Customer Reviews for

Sixteen Brides

Average Rating 4
( 268 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommend

I enjoyed reading this, could not put it down. Great plot , drama, excitement, romance. All a reader could ask for .

posted by Arlady on August 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Sixteen brides (maybe only six after all)

This is a story about several widows who are offered a chance to have their own land and home in the west - but they are deceived. They were the promised brides and dance partners for some farmers and ranchers in the town of Coyote. However, they discover the truth and ...
This is a story about several widows who are offered a chance to have their own land and home in the west - but they are deceived. They were the promised brides and dance partners for some farmers and ranchers in the town of Coyote. However, they discover the truth and share it with the others; most went on to their final destination, but six decide to stay at Plum Grove, a little town where they are welcome and which has lots of potential to grow. There, after deciding they can trust each other and being their only companions, they make up their minds to begin their homestead together; after all, they all have pasts to forget and have found in each other the best company and friendship they need for their new beginning, despite being from very different backgrounds. With the help of wonderful and caring neighbors, they begin their homestead. Building their home, a vegetable garden, a fruit cellar, a spring house, and even some cattle are now dreams that little by little take shape and make the estate that is to be called the "Four Corners" become a buoyant and cherished one by the end of the book. Of course, there are also the personal stories, and there is love and romance involved.

The beginning of the book was very complicated, and I must say even boring at times; I feel that the author tried to do a lot with setting so many stories and it gets confusing - it discouraged me to go on reading, instead of interesting me in the lives of the characters. Although the story gets better, and the idea of the book is a good one (the author says it all began when she saw some 1872 news advertising the arrival of sixteen brides, 'the best lot" they have ever got), the end turns to be disappointing and comes too quick, even abruptly. Most of it is highly predictable and, instead of knowing what is to happen with all the women, there are some that take precedent over others, which is contrary to one of the assets of the story - the fact that all of the women are equal and that their true value is in their heart, not on the riches nor looks. Another thing that I really liked of this book is that feeling of community life, where the neighbors are willing to help and care for each other freely and without asking for things back.

Overall, I would not recommend this book. I must say though, that if you like westerns and easy reads, this might be a good choice for you. Just get past the first chapters into the trials these women have to face to go on with their lives.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers for review. This does not bias my opinion on the book nor on the author.

posted by Yiya on June 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 269 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted June 11, 2010

    Sixteen brides (maybe only six after all)

    This is a story about several widows who are offered a chance to have their own land and home in the west - but they are deceived. They were the promised brides and dance partners for some farmers and ranchers in the town of Coyote. However, they discover the truth and share it with the others; most went on to their final destination, but six decide to stay at Plum Grove, a little town where they are welcome and which has lots of potential to grow. There, after deciding they can trust each other and being their only companions, they make up their minds to begin their homestead together; after all, they all have pasts to forget and have found in each other the best company and friendship they need for their new beginning, despite being from very different backgrounds. With the help of wonderful and caring neighbors, they begin their homestead. Building their home, a vegetable garden, a fruit cellar, a spring house, and even some cattle are now dreams that little by little take shape and make the estate that is to be called the "Four Corners" become a buoyant and cherished one by the end of the book. Of course, there are also the personal stories, and there is love and romance involved.

    The beginning of the book was very complicated, and I must say even boring at times; I feel that the author tried to do a lot with setting so many stories and it gets confusing - it discouraged me to go on reading, instead of interesting me in the lives of the characters. Although the story gets better, and the idea of the book is a good one (the author says it all began when she saw some 1872 news advertising the arrival of sixteen brides, 'the best lot" they have ever got), the end turns to be disappointing and comes too quick, even abruptly. Most of it is highly predictable and, instead of knowing what is to happen with all the women, there are some that take precedent over others, which is contrary to one of the assets of the story - the fact that all of the women are equal and that their true value is in their heart, not on the riches nor looks. Another thing that I really liked of this book is that feeling of community life, where the neighbors are willing to help and care for each other freely and without asking for things back.

    Overall, I would not recommend this book. I must say though, that if you like westerns and easy reads, this might be a good choice for you. Just get past the first chapters into the trials these women have to face to go on with their lives.

    I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers for review. This does not bias my opinion on the book nor on the author.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    I enjoyed reading this, could not put it down. Great plot , drama, excitement, romance. All a reader could ask for .

