BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Sixth Man (Sean King and Michelle Maxwell Series #5)

Average Rating 3.5
( 758 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(296)

4 Star

(184)

3 Star

(121)

2 Star

(71)

1 Star

(86)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

Great book, once again Baldacci does a great read

why is the hardcover cheaper than the nook version? Please someone answerthis question. I love reading with the nook, but I love collecting books as well. Think i will sell the nook and buy books again with what I can get for it.

posted by pafty on April 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

45 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

Don't recommend

I've read every book Baldacci has written up to this point, but $14.99 for an ebook is rediculous. It cost more than the list price of the hardcover on this very site. There are plenty of authors out there not gouging readers.

posted by 7025282 on April 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 765 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 39
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    Don't recommend

    I've read every book Baldacci has written up to this point, but $14.99 for an ebook is rediculous. It cost more than the list price of the hardcover on this very site. There are plenty of authors out there not gouging readers.

    45 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    Great book, once again Baldacci does a great read

    why is the hardcover cheaper than the nook version? Please someone answerthis question. I love reading with the nook, but I love collecting books as well. Think i will sell the nook and buy books again with what I can get for it.

    38 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The latest King-Maxwell investigative thriller is a terrific action-packed tale

    Former Secret service Agent Sean King believes he owes his former mentor lawyer Ted Bergin big time. So Sean feels good when his friend hires him and his partner Michele Maxwell to help in the defense of alleged serial killer Edgar Roy.

    Edgar is being held in an isolated supermax psychiatric facility where the most dangerous criminal psychopaths are incarcerated. He was caught in his barn and soon after authorities found the remains of six bodies he was digging a grave for. A genius who worked for the IRS, Edgar left his job to work somewhere else. Sean and Michele drive to meet Ted when they see flashing hazard lights on an isolated road. They stop to see if the driver needs help only to find inside Ted who is dead. Determined to avenge his friend's murder, Sean and Michele dig deep into the Edgar case, but the more they uncover, the more they learn that the inmate has incredibly powerful enemies at the top levels of government who want him dead without a trial. As people associated with Edgar are murdered and attempts on the two sleuths increase, several groups have plans for Edgar.

    The latest King-Maxwell investigative thriller (see Split Second and First Family) is a terrific action-packed tale that explodes on the first page and intensifies to such a degree that the armchair reader will believes our lives are in peril too. While the relationship between the lead sleuths is tested, fans will wonder if this could be figuratively be the end as partners. In spite of a conspiracy seemingly over the top of the Washington Monument, David Baldacci shows his talent by convincing the audience that this thriller is true crime.

    Harriet Klausner

    25 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    Baldacci is always a good read.

    I will never again be trapped into paying 14.99 for a book on Nook, when with normal discounts and a B&N card to can actually pay a lower price. Welcome to Barnes and Noble the rip-off store!!!

    24 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    call customer service

    PLEASE stop using reviews for complaining call or email bn customer service

    21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    BALDACCI BLOCKBUSTER MAY HAVE SOME COMPANY WITH THE PARAGON CONNECTION BY FINZ

    Ranks at the top as a mystery thriller in which the team of Sean King and Michelle Maxwell once again find themselves in the thick of assorted murders, an accused they are dedicated to defend through their investigative skills, and a D.C. conspiracy comprised of evil people, all with huge power who conduct their insidious acts from hidden political perches. Having been a Baldacci affectionado beginning with his kick-off blockbuster "Absolute Power", to the present "Sixth Man", he has earned the top rank he enjoys with each of his entries. But ten or more Baldacci novels later, I can almost predict the action and writing-which indeed is first rate- and so I'm ready to move on to another talent. He's a new writer with a second book. This one is, "The Paragon Connection", by Leonard Finz. It too falls within the political mystery genre offering up an extraordinary story that speeds aloft like a missile, and with shocks and surprises along its treacherous path. In my view, Baldacci is one of the the best around, but I may have just discovered another great one.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Reviews

    Reviews are supposed to be about the BOOK content not the price. Those bad reviews for price skew the overall rating of the actual book!!!

    15 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    Too much

    Why should I pay more for an Ebook than a hard cover....not a good way to earn customer loyalty.

    14 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    Best David Baldacci Book Ever!

    And I've read them all! This one kept me on the edge of my seat and I literally couldn't put my nook down. Just when you think you have the plot and the characters figured out a new wrinkle is thrown in.

    I literally couldn't put my Nook down. Which leads me to another thought. I am tired of people grousing on these reviews about the price of an ebook! I think what Barnes and Noble needs to do is get a forum moderator to delete these worthless, meaningless reviews so those of us looking for some insight into the book itself can get some valuable information not worthless rants.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    ??

    why is this book so expensive? nook is great but books are simply too expensive.

    10 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    This book was really well written. I found it really hard to put down.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    Love David Baldacci...

    I've read everyone of his books, but I will not get this one. WHY IS IT SO EXPENSIVE??? I bought my nook thinking of the huge saving I would have by not buying paper. Was I wrong! I think I will sell my nook and dust of my library card. Sorry B&N you've lost a loyal customer. I am giving this book one star only because I have too.

    6 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sixth Man

    It is so offensive to see the review process abused by people who do not like e-book pricing. Write to management if that is the case, do not abuse this space for people who actually read the book. I enjoyed The Sixth man even if the writing was sometimes clunky and even if I had to ignore some pretty impossible scenarios. Baldacci can tell a tale.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    Great, as are all his books

    Just read the sixth man. Great book, and cheap!! Got it at BJ's. B&N is not getting any more high prices from me. I'm back to the discount stores until they realize we're not stupid. When the Nook book costs more than a hard copy book, someone is being greedy.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    Too Expensive

    why the high price? I agree with others that this price should be reduced. I bought my Nook because it used larger print and as I age, I am finding the nook gives me the ability to read books that I could not read in regular print. However, I, too, will wait until the price drops. I love Baldacci's writing and definitely will read it , but not at this price.

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    Why so much?

    Now we have a Nook, and you put out the hook so we can get took. It'$ more than I want to pay for an ebook novel.

    5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    Why so much?

    Why do you charge so much for e books? Lots of posts asking this question but no answers! I will buy it at Costco and donate to the library when done!

    5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Lower the price

    REALLY ? Lower your price B&N for ebooks

    5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    ?

    I have not read this like some of the other reviewers. I am a Baldacci fan, the Camel Club series being my favorite. Please tell all of your e-book readers why we cannot apply our membership cards and special offers to our e-books. This is making me think that I do not want to renew my membership with B&N. Please advise why we are separated from the hard book users.
    Thanks,
    Judy Margolis

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    The High Price Does Not Make Sense

    The truth is that price does matter! This may be the best book David Baldacci has written, but "Nook" people will never know because the price is so high. I'm still waiting for the supposed upgrade to make the Nook Color more of a tablet. Wonder if it will ever happen? Kinda wish I had bought a Kindle for $139.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 765 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 39