Customer Reviews for

The Sixth Surrender

Average Rating 4
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable First Effort!

    This book kept me up reading later than I should have for several nights. I thoroughly enjoyed this read and, as a first effort, I think there must be more good reads to come from this author. There were some aspects of the romances that made me think "maybe not!". I think that the author stretched to hold some of the plot and romance together but that did not stop my enjoyment. I am a fanatic about historical fiction - but I always remember that it is, in fact, fiction - not non-fiction - and so I allow some slack on that account. I can really recommend this book. If you are a picky historical history reader you may find elements that don't suit you - but make no mistake that Ms. Norton has done a a lot of research and presents her book with a tremendous amount of historical fact - you can easily imagine yourself as part of the book as you read it. I thoroughly enjoyed this read and recommend it to fans of historical fiction set in the early 13th century. What exactly is the sixth surrender? You can find the answer to that question. Read no further if you don't want to read a spoiler... "...siege,storm,surprise, subterfuge, suborning...they say are the means of gaining a well guarded secret...there is s sixth one...do you know what that is, my lady?... surrender..."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    If you enjoyed books by Dorothy Dunnett, I expect you'll enjoy reading this. I like books that are worth rereading and this fits the bill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    Highly recommended

    I love medieval novels and this is one of the best! Hana Samek Norton's research is so meticulous and detailed that one would think she is time traveler. You will not be prepared for how the plots evolves and shifts onto new plains and the characters are never who you think they are. Trying to predict the next paragraph was impossible, let alone the next plot. You will both love and hate the characters, but you will never forget them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    I enjoy historical fiction, but admit that I'm not well rounded in it. I have a tendency to stick to British historical fiction because of my heritage. This one sounded interesting because it contains some familiar English figures, but it's set in France.

    I do admit I had to constantly remind myself this was more to do with the French, especially since it has King John, and some of the book is set in England. I was very unfamiliar with many of the names of the characters and locations. I also wasn't sure how many of the characters were fictional and how many might have actually existed. Despite all this, I found that I really enjoyed the novel.

    Juliana was an interesting character. There were times I couldn't quite tell if she was really naive or smarter than the times she lived in. She had a lot to deal with. She's a pawn in a bigger picture that even we can't see until the very end. But, she also tries her hardest not to be the pawn. She creates a life for herself, despite the efforts of her husband to keep her isolated.

    Lasalle, I'm not even sure were to begin with him. For most of the book I despised him. I couldn't imagine a situation that he could come out in a better light. But, the story has such a twisted plot and it's never told from his point of view. In the end, I was stunned at what he was really trying to do all along. Nothing, and I mean NOTHING, is as it appears at first.

    I really had no expectations when I started this book. I knew that quite a few people who enjoy historical fictions really seemed to like this one. But, I didn't want to get my hopes up. In the end, I had a delightful novel that I seemed to breeze through. And anyone who reads detailed and rich historical fiction might know this is hard to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    Riveting, Breathtaking Era and Characters!

    As a book reviewer, I read LOTS of genres by many, many different authors, so when I signed up to read The Sixth Surrender, to me it was excitement because I don't review books like this one, much. I am pleased to say that this novel met my tastes and it did not disappoint!

    I was instantly taken with this novel, both with the beautifully created characters and with the writing style of Hana Samek Norton. I was confused a bit during the first few chapters because of the terminology used from that time period of 1200, but, I pushed myself past all that, and WOW! It really packed an intense punch for me. after that. I was totally one of the many people of the story. It came alive to me, as I walked about the medieval streets with Juliana, LaSalle, and the queen Duchess. That feeling was simply breathtaking.

    Juliana was my favorite character. She was so real to me, like a sister, or a close, close friend. So much so, that I felt all of what she endured, from pain and heartache to love and passion. She was a brave woman in my eyes.

    LaSalle, on the other hand, hmmmm....I was mad at him more often than not! He was certainly not my first choice as a husband for poor Juliana. But, the story would not be the same without his daring character and by the end of this incredible historical novel, I am happy that his truth finally came forth.

    There is, however, one downside to this amazing book. There is some language and mild, mild talk of passionate moments(definitely not OVERLY detailed like some books published now a days). But, know this was not of the Christian variety, I was able to go into the story with an open heart, and overlooked it.

    This book is fictional, yes. But, the power and vivid detail that Norton uses, and the research put forth for this novel, feels like a true story and is worthy of 5 stars. I definitely recommend this book and I can't wait for another book like from this fantastic author-perhaps a sequel???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    13th century era

    The aging queen-duchess Aliénor of Aquitaine works to protect the kingdom of her last surviving son, John Plantagenet, uses her subjects as a chess game in the power struggle of her daily life. Juliana is a want-to-be nun who chooses marriage and her home of Tillieres in place of becoming a nun. She will do almost anything in order to save her home or will she? The queen-duchess, Alienor, gives Juliana's hand in marriage to Guerin de Lasalle, a man with lost of secrets. The queen wanted the marriage so that she could have an heir to stay in France. King John and King Phillip of France are always fighting about something.

    This book is a historical story back in the 13th century and the author did very good on her research of this era.

    After reading the Sixth Surrender, I found myself a bit confused about the book. There were parts I enjoyed and parts that were a very hard for me understand.


    This book was sent to me for review by Pump Up Your Books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    unlikable characters and complicated plot

    After reading about 100 pages I decided not to finish this novel. I didn't care for the characters, especially the male protagonist (crude, selfish, lacking morals, promiscuous.) I also had a hard time following the political intrigue-unless you know early 13th century Medieval well (I am only familiar with it) you can become lost when the author throws in too many plots. In addition, in so far as I got, there are explicit sex scenes and profanity (taking God's name in vain and vulgar words). Too bad, because the writing is good and so is the book cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1