Customer Reviews for

Six Thinking Hats

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Edward De Bono┬┐s Six Thinking Hats is an easy and quick read. Al

    Edward De Bono’s Six Thinking Hats is an easy and quick read. Although the book is short does not mean that it lacks value. In fact, De Bono presents an interesting alternative to argument by explaining a different approach toward viewing a subject. Instead of argument which has been used for so many years, De Bono explains a more efficient method called parallel thinking. Unlike argument where sides argue about what is right or wrong, in parallel thinking all options are accepted and explored instead of being thrown out. Parallel thinking is done with the help of the “Six Thinking Hats.” 
    De Bono created the “Six Thinking Hats” all different colors where each color represents something else, differentiating the hats from one another. He has the White hat for information, red for feelings, black for critical thinking, yellow for benefits, green for creativity, and blue for organizing. De Bono’s Six Things Hats does an excellent job of explaining the six hats by providing examples and summaries on each hat. The somewhat repetitive content and structure of the book in addition to the summaries of the hats helps you really understand this method. I liked the book because it helped me realize that parallel thinking is more effective than argument because you get to explore the facts, negatives, and positives of all ideas and try to use that to help tie things together or come to a mutual agreement. I would recommend others to read this book especially those like me who have never heard about the six hats. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    The Six Thinking Hats is a great and motivating read. This book

    The Six Thinking Hats is a great and motivating read. This book is well written and easy to read. I highly recommend the Six Thinking Hats to anyone who wants to empower themselves and take their thinking to another level. Edward de Bono writes about using different styles of thinking that can be used for any situation. He organizes philosophies about thinking that has been around for ages into visual concepts to be applied in daily scenarios. This book is especially recommended to managers or leaders as it teaches the essential approach to working with groups of people.  
    What about the hats? The way De Bono explains it is brilliant. Each hat is a different color: white, red, black, yellow, green and blue. De Bono assigns each hat with a combination of qualities and characteristics.  The white hat’s job is to state the facts, red is to state the emotions, black is to state the negative aspects, yellow is to state the positive aspects, green is to think creatively (outside of the box), and blue is think about thinking (control of thinking).  
     As the author explains in Chapter 6 the best way to use the six thinking hats is by role playing. The point of role playing is that everyone in the group should have knowledge of the six hats and the moderator (manager, chairperson, facilitator,engineer.. etc) would tell everyone to put a certain color hat on at a certain time and only discuss the matter  at hand using the characteristic and quality of the hat. The use of the six thinking hats will allow groups of employees, classmates, or even friends to work together productively. By using this method of thinking the time spent in meetings would be greatly reduced

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    Must Read

    This book is most beneficial for people looking for a new technique to approach problems and make complex decisions. The Six Thinking Hat concept is easy to understand and easy to implement anywhere. The author claims this technique is so effective and popular that companies such as DuPont, Heineken, NASA, Motorola, and AT&T are either currently using it or have used it.
    The major effect this technique has in decision making and team meetings is the significant decrease in waste of time during meetings. This is achieved through the use of Six Hats; each hat has a different color and therefore a different meaning. During a meeting everyone in the room wears the same hat and tries to view the situation or problem from the same point of view. This way people are all on the same page at the same time and so arguments are avoided. After individually explaining each hat De Bono proceeds to explain how the hats work together as a whole to help facilitate decision making. Each chapter explains each hat and gives many examples of dialogues to suggest how to use each hat.
    I definitely recommend reading this book because it is easy to comprehend and is not time consuming. Although this book was mainly written for leaders, managers, teachers and those in charge of decision making it could be read and understood by everyone. The fact that this technique could be applied without the need to purchase any equipment or the need to hire a consultant makes it much more valuable. Purchasing this book could potentially save a lot of money for companies and save a lot of time for anyone trying to make the best decision possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    Must be adopted by everyone in an organization or department

    This is an interesting book. It is an easy read, the Author does a good job repeating information to make sure the reader understands whats going on. He provides good examples. This is definitely a different way of running meetings. I can see how it can save companies time in meetings by making them more productive.

    I'm kind of conflicted about how to rate this book, because to me it seems like it needs to be adopted by the culture of the company as a whole (To be the most beneficial to a company).

    On the contrary, it is possible for members of a particular meeting to read the book and try to apply what they have learned to their meeting to determine whether or not it will be successful for them.

    Don't be mislead by the simple name and cover of the book. I believe the reason DeBono did this is to demonstrate how simple the ideas and concepts are. He could have used very complicated names, but it is possible that, that would discourage readers from reading the book.

