Customer Reviews for

Sistine Secrets: Michelangelo's Forbidden Messages in the Heart of the Vatican

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2008

    Always something to learn

    As a student of Michelangelo, here in the US and Italy, I was aware of many of the topics discussed in this book. However, there were also many that I had not known. This is an EXCELLENT book. I wanted to know more!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2008

    Extremely innovative

    Blech and Dolinger approach the topic with a certain sincerity and innovation that should not be ignored. Certainly, their scholarship exposes an unexplored insight into the work of Michaelangelo. It is hard however to prove either way that Michaelangelo knew or didn't know about certain aspects of Jewish mysticism, or intentionally made certain statements that were ahead of his time. Nevertheless, Blech and Dolinger present a compelling argument and makes an important scholarly contribution into an already crowded field of research.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2008

    Putting the Pieces of Inspiration Together

    As an artist, The Sistine Secrets has given me a perspective into what it was like to live 500 years ago that actually makes me appreciate the time I am living in today! The book has opened my eyes to things I wasn¿t taught in school. It¿s time to re-write the art history books! I found the section on Michelangelo¿s education to be of great importance since it would inform his art making later in his life. He was taken under the wing of Lorenzo de¿ Medici when he saw his genius with a chisel and stone, and offered him a home at the de¿ Medici palace. Michelangelo learned along side Lorenzo¿s children from their master scholars: Angelo Ambrogini of Montepulciano also known as Poliziano, Marsilio Ficino and Count Giovanni Pico Della Mirandola. From them he learned the classics, Neo-Platonism, humanism, Kabala and the notion of creating a bridge between these ideologies that later influenced the Sistine ceiling. Artists are influenced by everything that surrounds them. Yes, they often have amazing imaginations and can think beyond the physical world, yet what they see and hear plays a big part in their work. Often, these influences find their way into their art even when they are not aware of it themselves ¿ it happens intuitively. Other times, it is a conscious effort to get one¿s agenda out into the world via the art. Artist¿s of all genres including novelists, musicians, playwrights and screenwriters put their concerns about the world into their work. They reflect the current status of affairs and suggest a better system beyond it. Another important factor to understand from the Sistine Secrets is that artists of Michelangelo¿s time were not allowed to sign their work! Because of this, artists like Raphael always found a way to put his portrait into his work as he did with his most important piece, the School of Athens. Michelangelo signed his work once on the Pieta and was sworn never to be so ¿vain¿ again. The vain ones were the patrons, often the Popes, who insisted that colors and emblems of their family crests could be visible in art with biblical themes. Not being able to sign a work goes against the individualistic philosophy of our time and no doubt must have made artists of Michelangelo¿s time feel like slaves to the system. I would have added personal ¿signatures¿ if given the chance. I¿m sure every true artist would, regardless of the pressure to do otherwise! The authors brilliantly spend about four pages explaining the official story the Vatican offers about the Sistine ceiling and then spends the rest of the book detailing a new interpretation. The research that no doubt was involved is phenomenal! They reference practically every book about the artist that came before and then put the pieces together like a puzzle along with what Michelangelo learned from the scholars of the de¿ Medici palace. It shows just how much Michelangelo planned and thought out what he was going to do - to leave a personal message in the heart of the Vatican, even if he was the only one besides his friends that knew it was there ... until now.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Symbol share

    Post symbols and how to do them!!!
    &#28961
    Chinese letters&# 28949-&# 28980
    Roman numerals&# 8535-&# 8565
    Arrows&# 8592-&# 8689
    All without spaces!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Seeing Things With Different Eyes

    Interesting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2008

    Amazing Book!!!!!

    This book is insightful and well written. I recommend it to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2008

    I wanted to enjoy this book

    Presentation of the first half was so well done time didn't exist, from then to end Buonarroti and I have a single shared emotion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2008

    Senationalistic bunk

    Much of his book is based on previously published material. Absolutely nothing original. Viewed from a very narrow prism by a rabbi who is now trying to pass himself off as an expert in renaissance art. A Dan Brown wannabee

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2