Customer Reviews for

The Six Wives of Henry VIII

Average Rating 4.5
( 241 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(134)

4 Star

(71)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

facinating!

after watching The Tudors, i wanted to go more in depth and had heard good things about Alison Weir's works. I loved the book and went through it very quickly. was fascinated that even though The Tudors is largely dramatized for entertainment value, quite a few of the...
after watching The Tudors, i wanted to go more in depth and had heard good things about Alison Weir's works. I loved the book and went through it very quickly. was fascinated that even though The Tudors is largely dramatized for entertainment value, quite a few of the details in the book are shown in the series. it keeps you enthralled like a fiction book, all the while enlightening you to life during Henry VIII's reign. the backgrounds on each wife were very detailed and really painted a portrait of each that helped enlighten how they came to their (mostly) unfortunate ends.
since reading this book, i have followed up with The Children of Henry VIII and just finished The Life of Elizabeth I. Am now starting Mary, Queen of Scots, with The War of the Roses waiting in the wings! will probably check out Ms. Weir's other books as well - including Henry VIII that i got for my dad for his birthday when he's finished!
I would highly reccomend this book for anyone interested in learning more about the life and times during the reign of Henry VIII.

posted by kamiPA on June 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

NOT WORTH THE MONEY OR TIME

This is one of the most dull and boring books I have read since reading droll text books in school. It jumps around way to much. Just when you think that thr story of this wife is done, she takes you back in time to repeat the story again. I am truly sorry I purchased t...
This is one of the most dull and boring books I have read since reading droll text books in school. It jumps around way to much. Just when you think that thr story of this wife is done, she takes you back in time to repeat the story again. I am truly sorry I purchased this one. I have read many books on this subject, this being the most boring.

posted by Anonymous on September 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    facinating!

    after watching The Tudors, i wanted to go more in depth and had heard good things about Alison Weir's works. I loved the book and went through it very quickly. was fascinated that even though The Tudors is largely dramatized for entertainment value, quite a few of the details in the book are shown in the series. it keeps you enthralled like a fiction book, all the while enlightening you to life during Henry VIII's reign. the backgrounds on each wife were very detailed and really painted a portrait of each that helped enlighten how they came to their (mostly) unfortunate ends.
    since reading this book, i have followed up with The Children of Henry VIII and just finished The Life of Elizabeth I. Am now starting Mary, Queen of Scots, with The War of the Roses waiting in the wings! will probably check out Ms. Weir's other books as well - including Henry VIII that i got for my dad for his birthday when he's finished!
    I would highly reccomend this book for anyone interested in learning more about the life and times during the reign of Henry VIII.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    Must Read!

    Alison Weir presents a modern perspective on an ancient topic-King Henry VIII. It is refreshing to revisit topics with the new bent-why was Henry so obsessed with wives? What are the true possible medical reasons behind his never having begotten a son with Anne Boleyn? Was Anne truly the sordid character that many have said she was? Was he truly the lecherous old man as he is often portrayed? Alison presents this bit of history in an enlightened modern day format. This read is so palatable that it was the impetus for my reading as much about English monarchies as I possibly could. Bravo, Alison. Well done. A must-read!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    English History Made Easy

    This is not a "dummies" type book but Alison Weir has made English history not only easy but exciting, compelling and absorbing to read. Her research is impeccable; the dialogue is based on historical fact; and when not verifiable she makes it known. A wonderful companion to this is her "The Children of Henry VIII."

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Hollywood couldn't have scripted a better family drama than what ensued during and following the rule of Henry VIII

    Henry VII caused many divisions in his quest to have a male heir. However, the psychological problems endured by his surviving children due to his bastardizing of his daughters would cause many more problems. His heir Edward VI didn't live long enough to have the true power of the King, his youth became a great tool for those that wanted to carry out their own agendas in the young King's name. This is aptly noted when upon the death of Henry VII, his will on how Edward's council was to be made up is not carried out due to this battle for power. Of course the Seymour brothers jealousies and ambitions play a great role in this battle. Issues even followed Mary I and Elizabeth who were forever linked to plots by those wanting to return England to the See of Rome and those viweing Elizabeth as the deliverer of the Protestant faith.