    This rating would be 5 stars if the Author would have provided a few more examples of how to incorporate/adopt this for a meeting.

    Overall, it was a good read, and I would recommend that one member of a meeting reads it before all the members read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    Good Read!

    The Six Thinking Hats by Edward De Bono defines the difference between argumentative, lateral, and parallel thinking where The Six thinking hat method is a tool to make lateral and parallel thinking easier for meetings. While most of the book consists of explaining and educating people on how to use the six thinking hat method, the beginning of the book explains an unorthodox way of thinking that promotes more co-operative thinking in a meeting setting. DeBono explains why he chose hats and the meaning behind the colors which is good to see the thought process behind how this tool came about. This method of thinking is much different than what students are familiar in school where they are taught to argue against one other. The main thing to take out of this book is that decision making and problem solving is beneficial to the group and consequently the group has to work together not against each other to come up with a decision.
    DeBono claims that this method is used in real world industry and people say that they use it at work, but unless the top management pushes the six thinking hat method people will not take it seriously. I tried to push it when we were trying to make decisions when we were in a group but everybody just says "we just want to get this done man, let's forget about the hats." I hope I do get to see this method in industry and that this is the exception, because when done right I can see how this method can become an effective tool. Another flaw that DeBono tries to address is the abuse of the blue hat and the black hat. The Blue hat needs to be someone who is experienced in this method or the meeting won't get anywhere. The Black hat abuse is excessive pessimism of ideas and those do not let the idea get off the ground. But one abuse nobody mentioned was the green hat abuse that could happen. The green hat is supposed to represent creativity and every idea should be welcomed. When we were making some suggestions someone brought about an idea about on how to solve the problem. It was farfetched to say the least and impractical but most of the group wanted to exclude the idea and not take it seriously.
    Overall the book is an easy read and gives many examples on how to effectively use the six thinking hats method. DeBono really tries to teach the method and as a result goes into great detail, almost to the point of being redundant in order for the reader to grasp the conception. His prose is not hard to understand and the pacing is such that right when the reader is about to get bored of reading about one hat it switches to another aspect of the hat or another hat entirely. I appreciate DeBono's effort into making this an easy read and would definitely recommend it to anyone who is tired of arguing and wants to learn about a method of discussion that promotes camaraderie within an organization.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    I highly recommend the Six Thinking Hats to any corporate driven individuals

    For this book, I believe that the point that DeBono was trying to put across was the purpose of Lateral thinking and the effectiveness of having everyone in a meeting focused on one direction at a time. This not only cuts down on the amount of incessant bickering amongst fellow members of the focus group, but also drives the group concentrate on the problem at hand, thus providing a quicker and more effective conclusion to the issue at hand. One needs to look beyond the issue of the color of the hats and rather at the figurative illustrations that they are trying to convey. Good meetings are ones that can proceed uninterrupted by confusion and nonsense, and this is exactly what Mr. Debono states and effectively describes.
    I would highly recommend this book for anyone that is in a corporate environment or is very corporate driven. I have firsthand experience with this concept and can honestly say that it works, and it works well. The ability for one to control the flow of conversation and information within a meeting, is the ability to achieve success. Therefore I give this book a two thumbs up and say that it is a must have for all managerial staff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    Definitely an easy read!

    This book is very simple and easy to follow and understand. You can get the whole idea of the book by reading the back cover. It introduces a new way to communicate with people and problem solving. Even though I found some of the examples in the book a little unpractical to use in real meetings, but they are definitely great metaphors to help readers understand the concepts. The six hat method is more useful when you use within your own head and try to make meetings more efficient. I would definitely recommend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    Simple and Effective

    Six Thinking Hats by Edward De Bono can become a valuable tool for any person who has had to suffer through unproductive meetings. This book provides a simple method to organize conversations and to make them flow in a productive and efficient direction. The best part of the Six Thinking Hats method is that anyone can learn it. The books is presented in a casual and friendly manner that doesn't bog you down with fancy language or technical terms. It's simple and to the point. A recommended read for any age, cause sooner or later you may find yourself wanting a solution to unproductive conversation. The Six Thinking Hats may be just what you're looking for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    A good read for people who can't think on their own.

    The six thinking hats is nothing more than a drawn out book to help teach people to think properly. If the author gets paid by the page, then he will be rich soon enough. This book could be cut in half by taking all the random examples that are hard to follow. If De Bono rewrites this book he should use a few examples and use them trough out the book to show how the hats can be used in real examples. This book is written for junior high school maybe even high school students.

