Customer Reviews for

The Sixes

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful and keeps you on the edge

The Sixes is a wonderful new Kate White thriller. She keeps you on the edge of your seat the entire time. As a female thriller writer, she knows what scares women the best - and let me tell you, I was FREAKED OUT when I was reading some of the scenes! Wonderful writi...
The Sixes is a wonderful new Kate White thriller. She keeps you on the edge of your seat the entire time. As a female thriller writer, she knows what scares women the best - and let me tell you, I was FREAKED OUT when I was reading some of the scenes! Wonderful writing and highly recommended. Can't wait for the next one

posted by klyn2000 on August 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Fast Read but could have been better

I have always enjoyed books that involve acadamia background in some way, however this story became more unbelievable as it continued. The story started off ok, but as it moved along the main character's situation seemed ridiculous. For me, the second half of the story ...
I have always enjoyed books that involve acadamia background in some way, however this story became more unbelievable as it continued. The story started off ok, but as it moved along the main character's situation seemed ridiculous. For me, the second half of the story fell apart and I was quickly losing interest. I finished it just because I paid for it honestly. There are better written books out there. It felt more like a teen read the further I got into it.

posted by 9621955 on October 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Fast Read but could have been better

    I have always enjoyed books that involve acadamia background in some way, however this story became more unbelievable as it continued. The story started off ok, but as it moved along the main character's situation seemed ridiculous. For me, the second half of the story fell apart and I was quickly losing interest. I finished it just because I paid for it honestly. There are better written books out there. It felt more like a teen read the further I got into it.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Wonderful and keeps you on the edge

    The Sixes is a wonderful new Kate White thriller. She keeps you on the edge of your seat the entire time. As a female thriller writer, she knows what scares women the best - and let me tell you, I was FREAKED OUT when I was reading some of the scenes! Wonderful writing and highly recommended. Can't wait for the next one

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    Amazing read

    This book was awesome. I literally didn't want to put it down. It kept me guessing and wondering the entire time. One minute I thought I knew who the culprit was, then the next minute...thought it could be someone else. The writing was so great. Wonderful book. Really! Mystery thriller with a little bit of a sexy twist. LOVE IT!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Generic thriller

    Formulaic and predictable with no likeable characters.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    KATE WHITE

    I love the books written by Kate White! I can't wait for the next "Bailey Wiggens" book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    FANTASTIC READ!!

    Kate white does it again...great great book...a true thriller, kept me on the edge on my seat the whole time!! would highly recommend !!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend

    I really rnjoyed this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    One you can't put down!

    Loved reading every minute of this. Full of mystery and suspense. It just keeps you guessing until the very end.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    good thriller

    I liked the story but some parts were a little jumpy from time to time. I went back to see if I missed somthing and than forward and it went back to what I thought I missed.
    Phoebe was celebrating her a new book being on New York best seller 6 weeks. Thought everything was going well and then the bottom droped. Her guy dumped her. She was accused of using another writers work. Turns out a researcher for her put papers in wrong folder and she did not catch it. Media was all over her. They were holding off from publishing paperback book. her blog was dropped.
    A friend who now was President of a small college Lyle she needed someone to teach writing classes. She could get away from all the media.
    A female student went missing Lily. Phoebe realized that she had a conversation that looking back might be important. About mistakes she made and how she wanted to start over.
    Phoebe friend asked her to look into Lily disappearance to see if thier was a secret group of girls called the six. If they did exist what was purpose and were they harrassing other students. Because of Phoebe past and how she gets people to tell her things.
    Lily turns up drown in the river and a year earlier her boyfriend went missing.
    Someone starts breaking into Phoebe house and causing her problems like dead Rats in freezer. Trying to scare her off. Even when she changed the locks they kept getting in.
    Someone thinks thier is a serial murder around drowning students. Thier is drug use on campus, The more Phoebe asks questions the more problems are found at college.
    The story was good but thier were a lot of different story lines about bad stuff at college. As a mother of two girls in college did not like that. But I know its all out thier. It kept my attention. Would read more books written By Kate White. Was given ebook in exchange for honest review.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Great Read

    Great bombshell twist at the end! Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Excellent!

    Very well written. I didn't want to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Definitely Recommend!

    The Sixes caught me by surprise. I was not familiar with this author and did not expect much - but it did sound interesting and had good reviews. As it turned out, it was a very good read. It kept my interest throughout and had me guessing who the killer was early on. Lots of twists and turns and a few surprises. This is one of those books that make you hope the author has written many more that are just as good. I will definitely read more of her work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2013

    When we first meet Phoebe Hall, her life is in a downward spiral

    When we first meet Phoebe Hall, her life is in a downward spiral. Her boyfriend has ended their relationship abruptly and she is faced with every writer’s nightmare when she is accused of plagiarism. I immediately felt bad for her and, like Phoebe, thought a change of scenery would be a good thing. One of her oldest friends who she went to boarding school with offers her a great opportunity to teach a writing class at Lyle College, far from Manhattan and the bad press and unwanted publicity. 




