Customer Reviews for

Six Frigates: The Epic History of the Founding of the U.S. Navy

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    I now understand what made these frigates the titans of the sea that they were

    I enjoy a good history, and Ian Tolls book is well researched and contains exhaustive details. I enjoyed learning the details of each ship, from where the beams were cut and shipped to where the cannon came from. Well done, complete with excerpts from letters and drawings of the ships themselves.

    Paul Buckner,

    author of "From Broke to Broker, and other stories of finding financial freedom."

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2008

    I still can't put it down

    I have read and listened to this book several times, and seem to enjoy every bit of information given by the author more and more each time. Mr. Toll does a thourogh job of combining historical recounts of U.S. Naval battles and political causes and effects while describing, in detail, the sacrifice every man in the 18th and 19th centuries endured. I am currently listening to this book on CD in my car for, quite possibly the 16th time and after disc 6 has ended, I'll replace it with disc 1 again. Thank You, Ian W. Toll.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    A Young Nation's New Navy

    I enjoyed every page of this book. A little difficult to put down. Helps the reader to gain a real appreciation for the great sense of patriotism possessed by our early countrymen. They seemed to understand that they were part of a very special generation of Americans. The book has interesting insight into the social and political oddities of the era. If you enjoy US history or maritime history, you will probably find this to be very good reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Profound History

    This is one of the best history books I've ever read. It's flow and captivating style leaves you wanting more. It seems to be unbiased as it points out failing on all sides. A great refresher course on early American History focused around our Navy. It points out things about the War of 1812 that I didn't learn in school.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    Why is this not an ebook?

    Should we take your ebook library seriously?

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2008

    A very good story told in a marginal audio recording.

    A very good story told in a recording that could have been done better. Ian Toll has written a very enjoyable and instructive account of the first six frigates built by the U.S. Navy. Laymen like myself with an interest in the Age of Sail, the Quasi-War with France, the Barbary Pirates, and the War of 1812 should enjoy it. A nice book to listen to on your way to visit USS Constitution. Mr. Toll covers bits of the political background of events, snapshots of key figures, and recounts of many of the famous actions of these frigates. He says enough about each of those topics to be interesting and to keep the story going by quickly. It can be appreciated without constant reference to a map which is very nice since most of us purchase audio books for times during which reading is impractical. The reader speaks at a good speed and is clearly understandable although some of the early chapters are read in a monotonous tone. The audio recording leaves much to be desired, however. Most of us purchase audio books for times during which reading is impractical. For me, that is exercising on the treadmill. So any issues with the recording tend to be quite a nuisance. Most of the chapters start in the middle of a track, making it clumsy to find a stopping and restarting point. The last track on each CD starts and runs for several minutes of nothing before finally switching to the next CD ¿ it distracts you into doing something and then resumes the reading on the next CD just before you could do anything. The audio level is not consistent between many tracts, requiring frequent readjustment of the volume. The first audio book I purchased had at least two bad tracks on the second CD but Barnes and Nobel did exchange it for me with one that worked. It is a great story but don¿t expect the quality of its recording to match.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2007

    When We Got Our Sea Legs

    If you are a war history buff suffering from a nagging lack of knowledge about America¿s role in the Mediterranean in the age of the Barbary Coast corsairs, the ineptitudes of elected officials, the run-up and engagement in the war of 1812, or the early history of the US Navy read this book. Add to that the evaporation of zeal in some of our early statesmen, the false confidences in heroes, the stumbling tactics of politicians and the steadfast confidence in the righteousness of a nation new to freedom, and you have a great book. So far as the Mediterranean was concerned, passing through the straits of Gibraltar took us into a strange, little known enclave of mysterious religion, piracy, bribery 'tribute' and other means of assuring safe passage for trade. Six frigates is not just about our early Navy. It uses the vessels around which to build a narrative taking us from our fledgling days as a nation to a world maritime powerhouse. It seemed that Britain had learned nothing about us during the recent war that gave us our liberty. That nation still looked upon us as colonial upstarts, not really worthy of serious concern to a country that considered itself `rulers of the waves.¿ Along came the war of 1812, where we defeated HMS capital ships, one after another, to the point where upturned British noses could no longer be pacified by starched handkerchiefs. Up turned hulls were more likely. We learned that we, too, were a nation dependent on the sea and that we had as much claim on the broad expanse of the Atlantic as did the British. On land, we were surprised that the Brits could humiliate us from Canada, pillage Washington and that they would suffer a colossal defeat outside of New Orleans. They, of course, had much more seniority in ruling the sea but that would not last. We, however, had infinitely more coastline and were an ocean and a continent away. Through it all, we prevailed and the story is enlightening. We learn much more about our early years than just about how to build a navy. We learn, stumbling at times along our way, how to build a nation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2007

    Struggle to exist

    Six Frigates realistically portrays not only the nation's struggle for a navy but the young country's own deperate struggle to exist and be respected by the then world's powers. Evidently, the pecking order for bullies began with respect for a country's citizens and navy at sea. The book emphasizes that without a navy to protect its trade and commerce, the fledging United States was at the bottom of the pecking order. An excellent book that teaches the importance of such simple things as a navy that we tend take for granted in the modern world. Unfortunately the book emphasizes that politics and politicians have not really changed since the birth of the nation. It is easy to understand why some presidents (early and modern)will never have an aircraft carrier named after them. The book makes you want to cry in frustration and then shout and cheer in triumph. An excellent, moving book that deals with the reality of history in a gripping, hard to put down manner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2007

    This is the way History should be written!

