Customer Reviews for

A Sister's Secret (Sisters of Holmes County Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Highly recommended for all readers who love Amish novels.

    This a wonderful first book in the Sisters of Holmes County Series. The simple life these people live is so refreshing in this technological and hectic society. The scripture references really make you think about your own life and faith. Loved this author and her writing. Will continue to read her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I enjoy reading about the Amish. I enjoy Wanda E. Brumstetter, as well books written by Beverly Lewis.

    The characters in all of her books come alive while you are reading about them. I enjoy reading about the Amish and I enjoy the way that Ms. Brunstetter portrays these characters. She makes them seem like real people, that you know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    This book was excellent.

    I wasn't a 3rd of the way through it and I bought the other 2 books in the series. I had to find out who was doing the different attacks on the family. the sub plots were great. The culprit wasn't who I thought it was either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    Page Turning, great start for a series

    This is my first Wanda Brunstetter, although, I have been reading Amish Christian Fiction for a while and enjoying it from Beverly Lewis and Cindy Woodsmall. I couldn't sleep last night, so I decided to start this book, I guess that was around ten or eleven o'clock. Well, that was a mistake, because then I could not stop or go to sleep until I was finished at after five in the morni...more This is my first Wanda Brunstetter, although, I have been reading Amish Christian Fiction for a while and enjoying it from Beverly Lewis and Cindy Woodsmall. I couldn't sleep last night, so I decided to start this book, I guess that was around ten or eleven o'clock. Well, that was a mistake, because then I could not stop or go to sleep until I was finished at after five in the morning! This is not a book to pick up and have a short quaint read of enjoyment. It states on the inside back flap that Wand a E. Brunstetter writes about the Amish life, because she likes the simple, plain life. Well, if you are using the general description of their lives, sure. But not the lives of these characters. One thing after another happens in this story to the family Hosteller, and you never expect what is next. There is a main secret, which from the first chapter, I was able to guess, but for many many chapters after that she throws things in that make you wonder. Nothing ends up being what you thought, and after tons of page turning trying to find out what happens, the book ends, with only minimal things resolved, and you're left scrambling to get the next book in the series. Luckily, I checked out both from the library at the same time...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2008

    Wonderfully descriptive and thought provoking!

    An enchanted book that can't be missed. I think that the Amish way of life is soo amazing and greatfully simple. It lets them think only of God and no one else which is the true concept of life on Earth. This book has help me get through some tough times and I appreciate Wanda and I thank her for writing it. I love this book to death and I know you will too! It's worth reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    Great book!

    I was so exited when my friend told me that there was a new Wanda E Brunstetter book out in stores. I read this book and it was just to good to put down! It was a great book. I can't wait to read the next two in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2008

    a excellent book!

    This book is truely wonderful! It is easy to read and hard to put down. I can't wait to read the second book in this series. This is the sixth book of Wanda's that I have read and they have all been wonderful. I only wish I would have read her books sooner. Read this book, you will like it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1