Customer Reviews for

The Sixes

Average Rating 4
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful and keeps you on the edge

The Sixes is a wonderful new Kate White thriller. She keeps you on the edge of your seat the entire time. As a female thriller writer, she knows what scares women the best - and let me tell you, I was FREAKED OUT when I was reading some of the scenes! Wonderful writi...
The Sixes is a wonderful new Kate White thriller. She keeps you on the edge of your seat the entire time. As a female thriller writer, she knows what scares women the best - and let me tell you, I was FREAKED OUT when I was reading some of the scenes! Wonderful writing and highly recommended. Can't wait for the next one

posted by klyn2000 on August 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Fast Read but could have been better

I have always enjoyed books that involve acadamia background in some way, however this story became more unbelievable as it continued. The story started off ok, but as it moved along the main character's situation seemed ridiculous. For me, the second half of the story ...
I have always enjoyed books that involve acadamia background in some way, however this story became more unbelievable as it continued. The story started off ok, but as it moved along the main character's situation seemed ridiculous. For me, the second half of the story fell apart and I was quickly losing interest. I finished it just because I paid for it honestly. There are better written books out there. It felt more like a teen read the further I got into it.

posted by 9621955 on October 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2014

    The woods

    Good for hunting. We will have skirmishes everyday. You can also practice here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it.  It was also

    I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it.  It was also a great 'buy' as normally the Nook books are fairly expensive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    I'm sorry, this is realy bad...deep six it.

    I'm sorry, this is realy bad...deep six it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Could not get into this story

    I like a lot if suspense and intrigue but this novel did not provide mr with that. Slow moving .. i couldnt get past the first 150 pages. 343 pages FYI....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Great!

    A really good read. I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    Love it

    Kate white never fails to surprise me :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Easy read and very suspenseful! I will recommend this to all of

    Easy read and very suspenseful! I will recommend this to all of my friends. I am looking forward to reading more novels from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Great Read

    If you enjoy the author's Bailey mystery series, you will enjoy this. As a writer she includes environmental details while continuing to flush out characters. However, while Bailey sometimes dates questionnable men and overlooks their flaws, this heroine does not. It was well done and I look forward to reading more with this character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Great story

    This was by first book by her and it was fantastic. I will be reading more by her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Engaging story so far, but please think about finding a better editor

    Good Lord, Kate. You are a professional. The repeated use of "super well" is like nails on a chalk board. I am less than a quarter of the way through this book and three different adult and purportedly highly educated characters have used this childish expression. Who edited this novel for you? Consider finding someone new!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    I enjoyed this book and Kate White's other thriller, Hush. I wi

    I enjoyed this book and Kate White's other thriller, Hush. I will look for more of her books in the future! I had several possibilities in mind for the killer and I was not disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Gripping Read

    Gaining power at the expense of others, an age-old problem, is alive and thriving at Lyle College among students and college personnel.

    Phoebe Hall, a visiting professor, is drawn into clandestine, ominous undercurrents as she gathers information about The Sixes to help her friend Glenda Johns, president at Lyle College. Glenda had offered Phoebe a "hidey-hole" to escape her life in New York that was in shambles, so Phoebe agrees to look into a secret society that will bring back memories best forgotten.

    Phoebe, a best-seller author, loves research but soon finds her "Sherlocking" has swept her into a dangerous spot. She hates the fear that comes to the fore because of her own experiences when she was in college and was one of the "others". As she uncovers and endures some of the despicable deeds of THE SIXES, a secret girls' group on campus, the memory of horrific things that happened to her refuse to stay buried,

    The Sixes are "girl power gone wild", "like wolves". Their use and misuse of susceptible girls and "dorky, nerdy" boys leads to destroyed futures and even death.

    Kate White, with her mesmerizing fictional story, reveals a troubling side of humanity that plagues modern society while showing how Phoebe rises like a Phoenix from the ashes of her professional and personal life to become a wiser and freer person. Phoebe's libido, that she thought had "left the building" for good, reawakens when the handsome, mysterious Professor Duncan Shaw slips into her life.

    The secondary characters with all their intrigues, secrets, hang-ups, and foibles keep Phoebe stirred-up and on the brink of hysteria much of the time, not to mention in danger of losing her life. Glenda offers the best support she can, but her husband Mark Johns, who moves with subterfuge and under radar most of the time, manages to let Phoebe know he is not happy about her being at Lyle.

    Other characters like the pompous, arrogant Tom Stockton, dean of students; Val Porter, professor of women's studies; Craig Ball, the campus security chief; the ex-chief Hutch Hutchison, take Phoebe deeper and deeper into the murky waters of life at Lyle College.

    Students and former students are snags unseen on the surface but lethal in their ability to snare the unsuspecting. Blair Usher, her roommate Gwen, and Jen Imbibio, along with former students Wesley Hines, Trevor Harris, and Alexis play big roles in the unraveling of the secrets at Lyle.

    This novel ripples with ominous undercurrents (full of red herrings) keeping the reader turning pages to find out just who the bad guys and the good guys really are.

    Ms White uses symbolism, incredible metaphors, and a fast-paced style, bringing to life the setting and revealing the deepest emotions of the characters. She does a masterful job of weaving together a multitude of characters with personal agendas that drive them to do extreme things as they strive to reach their goals. The psychopathic and sociopathic actions of some create scary, adrenaline-pumping episodes. However, the steadfastness of true friendships and the sweet, subtle emergence of patient love that survives all the dark deeds make The Sixes sparkle with hope for the future.

    Originally posted at the Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4