Customer Reviews for

Sixty Acres and a Bride (Ladies of Caldwell County Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Fun Read

    I love reading stories about life and love in the 1800's. This one was very good in my opinion and worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Good Read

    Well written; loved the charachters, I look forward to reading the rest of this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Sixty Acres

    A good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Great book

    Enjoyable characters and a very good depiction of Ruth & Boaz. This was a fun story. I enjoyed it and would read something else from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    Let me begin by saying that I considered giving this a 5-star ra

    Let me begin by saying that I considered giving this a 5-star rating, but I determined that 4 stars was best. Not because it is bad but because of some minor issues I will discuss later on.

    I absolutely adored the allusions to the story of Ruth and Boaz in the Bible! Since I am named after Ruth of the Bible, I always perk up when there are any allusions to her. And I recognized it from the beginning. I also liked the fact that there were enough differences that the story was not completely predictable.

    I also adored Rosa. It was nice to see a heroine that was not blonde, white, and meek. I loved the fact that she was a Mexican who had converted to Christianity. She and Weston made the romance in the story quite interesting, and the suspense almost took you to the last page!

    My only criticisms concern the fact that I was not always certain about the backgrounds of the characters. I think the author told their stories in an original way, but sometimes I didn't "get" it. Thankfully the Christian message was fairly strong, but there were times I would have preferred it just a little bit stronger. But that is just my opinion.

    If you are a fan of historical Christian fiction with a sweet love story, this book is for you. I would actually give this a 4.5 rating if I could. It is a nice, light read, and I think there is something for everyone.

    I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated in any way, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Great read

    Great read. Hated for the book to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    To me, there is just always something fun, intriguing and downri

    To me, there is just always something fun, intriguing and downright captivating about a good “fish out of water story.” You know those stories I mean, where the main character is taken completely out of their element, where they really don’t know which end is up and so inevitably they do things that are wrong and often times embarrassing. And they usually do them, never in a small way, but with pure unadulterated gusto bringing the audience/reader to that place where you laugh out loud at the character’s mistakes as you can relate because you have been there yourself. Spunky Rosa, the main character in Sixty Acres and a Bride, by Regina Jennings delivers these moments in spades.

    It was with a little bit of trepidation I must admit that I began this novel as I thought- here we go – an updated Ruth/Naomi story set in Texas in 1878, I wonder how this will fly? But trust me, this first offering by Regina Jennings does fly, in fact I might say it soars. I really, really, enjoyed the character of Rosa, a beautiful Mexican widow returning to Texas with her mother- in- law Louise Garner to save the family farm so to speak. Of course, this is Rosa’s first time in Texas and so poor Rosa doesn’t know how to dress, how and when to speak, or how to impress this small town’s people as she is the object of much gossip and naysayers because of her outsider’s ways. But she is smart, beautiful and a very hard worker and thus captures the essence of “Ruth” perfectly, but in a fun and new way. Then there’s Weston Garner, her now dead husband’s cousin, who is attractive, well off, and a widower himself with a story to tell. He is of course cast as the Boaz character to the story, the kinsman redeemer. But it seems to me as the story progresses that they seem to rescue each other. I felt that both character’s were written well as their attraction built, but both coming to the table with a little bit of relationship baggage that needed to be dealt with before the relationship could fully develop. The story is rounded out with a really good villain in a neighbor named Mr. Tillerton who is easy to despise. He brings that sense of tension and suspense to the story as every good story needs a really good bad guy!

    Through many dangers, toils and snares, goodness and love do finally prevail in this really fun story by Regina Jennings and for those that are fans of a good Christian historical fiction books, I think you will find this a delightful twist on the age old story of Ruth and Boaz. Regina Jennings gives us a heroine to cheer on, a hero with room to grow and grow he does, and a delightful ending where all is as it should be. Congrats to you Regina on a wonderful debut novel.

    4 stars

    This novel was graciously provided for me to read for review by Bethany House publishers with the sole intent of soliciting an honest and unbiased review. All opinions expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    modern day bible story

    great modern day bible story that makes you wish you could meet the characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    Newly widowed, Rosa Garner and her mother-in-law return from Mex

    Newly widowed, Rosa Garner and her mother-in-law return from Mexico to Garner land in Texas where they find that the family farm is hopelessly buried in back taxes…with only three months to earn the money. With the friendship of extended family, Rosa and Louise join in the social life of the community while Rosa works at every opportunity, using creativity, ingenuity, diligence, and all her strength to earn enough to pay the taxes. Her efforts are confounded by the attraction which grows between her and Weston Garner, a heart-broken widow who feels he could never marry again. More complications exist in the form of Rosa’s new friend who has her heart set on handsome Weston and his successful ranch. There’s also a scary, wife-beating neighbor prowling around Rosa causing her to fear for her safety and reputation in the already prejudiced town.


    Rosa and Weston make you love them. Author Jennings creates characters that feel so real…you wish they were. Rosa’s loyalty to family (that she didn’t even know until recently), her generosity, her optimism, her sense of fairness, and attempts to fit in – even when she feels she must hide her own heritage - just endear her to the reader. Weston’s sense of chivalry, morals, generosity, and honor make him a lovable white knight. Even better – a great-looking cowboy! Their kind hearted attitudes and efforts to act out their Christian religion despite hardships, misunderstandings, and sadness makes these characters shine. A terrific Western romance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    Delightfully unique Texas romance!

    Regina Jennings has captured something wonderful with her historical romance debut. Characters full of culture and family values dance off the page to warm the reader's heart. I adored the hard-working Rosa as she battled against predjudice and difficult circumstances to try to make a home for herself and her mother-in-law in a new land. Her tomboy athleticism paired wonderfully with her innocent femininity. And Weston made the perfect hero for her with his protective nature and his dedication to family. Not to mention those broad shoulders and handsome good looks! Neither of them wanted romance, but it simmered nicely beneath the surface anyway. There were times near the end when I wanted to shake some sense into the two of them, but the added tension just made the resolution all the sweeter.

    I loved seeing a Mexicana heroine. I have read very few if any books that featured a non-Anglo heroine, and I enjoyed being introduced to some of her culture and cheered when her hero saw only her beauty and fortitude and not the color of her skin. I look forward to seeing more from this talented new author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1