Customer Reviews for

Six Moon Summer

Average Rating 4.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Enticing

Awkward city girl goes to camp by her divorcing parents. Slowly becomes a werewolf, is an outcast, looses her father, and befriends a boy who is questionable, helps her, and likes to fight the bad werewolf. A must read!

posted by 3218889 on April 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Probably more 3.5 *'s. Rylie is the odd one out at camp. She

Probably more 3.5 *'s. Rylie is the odd one out at camp. She can't
seem to fit in and actually she really doesn't want to. At times this
book seemed a little bit out of its age group. This doesn't take away
from the book, but just an observation. Enter Seth, a myst...
Probably more 3.5 *'s. Rylie is the odd one out at camp. She can't
seem to fit in and actually she really doesn't want to. At times this
book seemed a little bit out of its age group. This doesn't take away
from the book, but just an observation. Enter Seth, a mysterious boy
who wants to help Rylie with her newly developed problem of changing
into a werewolf. For me, Rylie tended to rely a bit too much on Seth. It
was almost as if she let her time with him define her. The plot was
well developed and flowed smoothly. There was just enough mystery and
twists to keep the reader on their toes without overdoing it. This was
a great start to a new series. It gives enough detail and action to hook
the reader into wanting to read the rest of the series. Be prepared,
there is a cliffhanger and you will need the second book on hand!

posted by MyReadAddiction on August 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    Pretty Good

    This book was pretty good, kept my interest just fine. It wasn't a scintillating read, at least not to me, but it passed the time nicely between major books. Rating of about 3.5-4.0. (I can't decide)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    I don┬┐t normally read Young Adult books. I love some sizzingly h

    I don’t normally read Young Adult books. I love some sizzingly heat and of course, these contain none of that. After reading the blurb for both the first and second books in this series, I had to read them. If this book is any indication, I will be reading all of them.

    SM Reine is a new-to-me author who is very talented. I don’t know that I will try any other of her books besides this series as I don’t really read Young Adult, but she definitely drew me in. Riley is sent to camp so here parents can deal with their divorce. She didn’t want to go. She loves her dad and her city.

    I had figured out one of the bad guys from the beginning, but the second one, yeah I figured that out when Riley did. The heroine in this book is a strong young woman. She goes through a lot in this book and comes out a much better person for it. I will definitely be reading the second book in this series to see what happens with Rylie and Seth.

    Ms. Reine had a very good premise for the book and built on it excellently. She made me not want to send my kids to camp, that’s for sure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    Totally Unique Read!

    I have never read anything like "Six Moon Summer." The narrative style is completely unique and that got a three star out of me just for its sheer difference. It had a "diary" type feel to it. I really felt like I WAS Rylie, like I was seeing and feeling things through her eyes.

    Rylie's character feels like a fifteen year old that's been dropped and has a small fissure that continues to "run" like a crack in the windshield that grows. Life for her has been challenging of late as she comes to terms with her parents split while being shuttled off to a summer camp.

    Her loneliness is profound and she turns inward, spending a lot of time just wanting to be left alone. Rylie has unusual coloring and looks so she never is quite successful in her desire to remain incognito. The other girls are petty and never give her a break. I felt a lot of empathy for her. Eventually she is befriended by Seth who turns into a supportive friend. The author was really clever about "outing" people that were more-or-less a surprise and I really enjoyed the way she peppered werewolf legend throughout the book. It was interesting but not like I was being "educated."

    Reine was brave and never shied away from violence or the rawness of how awful things can and do happen. I really dug that. The author must be a unique person to have written this, it's just such a different perspective than I'm used to reading and that was welcome. Sometimes the YA genre gets a "homogenized" feel that gets tiresome. This work is a fine example of a "break-out" feel that is really unique, as was the premise.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2014

    Good story

    147 pages

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderfully unique werewolf tale

    The early part of this debut novel is a bit uneven. However, a unique, sometimes unlikable heroine and an intriguing paranormal mythology won me over at the halfway point. Six Moon Summer turned me from a reader who was "meh" about werewolves into a slavering fan. After reading this book, I now feel I know what it's like to "change." Reine has great potential as an author and I look forward to the sequel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2014

    Azure to real Blackmoon

    Who was that anyway? Pie? You've got to be kidding me

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Sox moon summer

    Its so good so far.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Good

    This is a really good book but id personaly LOVE BEING A WEREWOLF!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Different type of werewolf novel

    Interesting but the ending was lousy. Hopefully the 2nd book lets you know what happens. If you want a clean start & end to a story, don't read this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2013

    I'm going to go ahead and give this 4 stars because I like it. M

    I'm going to go ahead and give this 4 stars because I like it. My main complaint is the "knees reversing direction" when they change into a werewolf because it is ridiculous and really should be corrected. Canine knees face the same way as ours (so do horses, giraffes....etc.) and what the author is considering the knee is actually the ankle. There's no need for joints to reverse directions they just move higher up. Other than that annoyance, I've really enjoyed the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Must pick up! Great summer read

    I have to be honest here.I expected Six Moon Summer to be just the same ol', same ol'. Not at all! In fact I love this book. I was totally flipped around and I didn't know what to expect by the end. I enjoyed it so much!

