Customer Reviews for

The Six Wives of Henry VIII

Average Rating 4.5
( 239 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(132)

4 Star

(71)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

facinating!

after watching The Tudors, i wanted to go more in depth and had heard good things about Alison Weir's works. I loved the book and went through it very quickly. was fascinated that even though The Tudors is largely dramatized for entertainment value, quite a few of the...
after watching The Tudors, i wanted to go more in depth and had heard good things about Alison Weir's works. I loved the book and went through it very quickly. was fascinated that even though The Tudors is largely dramatized for entertainment value, quite a few of the details in the book are shown in the series. it keeps you enthralled like a fiction book, all the while enlightening you to life during Henry VIII's reign. the backgrounds on each wife were very detailed and really painted a portrait of each that helped enlighten how they came to their (mostly) unfortunate ends.
since reading this book, i have followed up with The Children of Henry VIII and just finished The Life of Elizabeth I. Am now starting Mary, Queen of Scots, with The War of the Roses waiting in the wings! will probably check out Ms. Weir's other books as well - including Henry VIII that i got for my dad for his birthday when he's finished!
I would highly reccomend this book for anyone interested in learning more about the life and times during the reign of Henry VIII.

posted by kamiPA on June 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

NOT WORTH THE MONEY OR TIME

This is one of the most dull and boring books I have read since reading droll text books in school. It jumps around way to much. Just when you think that thr story of this wife is done, she takes you back in time to repeat the story again. I am truly sorry I purchased t...
This is one of the most dull and boring books I have read since reading droll text books in school. It jumps around way to much. Just when you think that thr story of this wife is done, she takes you back in time to repeat the story again. I am truly sorry I purchased this one. I have read many books on this subject, this being the most boring.

posted by Anonymous on September 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    definitive book on the subject.

    Weir manages to provide the reader with incredibly detailed information about the lives of these amazing women. There are times when this can be problematic as she can focus on the minutiae of a banquet, for example, and continues at length describing banal experiences only an expert on this subject would find interesting. However, my experience with this book was more akin to reading a historical novel rather than a stodgy historical text. If you're interested in the subject I would highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Good reading

    Tells us alot about life in that time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    excellent history

    Read this after reading the Hilary Mantel novels. Although it is non-fiction, the book moves as quickly as a novel. The story of Henry the VIII and his wives is well researched and well written. A very good reference book for the subject matter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Great Read

    Great info about the Tudors especially Anne Boleyn and Katherine of Aragon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Entertaining read.

    Kept me interested in the historical happenings as well as the individual wives. Glad I did not live in that period of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    Test

    Test. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    A good overview of the ladies unfortunate enough to be involved with Henry VIII

    This is a good read, giving an overview of the life and times of Henry's 6 wives - I started reading it to get another view of Henry after watching The Tudors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2010

    read like a novel

    two thumbs up!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    Wonderful book that takes you to a time that men ruled but where swayed by strong women. I found it very informative and easy to read.

    I found it very

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    Good book on the Tudor history

    Filled with exciting details and information on Henry VIII's life and many wives. Great historical research.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    I think it's great!

    A lot of research to be able to come up with all those delicate details. It must have been a lot of fun for Weir. I loved it, it doesn't read as much like a history book as I would have thought -- Too interesting to be boring. I also was surprised at how the Showtime Tudor series follows so closely with the 'Six Wives'. Every little action or speech could have been taken right out of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2008

    Super

    What a great tale, and it was all true!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2003

    I Was Totally Absorbed That I Forgot I Was On My Honeymoon

    I was 22, just got married and my beloved husband knew my dream was to travel europe ...England was our first stop and after a tour of the Tower of London, ( they showed us the spot where Anne Boelyn was beheaded) my interest in her peaked. And so when i came across this book at the airport on our way to Venice, i purchased it without hesitance. And on the plane i got hooked!!!! Sure i enjoyed my stay in Venice, impressed by the beautiful sites etc etc but i also couldnt wait to get back to the hotel to finish the book. Then i brought it along with me right up to Paris ( our last stop )...a walk at Versailles ( beautiful ) and a stroll thru this gorgeous romantic city and munching on the heavenly crepes thrilled me but i still couldnt wait to get back to the hotel to read more of Henry's tintillating wives. I love the Tudor era, have always been interested in it. This is a great book to read for anyone in love with that era because i definately fell head over hills for it. This book is a keeper. Now two years later it has a special place on the bookshelf and i make sure it does not collect any dust. My only regret?.........i must have neglected my husband one way or another during my honeymoon ... Now i feel really really bad and wished that i had hidden this book deep underneath all my clothes baggage so that i would have focused all my love and affection for my husband!!! i promise on our second honeymoon i will not get too engrossed in a book ...!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2003

    Great Tudor Book

    This book is an interesting look at the lives of the six women who wore the consort's crown as wife of Henry VIII. It does, however, tend to focus on a lot of hearsay or gossip, which is certaintly interesting, but you begin to wonder how much of it is actually true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2000

    excellent

    The title says it all. Weir does an excellent job on her research and advises the reader if something is based on fact, or theory. This is a pretty easy read and gives full detail of life in 16th century English court. There was slight overkill in the description of how the royals dressed, but fascinating otherwise. Highly recommend this title to any history enthusiast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4