    This method is already practiced by most people but they do not realize they are using the method. If you are the group facilitator in meetings for your company then this is a must read it will help you keep the meetings on track and get stuff done, other than that the book is a waste of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2008

    New Ways of Thinking

    I read this book for an assignment in my statistical quality control class and I actually enjoyed this book. I found that the six hats method seems to be a very logical straight forward way to quicken and increase productivity of brainstorming sessions and it does so in a very clear way explaining why this method may help. This method seems to be geared towards group meetings but I feel that I could implement it into times where I just need to come up with ideas on my own. I recommend this book for anyone who wants a more efficient way to come up with solutions or ideas for any project they may have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    A new way for thinking/decision making!

    De Bono¿s Six Thinking Hats is a great book to read even if you¿re not the best reader, like me. It is easy to follow, understand, and relate to. The book is very well outlined and can be well summarized just by reading the back cover. Plenty of examples are given in regards to each type of thinking, so one of them is bound to ¿stick.¿ Like many have said before, it can be read fairly quickly even for those slow readers. What the book emphasizes the most is a new, different, and more structured way of thinking. It emphasizes, for me at least, the hypothetical motion of wearing one color of hat for one type of thinking: white for factual thinking, red for emotional, black for cautious, yellow for positive, green for creativity, and lastly blue for organizational. This symbolism can help to keep thinking structured whether it is during a meeting, for taking notes, common discussions, or decision making of any sort. Overall for the time I¿ve invested reading this book, I would say the benefit taken from it is definitely worth my time. I¿d recommend this book to anyone who would like to improve their decision making, and more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    Simple and effective... thinking

    The lesson of this book is worth while.In essence,'Six Thinking Hats' is about improving communication and decision-making in groups. De Bono's style is accessible, succinct, well-structured and easy to follow. The main goal is to structure thinking and make it more effective. 'Thinking often deosn not follow a pattern . We think everything 'at once'.The six 'thinking hats' are different ways of looking at an issue that has to be decided: under the white hat one presents the facts, under the red hat one says how one feels about the issue, under the black hat one looks at the negative effects of the decision, under the yellow hat one looks at the positive effects of the decision, under the green hat one thinks of alternatives, and under the blue hat one clarifies which kind of thinking is going on. Overall, thinking becomes clearer when the different parts that go into it are brought into the open. We stringly recommend this book not only for business or engineering students , in general is a book that helps improve the decision making in any aspect of life.It was stimulating to read this book, evryone will find very interesting to analyse thier thinking method under de Bono's technique.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    Six Strategies to Success

    The six thinking hats provides the best effective way to demonstrate alternative ways to be a thinker. Dr. de Bono's method is a simple and powerful method by concentrating all thinking in one direction and making sure all competing views get attention, a very strong output can be achieved in the minimum timespan. The Hats demonstrates alternative ways to approach a common goal. The goal can be from creating a new product to starting a new business. The benefits from the six thinking hats is creating an environment that every person is involve. It gives great examples and easy to understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2007

    Typical thinking

    This is a great book and easy to understand. It¿s explained how six different hats can be applied in the ordinary or in the business life. It helps us to solve problems by switching different thinking of process without prefer the ego or personality. Also, it gives some example and explanation about emotions, logic, information, hope, and creativity can be deal with separately. This book has helped to change the way of people thinking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2007

    Compartmentalized thinking

    I would recommend this book to all beginning college students due to the fact that it teaches the reader how to organize their thought process into a more efficient and effective process. The book is relatively short. It takes about two and a half hours to read. Dr. De Bono does a good job instructing readers how to use his techniques without sounding like a self-help, type of inspirational speaker. Dr. De Bono has quite a good reputation and has done an exceptional job researching, planning and completing this project. If you need help with organizing your thoughts, check it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2007

    Recommend it

    This book helps bring order and confluence to meetings, especially brainstorming meetings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2002

    Great New Thinking Perspectives

    Great thinkers think from multiple perspectives. This book teaches readers how to do it expertly, similar to the techniques taught in Why Didn't I Think of That? - Think the Unthinkable and Achieve Creative Greatness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2001

    Great book

    This is a great book that gives a useful model for communicating (especially thorugh conflict or for brainstorming).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2000

    A crucial book

    Ed De Bono's 'Six Thinking Hats' is absolutely crucial if you are managing complexity. The book provides a simple, sound, and structured methodology for dealing with decision-making. The process also helps folks, from management to support, in becoming more disciplined and rigorous thinkers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2