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    A Must Read!

    Sixteen Brides will put a smile on your face, warm your heart and make you want to get your gun (don't have one) and shoot someone in the behind! You will be amazed how eight of the women come to make a homestead in a little Western town. The community is a community everyone wishes they had the support around them. For a good feeling and adventerous book, you must read Sixteen Brides!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Great read!!!

    I could not put this down! Great story line, lived it! A must read!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Great story about women!

    I loved each heroine of this book & I loved how each of them didn't have to seek out a man to be strong. Each woman grew in their relationships with each other, with God & as a result of their struggles. I could not put it down & finished it in a day!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2014

    I really enjoyed reading the book Sixteen Brides. At first I was

    I really enjoyed reading the book Sixteen Brides. At first I was not sure if this was going to be book one or all where in this book. After the story gets going I really liked it. Mail order brides are becoming popular books now and I would recommend adding this one to the list. I will have to check out other books by Stephanie Grace Whitson. All though the title says sixteen there are I think six that take place in this book so maybe the next book will carry more weddings. Hope you like it as well as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    I recommend this book highly!!

    Loved the book. Kept me wanting to keep reading till I was finished!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    SIXTEEN BRIDES A WONDERFUL SURPRISE READ

    BEAUTIFULLY WRITTEN . I ENJOYED THIS BOOK TREMENDOUSLY AND WOULD RECOMMEND IT HIGHLY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2014

    I liked that the story told a bit about the women but it was mor

    I liked that the story told a bit about the women but it was more like six women not sixteen.  I enjoyed what little that was shared of the each women.  However I had trouble keeping track of who was speaking at what times.  It tended to get confusing after awhile.  I also did not like that the story set up to where all the women were going to get married or else just cut them off with out any explanation of their future.  I felt the ending was rushed and was slapped together to end it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    REALLY GREAT READ

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It had a lot of characters to keep up with but it sure never got dull. I will watch for a second in this series. This author has my vote.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Enjoyed the book.

    I did enjoy the book but was a little hard to keep track of all the characters for awhile. I liked the history of Nebraska involved in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Great book

    This was a good book. Fun to read. Great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Fun book to read

    I enjoyed the characters, the excitement and the easy read. the story was very good and kept me coming back to sit and read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This inspirational mail order bride book has it all.  I find mys

    This inspirational mail order bride book has it all.  I find myself recommending it all the time.  What kept this book from being a five star is
    that because of the multiple story lines, I wanted a little more at the end with each pair, plus an epilogue.

    If you like these themes, this book has them! Spoilers below!

     above-30-heroine, abuse-sexual-or-physical, adorable-heroine, american-h-or-hero, big beautiful woman, best friends, big-and-tall-hero,
     children, class-difference, disfigured-disabled-leads, food, frontier, funny, healer-doctor-nurse, historical-romance, homesteading,
    intellectual-hero, kick-ass-heroine, kisses, mail-order-bride, multi-storied, Nebraska, non-virgin-heroine, older-heroine-younger-hero,
    preggers,  relgious, secondary-love-story, shy-heroine, soddie, southern-belle, tortured-hero, unsual-career-woman, western, widow,
    widower, working-class-heroine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2013

    A good, light read. Kind of predictable. I was hoping the women

    A good, light read. Kind of predictable. I was hoping the women would make more of a go of it themselves instead of having so much "male" help. I loved how the author conveyed the neighborliness and how everyone in the town would help out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Recommend-a good read

    I really enjoyed this book. The ladies were described so visually and being very independent for the era. This story provided inspiration and showed how a group of strong women can accomplish what they set out to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    It is a book about women and how they coped. It was okay.

    This book was not what I thought it would be, however, I did get through it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Worth the price!

    Best book. I love a little romance in it. Stephiane Grace Whitson is a amazing writer ive read like 20 or more of her books. Been pleased with every single one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    predictable

    Even though it was predictable, I still gave this 4 stars. The writting was good, the settings descriptive, the characters were interesting.
    It ends upruptly, I saw all the things coming that happened at the end. And then what? What happens to the homestead in the long run? The ending was not resolved enough for me, left me feeling like I was left hanging. A book two might take care of this, if one is in the works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Hope on

    I have to say that this book started off rather slow and uniteresting. But turned into.such a heart felt and meaningful book. Would read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 269 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14