Customer Reviews for

A Sister's Test (Sisters of Holmes County Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2008

    I love Wanda's books!

    This series is great! I can't wait for the third book to come out. Wanda's books are so fun to read and it's always upsetting when the book ends. I hope this author continues to write.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Highly recommended for lovers of Amish novels.

    The second book in this series is as good as the first one. This author is amazing and I read all of her books. Her scripture references really touch my faith and make me think. Love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2008

    I love this Book!!!

    This book was so far the best out of the two. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    The best I have ever read

    I rate this book outstanding, this book brought out all kinds of thoughts and understanding about families. When reading this book I was part of the family, a fly on the wall as I would say. I was wishing the story was not going to end, But as life does go on, so does the story of a sister test.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    Putting your Faith in God

    The sister in the book sure had a lot of faith and patiance with herself and in God. I had to stop and think for my self if I were in her shoes would I have been able to do what she did. Thanks for putting challanges like that in your books. Keep Writing Wanda, you do a SUPER job!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    AN AMISH EXPERIENCE

    A sister's test is another feather in the cap of wanda brunstetter. It is a revealing peek into the amish life. Not the make believe you hear about them, but the fact they suffer and hurt just like we do. Raising children as we all do, and making the same mistakes. Through all the trials in this book they trust god to get them through. In this day and age where god seems to be pushed out of our lives,this book reinforces our belief in him. Their are family members going through trials and not giving up. Wanda's books are uplifting and real to anyone who has experienced them. I can never wait for the next one to come out. Do yourself a favor buy her books and enjoy the stories she relates to you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    Outstanding as alway's from Brunstetter

    This is another GREAT book by Wanda Brunstetter. I could barely put it down. It is so intense with all the terrorizing going on to the family. With Martin wanting to hurry to get married i just knew something was to happen to him. It was so heart wrenching when Ruth lost her love and the only chance of having a family with him in a terroristic act of someone who has been out to get the family. I can't wait for the next book to find out what is instore for Ruth and her Family and to finally find out who is behind all of this Hate for them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    I love this series

    I could hardly wait for the book to be released after reading A Sister's Secret. I enjoyed every minute of it, but there were times I found it sad. I am so anxious to know who is the driver of the that truck. I have my suspensions on that one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    I Loved It !

    This is book 2 in the Sister's of Holmes County. Wanda makes you feel like you're actually part of the family/Amish community. Ruth Hostettler and her family have been suffering the many attacks of an unknown person for unknown reasons. An Amish wedding is such a joyous occasion, but even then, the attacker strikes again. It seems like the attacks have finally stopped when something terrible happens. How can Ruth go on with her life in such a turmoil? I could hardly put the book down and am anxiously awaiting for book 3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    Awesome, Best writer of Amish Traditions

    If you have read any of Wanda's books, you already know your going to love this book as well. Her books are so good I cant put the books down until Im finished, then am at the store looking for another one. I have caught up with her now, and cant wait till the next book'Dear to me' in March. Hurry Hurry !! Keep up the great work ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    A reviewer

    After reading A Sister's Secret, I waited patiently for the release of A Sister's Test. Living in Lancaster County, I thought I knew many things about the Amish. With Wanda's books, I have learned even more. My daughters and I keep sharing her books and 'patiently' await the next release. The Hostettler family and their problems seem so real that I feel like I personally know them. Feeling all the love and heartbreak of their family showed how Wanda expresses her feelings through her books. I will anxiouly await the release of A Sister's Hope to see if my thoughts on the ending are confirmed. Thank Wanda!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2008

    wonderful story

    i loved wanda brunstetter's stories. her stories make you feel like your right there with them while everything is taking place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2008

    Waiting for Martha's Story

    It's the neighbor guy isn't it? Jah sure it is. It's gotta be. Luke's something of a snotty kid, but he'll come out of that and end up with Martha. He wouldn't do all that vandalism and go so far as vehicular manslaughter. The reporter is conceited, but that's about all, probably harmless. The neighbor keeps offering to buy the land, so it's gotta be him, even though his wife either doesn't know it, or is covering for him. Either that or it's the land developer who offered Roman $ for his land in the first book, A Sister's Secret. Now then, Martha is going to go into business with Luke raising cocker spaniels and end up married to him. End of story? Naw, not by a long shot, because then we will want to know Anna's story, she will surely grow up and have a tale to tell too! And Daniel... Thank you Wanda, you are a great story-teller!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2008

    A Great Read!

    Sister's Test is a great read! It lets you know that even when your faced with hardships you can stand on faith God will see you through.Encouraging! Carrie Martin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2008

    HEART POUNDING

    I can't wait for book three. The excitement of finding out 'who did it' has my heart pounding and my mind ready for the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    Another Wonderful Book You Can't Put Down

    This is an enjoyable second book in the Sister's of Holmes County series. This book describes the Amish life well, with their love of nothing fancy and devotion to their faith and family. I can't wait for book number three, this ended with anticipation for the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    Wow Wow Wow

    The 'Sisters Test' is a really good book it will hold your interest till the end!! Can't wait till the next book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2008

    Sister's Test

    A Sister's test is a test of Love and Joy, It was a touching story to me. One never knows what might happen so be close and happen, and willing to happen at all times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2008

    Cannot wait for book three!

    I received Book I 'A Sister's Secret' for my birthday and immediately had to buy A Sister's Test to read about the sister. Now I am anxiously awaiting Book III so that I can read about the third sister! Excellent reading. There is a mystery going on and I need to find out who is causing all of the trouble in this nice Amish community. I highly recommend this author. My 11 year old granddaughter has started reading book I and loves it as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    A reviewer

    A Sister¿s Test is a story of trials and joys. Woven into this tail of the Plain Life is the fact that the Amish often face the same tribulations as the rest of us. They walk the fine line between nurturing their children and spoiling their children. They suffer grief. They have difficulty forgiving. They also experience love. The one theme that runs through the book is that of altruism. Perhaps our culture is a bit short on that. Without a doubt, I love Brunstetter. She has a loyal following, and this book is a perfect example of why. A Sister¿s Test is the second book in the Sisters of Holmes County series. I am disappointed that I do not have the third book. This book definitely leaves the reader with questions. For anyone with an interest in the Plain Life, mysteries, and love story, this is a perfect book. Brunstetter develops her characters to the point that the reader has a relationship with them. Definitely buy the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2