    Beautifully written. Masterfully thought out. Mr. Toll moves easily through his pages - taking the reader with him. He tells a straightforward story and yet covers the complexity of what turns out to be a many faceted situation. His jumps in time and focus in order to present a broad and multi-dimensional description of his subject are never jolting, disturbing or confusing. Instead they add dimension and depth to the remarkable story he tells. He has written not just a description of an incident of the times but rather an account of the American world as it was - which provides insights to what has followed and where we stand today.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2013

    Hard to Put Down

    I first listened to this when a friend loaned me his copy. I liked it so much that I ordered my own. This book is full of rich detail about a critical period in America's history that few pay much attention to. At the same time, it provide a window into the trials and tribulations of our first navy.
    Highly recommended for anyone with more than a passing interest in American history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Me

    My famley made this

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Fantastic

    Ian Toll paints pictures with words which bring history to life. A great story teller. Very much enjoyed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Amazing!

    A must read for anyone intrested in the history of the navy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    Great book

    A very thoroughly researched and well written account of the period from the creation of the US Navy to the end of the War of 1812.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    Recommened - IF you enjoy detail about a favorite subject

    The 'Six Frigates' is both a look into Early Naval History of the United States and explains in great detail the building of a Frigate of the late 1700's. Plus the gathering of the resources in order to build a Frigate cause's one to pause and become aware of the mountains of labor needed and the tansporting of resources to the building site. Creating the Leadership and Organiization by the "New" U.S. Government to build a Navy - is a story in itself. Where does one start? The early Battles are well written and gives good account of Battle. Enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    A Must Read

    Exciting, well researched, showing the actors (and personalities) at the beginning of our country, the political forces, battles, builders, and sailors. Incredible direct quotes from letters (yes, they wrote letters - Jefferson has a machine that wrote a second copy as he wrote). The author takes no political views of his own. Anyone who loves constitutional history, politics, navel history, and tall ships will love this book cover to cover. Filled with facts and personal observations that will make you feel like you were there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Great Read, Well Worth Your Time!

    This is one of the most well researched, well writen books I have ever read. It describes in detail the founding of the US Navy, the political and economic climate of the time without having the reader lose intrest. The detailed acounts of the campaings the frigates were involved in and 1st hand acounts of specific battles make this book a must read. This book is a MUST READ if you have the slightest intrest in history or the founding of our nation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Early US Navy

    This book is well written and will hold your attention. However, the action does slow in the periods of peace. Still, the story would not be complete without the explanation of what happened between incidents.
    This book filled a gap in my knowledge of the early US Navy. I will be waiting for more from Ian Toll.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2007

    Fantastic!

    There are certainly other books more detailed about the conflicts depicted in Toll's book. But it's doubtful there is a better book about the founding of the US Navy. Toll puts the reader inside the halls of government to see the debate for the need for a navy and the political will to make it happen. He introduces the reader to the egos of the designers, builders and captains of the Navy¿s first frigates. Who knew that the wood specifically from the Southern Live Oak tree would make a huge difference in the ships construction? It is those types of details that impressed me page after page. If I had any criticism 'and it would be very small', it would be how much nautical terminology is used throughout the book. Toll warns the reader that he does not take the time to define the terms, so unless the reader already knows what it means to be ¿close hauled, eight points free of the wind,¿ you¿ll probably lose a little bit of the detail when he describes the sailing of these great ships ¿ particularly in the battles. Aside from tacking, windward and leeward, I don¿t have the faintest idea what most of the terms meant and it didn¿t diminish my appreciation for the book. If you have any interest in naval history, this is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2006

    Great Maritime History of the Early Republic

    This is a great book tracing the origins of the American Navy by focusing on the first Frigates built and launched under the new Nation's flag. After an engaging narrative describing the funding and construction of the first Frigates, the author weaves his tale through three distinct conflicts: the Quasi-War with France, the Barbary Pirates War, and finally the War of 1812, all of which were naval-centered wars. The author does a great job teaching us about John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison and the nations¿s first naval heroes, such as Stephen Decatur. The book should appeal to a wide range of early American History buffs, but maritime history buffs will find it a real gem. The author includes maritime language of the era in his narrative leaving the reader to discern the meanings of words through context clues. I found this really engaging, and it reminds us of an era which has faded away leaving a vocabulary of familiar expressions to us, such as ¿Jury Rigging¿ which today means to fix something quickly with what parts you have on hand. In that era it meant to fabricate sells from available materials to create a makeshift sell in times of dire need out at sea. There are many more examples, and the best way to enjoy this book is to loose yourself in the narrative like a novel, so sit back and enjoy the waves splashing in your face and happy reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3