    Initially, the move appears to have been a good decision. Phoebe is settling in well and is enjoying the small and quiet community that surrounds the college. She even has a romantic interest on the horizon with a fellow teaching colleague, but Phoebe is reluctant to begin any relationships. Suddenly, Phoebe’s peace and solitude are ripped to shreds when the body of a young coed who had gone missing is found in the river. Several clues point to a secret club on campus, only known as The Sixes. Phoebe’s friend, Glenda, enlists her help in finding out more. The more Phoebe digs, the closer she comes to a killer as well as reliving some horrible experiences she, herself, suffered while attending boarding school. 




    First of all, I enjoyed the story and the concept of a secret society with an intricate agenda recruiting coeds on campus. It gives the plot a very mysterious and sinister tone. Kate White does a good job of leading the reader through several scenes that allude to The Sixes being involved in the murders and then without warning, I started to suspect others. This story is full of suspicious characters that are all capable of heinous acts. I had a hard time deciding who was trustworthy. 




    The story goes from mysterious and sinister to downright chilling when Phoebe’s home is broken into and based on the items left behind, she appears to be the victim of bullying. She isn’t a stranger to this kind of treatment as she endured horrific treatment by bullies when she was at boarding school. It takes most of the story to learn the full extent of the bullying she endured. I would have preferred to have it revealed sooner because I just couldn’t understand why she was placing herself in danger. Once I learned what she went through, I understood that Phoebe wants to make sure nobody is ever bullied again. Unfortunately, the choices and decisions she makes while looking into the disappearance and murder lead to more murders and more danger to Phoebe. She has several close calls herself and is physically injured repeatedly because of those choices and decisions. I thought she was taking too many risks and just can’t understand why does the hero/heroine always realize who the killer is only after they are alone with them? It would have been better for my blood pressure if this revelation would have been made while Phoebe is sitting on the couch, eating ice cream and watching television. 




    In spite of Phoebe’s tenacious pursuit for the truth, I really liked her and admired her ability to rise above a painful past and move forward in times of adversity. The story is a standalone read and doesn’t leave any loose ends, but I wouldn’t be surprised if Phoebe makes another appearance in a book down the road.




    My Final Verdict: Overall, this was a good story that should appeal to readers who like their romance mixed with suspense and mystery. I would have liked it better if Phoebe hadn’t taken so many foolish risks, but I applaud her diligence in seeking out the truth and fighting for the underdog.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    ****

    If you enjoy mysteries, this is the one.
    Highly recommended.
    A must read.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    Check out my full review at Kritters Ramblings A wonderful who

    Check out my full review at Kritters Ramblings

    A wonderful who dun it with a strong female characters at the lead. Phoebe Hall has moved to small town PA to help cover a teaching position as her best friend is the college president. Glenda is the college president and with all the drama that is going on on campus, she is fearful for her job and her safety. These two women along with the police are trying to find the connection between some recent drownings right off campus and a secret underground society made up solely of college women.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    another great book by kate white!

    another great book by kate white!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    LOVED this book!!!

    What a page-turner this was! I couldn't put it down! Neat twist too:)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable

    After being accused of plagiarism and subsequently dumped by her long time lover, Phoebe Hall leaves Manhattan to go to the sleepy town of Lyle, Pennsylvania. Her best friend Glenda Johns heads the private college and hired Phoebe to teach a couple of classes.

    The campus is in an uproar when the body of student Lily Marks is recovered from a nearby river. Several months ago the deceased's boyfriend disappeared and was never heard from since. Wesley, a student at the school, was at a bar; the next thing he knew he was swimming for his life. Glenda tries to control negative publicity, but asks Phoebe to look into the rumors of a deadly secret society called the Sixes. Something Lily said to her before she died makes Phoebe believe the late student belonged to the Sixes. She also believes the group targets her by breaking into her home and leaving behind six spoons on the table and another time putting blood in her the dishwasher while she sleeps; blood and soap pours out of the appliance. They top that mischief with six dead rats in her freezer. Refusing to be a victim or a runaway, Phoebe investigates who killed the students and the college security chief.

    Putting aside the premise that Lily would her life to help her best friend when at least one homicide occurred rather than hiring a professional, this amateur sleuth tale contains two equal suspenseful subplots: the students' murders and finding out if the Sixes exist and if so who the members are. The people at the college she speaks to may be part of the Sixes so Phoebe risks her life to uncover the truth as some of those refusing to talk may be lethal while others afraid. Kate White provides a chilling disturbing thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it.  It was also

    I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it.  It was also a great 'buy' as normally the Nook books are fairly expensive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    I'm sorry, this is realy bad...deep six it.

    I'm sorry, this is realy bad...deep six it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3