Customer Reviews for

Six Weeks to OMG: Get Skinnier Than All Your Friends

Average Rating 3
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

don't judge it before you read it!

I just finished reading this book, and I read it from cover to cover. I have to disagree with the other folks who reviewed it. (And I want to mention that a couple of those reviewers admittedly have not read the book!) Having struggled with weight loss for most of my ...
I just finished reading this book, and I read it from cover to cover. I have to disagree with the other folks who reviewed it. (And I want to mention that a couple of those reviewers admittedly have not read the book!) Having struggled with weight loss for most of my life (gained weight at 10 and at 43 am still struggling), I have turned to countless weight loss books and methods. This book IS different! I'm intrigued and interested in the methods he recommends. Are they unusual... yes. Does that mean they are ineffective? Well, I don't know because I have not had time to implement them. But, as strange and controversial as they may seem, the logic behind them does make sense to me. And obviously, some of the "traditional" methods are not working. I cannot tell you how many times I've tried a new eating/exercise program, followed it faithfully for several weeks and then been disappointed and frustrated by a lack of positive results. And, as the obesity epidemic in our country continues to escalate, perhaps it is time to explore something different. Am I advocating this plan for everyone? No- but I think that before one bashes this guy and his ideas perhaps he or she should try them. And for the people who seem to think that his ideas are dangerous or anorexic-inducing I don't see it. It seems that the whole skipping breakfast idea is throwing some people into a tizzy- but think about it- how many diet plans recommend not eating after 6:00 or 7:00 pm? Isn't that kind of the same thing (an extended time period of fasting), just in reverse order? I personally find myself not really hungry in the morning and force myself to eat because of traditional weight loss advice. He never advocates restricted eating- in fact there's no calorie counting at all. He only recommends restricting carbs... not such an insane concept. So, I'm going to try it. If I remember, I'll update my review in 6 weeks. I only gave it 4 stars because the writing style was a little off-putting (I think he was trying to be light hearted, but I found it at times a little annoying), and there were some sections that seemed to jump from idea to idea without much connection, leaving me a little confused. It did however keep me interested unlike the countless other diet books I've read that spend chapter after chapter rehashing the old information that I've read a million times!

posted by 1559957 on July 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

What a joke!!! Laughable

Really? Where did this man get his education? This tops the list of useless wastes of time and money. What a joke! This is why we have young adults with eating disorders and mental issues. Run the other way!!!!!!!!

posted by GApeachAT on July 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If you think you've failed on every diet you've ever tried, thi


    If you think you've failed on every diet you've ever tried, think again: The diet failed, you didn't! Now it's time to forget all those weight loss cliche's and listen to the truth:

    Skipping breakfast can be healthy

    Cold baths can give you a hot body

    Black coffee helps speed weight loss

    Small, frequent meals can pack on the pounds

    Exercise is about much more than how much and how hard

    Broccoli carbs can be worse than soda carbs

    Juices and smoothies cause overeating

    and so much more! Now the answers don't lie within all those BMI charts, and what someone else calls fat, obese or morbidly fat. Now you can decide once and for all to shed all the fat you want, based on what you look like and how you feel, not by some numbers calculation. The book, Six Weeks to OMG by Venice A. Fulton can show you how.

    The interesting thing like most diet books is education and knowledge is power. The more you know the easier it is to begin once you gain enough will power to tell yourself you can do this. For me, a chronic breakfast skipper since high school, just reading this chapter alone gave me hope again, that I didn't have to force myself to eat in the morning and there are some amazing health benefits.

    I mean if your body is storing fat and you are looking to get rid of it, doesn't it make sense you have to find a way to burn what your body is storing instead of adding to the stock pile? It's like having a car that runs on gas and you have these reserves waiting to be used, but instead of using those reserves, you just keep adding fuel. If you don't use enough fuel in the course of your day it gets added to the stock pile. And the cycle begins all over again. Everytime you eat, your fueling your body and with just a few changes in how you deal with your body for the next 4-6 weeks can give you a loss of up to 20 pounds of body FAT lost, not muscle or water loss.

    Want to know the secrets? Then, you'll want to pick this one up today and see just how easy it is!

    I received Six Weeks to OMG: Get Skinnier Than All Your Friends by Venice A. Fulton compliments of Grand Central Publishing, a division of Hachette Book Groups for my honest review and I can't wait to begin some of the simple tips this book offers. It truly is an exciting concept to not weight loss, but FAT LOSS and it doesn't require you to purchase anything but the book. I'll let you know how it goes as I begin my adventure, and hoping by the end of the year, I look much different, feel different and have the healthy skin, hair and nails to prove it. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    No

    Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooolooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooppppppooo

    6 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    Really, why do people judge an excerpt of a book, instead of act

    Really, why do people judge an excerpt of a book, instead of actually reading it.

    This is simply the best 'diet' book I've read.  Sure, the subtitle 'get skinnier than all your friends' might shock or upset some, but so what, this is the 21st century!  There are lots of common and uncommonly good tips, and I might add that they're all backed up by a research section.  You might laugh at blowing up balloons, but when the author openly explains that they're NOT for fat loss, but for strengthening the muscle underneath the six pack, you start to take notice.  When he mentions cold baths, you initially raise an eyebrow.  When you then do a Google search and discover there are tons of researchers 'discovering' the benefits of brown fat (a type of fat that burns fat, and made active by being cold), you start to understand how ahead of its time this is.  Finally, as for eating disorders, I just don't get the haters.  This book has an honest and useful discussion about the three (yes three) types of eating disorders, and that's something I haven't seen in other books.  I've lost about 35 pounds using the principles in this book, and I don't intend to give them up or put them back anytime soon. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    I know the title can be off putting, but those reviewing this no

    I know the title can be off putting, but those reviewing this not having read the book are jumping to an erroneous conclusion. I read this because it came pre loaded on my library nook. Except for the cold baths what he has to say actually works and is worth considering. At the end of the book he cites his resources. He is not pulling this out of thin air. I have been doing a low carb diet successfully but his a plateau. Following the delaying breakfast, exercising first thing in the morning, drink black regular coffee (which I thought I could never do but am learning to not hate it) and not eating between three meals has worked!! The rest of his book is basically a low carb diet not so different from many others and he too explains well the whys of bad carbs and the importance of protein. Living the Low Carb Life by Jonny Bowden was what I read first and is an excellent book, but Fulton is consistent with Bowden except for these extras. I am lowering the temperature of my showers before getting out but I don't give that credit for my 5 lb weight loss the first week. So will people who have NOT read the book stop judging what you think is inside when you don't know what you are talking about. The title caught your attention but shouldn't be how you judge it. Atlkins was slammed in the beginning ...now all the books say Atkins was right. I am actually reading it a second time before returning the nook to the library to make sure I understand all his recommendations.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    I enjoyrd I enjoyed it

    The author is funny and to the point! I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Best book ever

    Best book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    It works!

    Read it & give it a real chance:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    For ople who selfharm

    Go to selfharm res3 to talk and not be judged for what you say.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Next clue

    Go to oreo result one

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1