Customer Reviews for

Six Years

Average Rating 3.5
( 412 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(159)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

51 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

REVIEW THE BOOK, NOT B&N

I understand that some people don't like the amount B&N is charging for eBooks, but c'mon people... don't rate the book lower. Use the review feature for the purpose it was intended and review the book. So annoying!

posted by OCGIRL on March 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

A review is meant to give an opinion, not , I repeat, not give a

A review is meant to give an opinion, not , I repeat, not give a synopsis of the book, which in some cases go on and on. To the review, Harlan Coben should not try to write a love story, something is so off about this book, the main character runs around like a fool, I...
A review is meant to give an opinion, not , I repeat, not give a synopsis of the book, which in some cases go on and on. To the review, Harlan Coben should not try to write a love story, something is so off about this book, the main character runs around like a fool, I have read other Coben books, and , boy, this is nothing like the others. I'm only finishing it so see how much more ridiculous it gets. Don't waste your money, get it out of the library like I did.

posted by connie37 on March 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 412 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 21
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Not my favorite Coben book.

    Not my favorite Coben book.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    So disappointing!

    I don't think HC wrote this; I really don't. Everything about this book was amateurish. It was so dumb and implausible that I couldn't even laugh at it. I have enjoyed most of HC's books (I have read them all) but this one somehow felt "off". I think that John Hart is the "new" Harlan Coben.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book , I prefer Too Crazy To Live Too Beautiful to Die an

    Great book , I prefer Too Crazy To Live Too Beautiful to Die another amazing book
    This was a good read too though......

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Disappointing

    I love harlan coben's books, however this was too contrived and convoluted.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    I was wary of this book because of reviews I read on this site.

    I was wary of this book because of reviews I read on this site. I'm so glad I ignored what others had written! I thought this book was well-written and a great story! Loved the plot! Actually, the only bad reviews I read were on this site, all others were glowing!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Good plot - not the same old thing!

    When you finish the book you will realize that the story didn't reveal itself as you wOuld have expected.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    I normally love Harlan Coban books and was a little disappointed

    I normally love Harlan Coban books and was a little disappointed with this one. The beginning was very slow going and not very interesting. The book was about 250 pages the last 75 were very good.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    I often look forward to the one-shot works of those whose series

    I often look forward to the one-shot works of those whose series characters I have admired. Harlan Coben is a favorite albeit he must NEVER read his own audio books again. That said, this book was disappointing from the aspect that the main character is caught up in a Harlequin Romance scenario and the more times he speaks of this extreme passion he felt for his lost love, the closer to car sickness I was getting. I forgave Baldacci for his Light Tower excess of sentiment and strained credulity of the final scene, so give Mr. Coben a pass on this one. The plot is skewed, the main character's failure to present authorities with evidence he has even as he is under suspicion, and the final outcome of outwitting a vengeful mafia family by merely moving within the United States and then adopting exactly the occupations (his recovered love as well) that they would have been expected to assume, let me with a "huh?".
    In one of J.D. Salinger's books, one of his characters quotes R. H. Blyth to the effect of "We are being sentimental when we attach more tenderness to something than God would." Messrs. Coben and Baldacci should take note. But I still love you guys and Baldacci has already atoned.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Great story, keeps going and going and it has to, to blend the s

    Great story, keeps going and going and it has to, to blend the story together.  For those whining on nook fees, get Itunes, this is not the forum to here your complaining. Read.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Highly Recommended.

    An excellent suspense novel; very dramatic. Reads quickly. Depending upon your taste/druthers, a surprise ending.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Disappointing

    I have enjoyed many of Harlan Coben's previous books and had high expectations for this one. This was probably one of my least favorites. The entire story felt forced and the charactors unreslistic. I found myself just wanting the book to end, and the predictable eay in which it did only solidified that feeling. I think that Harlan Coben is a talented author and dont understand why he continues to release books such as this one that seems as though it was published merely for the purpose of releasing another novel.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Best from Coben

    A nice break from Myron Bolitar. I've read most of the Harlan Coben books and I thik "Six Years" is his best.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    Not one of H.C.s' best efforts. A plot that is at best improbabl

    Not one of H.C.s' best efforts. A plot that is at best improbable,a main character who is dense for a collage professor, the whole story seems to slide around.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    Coben, is one of my top five favorite authors. Couldn't unde

    Coben, is one of my top five favorite authors. Couldn't understand anyone ever giving him less than five stars. I couldn't sit back and enjoy this book. Coben, is a much better story teller than this.I debated reviewing this book. I have nothing positive to say about it. I'm giving this book two stars I feel i'm being extremely generous by doing so.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Not even close to his best

    Good twists but in the end made no sense and left too many loose ends. Only a good beach vacation read if nothing else to do.


    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Wonderful book

    This book kept my attention all the way to the end. Highly recommend it if you like intrigue.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Good book

    Excellent book, I could hardly put it down.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    My husband introduced me to Harlan Coben┬┐s work a couple of year

    My husband introduced me to Harlan Coben’s work a couple of years ago. He had to read Tell No One for one of his classes and, even though he hates reading, he enjoyed the book. I figured that if someone that hates reading liked his book than it must be worth reading. He was right. While my husband hasn’t read any of his other books, I have (see my book list on my blog for reviews).

    I love Coben’s writing. Once I get started on one of his books, I don’t want to put it down. I just want to devour it! Six Years is no exception. I found myself reading late into the night, struggling to keep my eyes open.

    There’s enough twists and turns to keep you guessing throughout the book without getting confusing. The story moves at a good pace. Nothing feels forced and there’s no lulls or boring parts. The ending of the book wraps the story up nicely, leaving me with no questions. I really couldn’t ask for a better mystery.

    I look forward to adding more of Coben’s work, both old and new, to my to-read list. If you haven’t checked out his work before, you should. You can even read the first six chapters of Six Years on his website. What do you have to lose?

    Check out my other reviews on my blog, KDH Reviews.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Great book!

    Fast paced, intense, with lots of twists and turns.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    **Disappointing

    First of Coben's books I've read. Tried it because of publicity and overleaf plot lead in. While well written, I found the characters shallow and tension about the outcome lacking. Not on the level of Lee Child, Nelson de Mille or Michael Connelly. Willing to try another, though.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 412 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 21