    The way the author interelates the lives of each heir places the reades in the halls of English palaces, the streets of England and in the midset of each ruler as they struggle with the many issues that develop around them. It just makes you wonder what if Mary would've been better treated and prepared in her youth, would she been a much stronger ruler than she eventually became. In a way her hunt for heretics was like her father's actions on the catholics. Elizabeth seems to have been also adversely affected in her reluctance to marry and in developing a very astute mind so as not to get easily influenced into actions that would damage her standing as the ruler following Mary. Her father's execution and treatment of his wives undoubtedly had an effect on her reluctance to marry or be dependent on anyone but herself.

    This book is a very engulfing quick read for anyone who has been facinated by Henry VII via Showtime's: The Tudors or just for any fan of this facinating period of history.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book is one of the best books I ever read! It is very detailed and has lots of information. I recommend this book to any Tudor lover.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2007

    The best non fiction book I have read!

    This book was really good! I was intimidated to read it because I thought it would read like a text book. However, I could not put it down. King Henry VIII lived a crazy life and Weir does an amazing job bringing it to life! I felt like I was at the Tudor court!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Great author

    Loved this book, love Allison Weir. Reads like fiction- it's so interesting. One of my favorites.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Want real facts of the Tudors? Start here.

    A must, if you're interested in the Tudor dynasty. Alison Weir makes non-fiction interesting, and read like fiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2008

    The Six Wives of Henry VIII

    Alison Weir's The Six Wives of Henry VIII is a highly reable account of the life and times of the six fasinating women who were married to one of England's most famous monarch's. While the account is very detailed it is puzziling that Weir left out some facts like after Katherine of Aragon's first miscarriage her stomach did not shrink and it was believed that she was carrying twins and the diasterious first meeting between Anne of Cleves and Henry VIII where the bride-to-be failed to recoginze the king who was in disguise souring the marriage before it started. But still highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    Absolutely Captivating

    I am usually an avid fiction reader and find non-fiction of this time period filled with dates and names that all sound the same. I have to admit that I could not put this book down. I was captivating and made you feel as though you were right there in the court of Henry VIII. Allison Weir writes from a non-biased point of view and presents the facts with poise and drama. It was fantastic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2008

    Wishes is was longer....

    I was actually sad to end this book. This is a long book, but it is written with such fluidity and historical insight that I found myself easily reading into the whee hours of the morning. However, I do think that women might enjoy this book more a bit more. I highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2000

    History comes alive!!!

    Weir was able to clear up misconceptions that I had, which I think are common among novice historians. This is an excellent book that is fair, not harping or condemning the wives. I think it was also fair to Henry VIII. You can love him and loathe him in the same breathe. If you want to learn about English history, this is an excellent angle to look at it from. It is well worth the time to read. I was engrossed in their lives and the history. I did very little skimming and that really says alot! Buy and keep as reference.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    WA a good read.

    Well written good and interesting account of a a point of history we all mention but know very little about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    Very informative and easy to read, it is a page turner! One of t

    Very informative and easy to read, it is a page turner! One of the best book I've read about Henry VIII and his six wives!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    I absolutely love this book! It is so engrossing, it was hard to

    I absolutely love this book! It is so engrossing, it was hard to put down. I have kept it in my personal collection to read again and again. It was not boring in a historical way, it was actually very interesting, with a different point of view.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    I loved this book. I am a details type of person and this book

    I loved this book. I am a details type of person and this book is packed with them. I appreciate the hard work it must have taken to write, but to read it was a joy. I thank Alison Weir and I'm on my way to reading about Elizabeth. I do hope there is as much detail in the next book as this one. If you like a quick, hurried pace, with not much indepth detail, you may want to read another book. If you enjoy behind the scenes facts, you'll love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    one of my favorite books concerning Henry the VIII and the crazy

    one of my favorite books concerning Henry the VIII and the crazy tales of his marriages and life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    Great non-fiction!

    I usually read science fiction, fantasy, and historical dramas. When I want to get away from my everyday reading, I usually pick up a biography or British history book. Weir is an excellent history author. She takes the time to not only present the facts of what happened, she weaves these events into an intriguing narrative. I was a little stand-offish at first because of the sheer length of the book, but once I became absorbed in the stories of Henry's wives I forgot about how long the book was. This is a great introduction to the lives of Henry VIII's queens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    fantastic history

    very enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Excellent

    This book is very readable and is, amazingly, good both for people who are new to the tudors and people who are already Tudor-buffs. Weir is my favorite non-fiction author and this is my favorite of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7