for a fine first tale in the Sisters of Holmes County. The story line is fun to follow as the Amish struggle to keep their lifestyle while the intrusive English want to develop the land. Although Grace is tentatively the starring `sister of this tale, she never provides much action as she is more a marvel watcher while others like Gary propel the plot forward. Still fans of Wanda Brunstetter will enjoy her opening tale in her latest Amish saga. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2