    Rylie is a teenage girl sent away for the summer because her parents are going through a messy divorce. She put on a stronger front that what she was actually feeling. I can definitely relate to that, I think most of us can. Rylie was the perfect heroine. She grew stronger with each moon and transformation and although her feelings overwhelmed her she was able to make the right choices.

    I enjoyed 'becoming a werewolf' with Rylie. It was a completely different and creative paranormal experience. I have never read a story about someone who wasn't destined to be a 'monster' from the start or whatnot. I loved that the point was how Rylie was coping with turning into a werewolf!

    Super cute Seth knows a lot about the Legends of Gray Mountain and Rylie takes his help with her transformations. I liked Seth and feel he was a great supporting character. I loved that there was light romance-well more like interest-between the two characters. It was more about the legends and action, which was awesome for a change! Except it turns out to be different from what anyone would expect and it broke my heart!

    SM Reine's writing is simplistic with just the right amount of detail and feeling. I loved the writing. It's the best when I dive into a book and love everything about it right off the bat. I was impressed by the writing and that Reine was able to describe each transformation without the repetitiveness.

    Please pick up Six Moon Summer! Its such an awesome read and a perfect summer book at that! It has everything a great book should have and I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Different Take on a Familiar Favorite!

    I really enjoyed reading Six Moon Summer. I liked Rylie's character. She's someone I could identify with, feeling isolated and out of place at a camp she never wanted to go to in the first place. I thought the camp setting allowed for a sense of mystery and isolation. I couldn't help but draw on my own summer camp experiences while reading.

    I also enjoyed the way werewolf lore was presented. It has much that is familiar but also some subtle twists that are not quite what you would think of normally. Since she has been infected, Rylie has begun the slow process of transforming into a werewolf. However, her permanent transformation is not a certain thing. Will she be able to fight it, or will she be turned into a bloodthirsty werewolf? Will she be evil like the other werewolves whose scents she has encountered?

    There is also Seth, a cute boy who appears to be from the nearby boys' camp who helps Rylie as she copes with what is happening to her. There are many aspects of his personality that are mysterious and left me guessing as I read. I could tell there was much more to him that first met the eye, and it turns out that he is a werewolf hunter who pleads with Rylie to fight against becoming a werewolf so that they won't be pitted against each other.

    This is a very enjoyable read. There were places where I wished there was a little more detail or development, but overall it was just fun! The conclusion of the novel is by far the strongest part where everything comes to a thrilling climax. It left me definitely wanting to know what will happen in the next installment of this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    Fierce, action-packed werewolf story!

    Wow. I've read many indie books, and I have to say I was extremely impressed with Reine's exceptional writing. After countless hours of beta reading for writers, it's been ingrained into me to look and seek out typos, mistakes, awkward structure, but I read straight through Six Moon Summer without pause. I was extremely impressed. Rylie for me started off a little weak. Although I understand that was needed to show her character growth, I felt her reasoning for secluding herself away from the other campers was feeble, and I wished she'd treated her one friend, Cassidy, a little better. There was another scene where I felt Rylie was a little too harsh on one of her friends for bringing his girlfriend to a concert. I think the author needs to put a little more thought into the way other girls might perceive her actions there, but really, those incidents were the only things I found to mar her character. Rylie took on her struggles fiercely. I loved how she embraced her wolf side, even though she feared it, she realized that its strength could help her rather than hold her back. And she used it, thrusting herself into the fray. I admire female characters like this. It's nice for a change to see the girl take on all these changes and watch how she responds. I thought Riley embraced her beast gracefully. I thought the plot was strong. I've read many, many werewolf tales and I felt this one was solid. I loved the mythology and how it was woven into the camp. Very eerie and interesting premise. The only thing I could have used more of was more closure at the end. We heard the whole story from Riley's POV. We followed her from the beginning. And although I enjoyed seeing things through Seth's POV at the end, I wished I could have heard from Riley there, too. But I believe this is going to be a series, so I'm definitely looking forward to reading more and discovering what will happen next. If you love werewolf books and are looking for something with wonderful writing that you can lose yourself in, check out Six Moon Summer. Fast and action-packed, and setting up for an interesting series, it's an awesome read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2