Customer Reviews for

Sixty Acres and a Bride

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    Wow, Wonderful Debut Novel and Must Read!

    Sixty Acres and a Bride By Regina Jennings

    Like several other readers, when I read the last page of this book, I was wishing it was longer, I was wanting more of this wonderful story. Regina Jennings’ debut novel, “Sixty Acres and a Bride” is a book well worth your time and money.

    Does this story sound a little familiar? Is this modern day Ruth, Naomi and Boaz or what? Rosa Garner and her mother-in-law Louise have recently lost their husbands in a Mexican earthquake and Rosa agrees to go back to her hometown in Texas. Immediately hard time hit these two ladies and they both strike out to save Louise’s ranch. Rosa was content in helping her mother-in-law, and after a no love marriage, the last thing she thought about was another man. But that was before she met her husband’s cousin, Weston Garner. Weston has his own past issues that he didn’t like to think about. Could these two overcome the hurts and difficulties of their past and make a life with each other?

    Rita Jennings creates a cast of characters that will take hold of your heart and keep it until well after you finish the book. Rosa was a special, humble young lady that I loved from the beginning. And I really was routing for she and Weston. I was so intrigued with this story that I couldn’t put it down. And I can’t wait for more books from Regina Jennings. She is now a new favorite author for me!

    A copy of this book was provided by Bethany House for me to review. I was responsible for giving my honest opinion, which I have here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Good clean read

    Sad and tormented souls struggle to find happiness even when it's right there in front of their faces. Clean Christian read. 276 pages

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2014

    Rosa and Weston are a lively match in this lovely debut novel by

    Rosa and Weston are a lively match in this lovely debut novel by Regina Jennings.  I love that we have a Hispanic heroine, Rosa. The reviewers on my blog raved over this story and once I read it I could see why. Once I read this book I went on and bought and read the rest of Regina's stories that were available! Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Sixty Acres and a Bride by Regina Jennings

    Good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2014

    Sixty Acres and a Bride is a wonderful read! It is set in post-C

    Sixty Acres and a Bride is a wonderful read! It is set in post-Civil War Texas in 1878. It is a retelling of the story of Ruth, which happens to be one of my favorite Bible stories. So, this book was very hard for me to set down. I read it quickly and loved it from the very beginning.

    Rosa is a young Mexican widow who has traveled to Texas with her widowed mother-in-law, Louise. Rosa and Louise have a hard road ahead of them as they try to save the family farm, which has back taxes due. Rosa carries many burdens and much guilt. It is through her in-laws that she came to know Jesus. She feels so very indebted to Louise. Rosa was a sweet character that I was occasionally frustrated with, but it was only because she made things harder on herself than they had to be due to fears she carried around.

    Weston Garner makes a great “Boaz”. He has a good heart and always tries to be there for his extended family, helping them as they need it. When Weston helps Rosa in order to try to save both her reputation and the family farm, it brings a whole new set of complications for these two people who are so perfect for each other, but so weighed down with baggage from their first marriages!

    This book is full of interesting characters and is such a good story. I highly recommend this fun, yet heartfelt book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I always love a good Ruth & Boaz story, and this book puts a

    I always love a good Ruth & Boaz story, and this book puts a unique spin on it with a Mexican heroine in 1870s Texas. A compelling heroine, a wounded hero, and great chemistry between them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    To softpaw

    U hear beautiful music and run into a forest where u meet a beautiful pure white shecat with purple eyes

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    *****

    Great story!!! Loved the whole book. The ending left me wanting more......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    wonderful

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful!

    Rosa comes to Texas with her mother-in-law Louise. Her husband is dead and her family will have nothing to do with her because she chose to follow Jesus. She plans to do whatever is needed to help Louise as they settle into their homestead. Once they arrive Louise finds out that the former renters of her homestead had up and left and not paid taxes and a very big sum is due in three months time. The ladies hope to raise the money but as times passes Rosa starts to worry they will not make the payment and lose their homestead.

    Weston is a cousin of Louisa and the family guardian as he feels he needs to help and protect those he loves as he was not able to save his late wife from herself. Weston is intrigued with Rosa from the moment he meets her but keeps her at bay due to his late wife and not wanting to fall in love again. But soon he finds God forcing his hand when Rosa comes to him in the middle of the night asking for help so they can keep the homestead. Will Rosa find a redeemer and love?

    I was not sure what to expect when I first read some of the reviews of this book. I knew it was a telling of the bible story of Ruth and Boaz but other then that I was not sure what to expect. What I found was a wonderful romance with a spiritual story that will touch your heart.

    What I liked: I liked all the characters. The author did a great job of developing the story line and making her characters real. I loved Rosa and at some points in the story could relate with her. Even though Weston is the hero in the story he is still a man who is hurting and dealing with things in his life that can make a person relate. The support characters where equally as likeable and make it an all around good book.

    What I did not like: There really was not much to dislike in this book.

    The thing that stood out for me in this book was the other story this book tells. The biblical story of Ruth and Boaz also tell the story of Christ and the Church and what he did for us so that we could receive the free gift of Heaven. Regina did an amazing job of telling that story as well. Rosa kept trying to earn her keep with Weston even after she was his wife but nothing she could do would help she just had to receive his love that he offered her but she like us had trouble doing that. Weston like Christ let Rosa try even though he loved her he let her be his servant even though she had a place at his table he allowed her to serve him even though he hated it. Just like how Jesus is always there for us even when we fail we just have to except his love. The ending of the book made me close my eyes and thank Jesus for his love and his sacrifice. I don’t want to give the last few pages away but the way this book ended also showed Jesus’s love for us and his protective love for his bride and how we have to want to receive his love and protection.

    The talent of the author is amazing and this is her first book! Not everyone will see the other story in this book and I don’t know for sure if the author planned it to parallel like the bible but it was a great read and I highly recommend it! I am very much looking forward to her next book due out next year which will have a look at two of the supporting characters in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Good read

    Emotional .... great read cant wait till the next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book, a must read! Rosa and Louise Garner returned

    I loved this book, a must read!

    Rosa and Louise Garner returned to Louise's home in Priarie Lea, Texas. Louise, her husband Eli and son Mack rented their property in Texas and had moved to Ciauhtlaz, Mexico. Rosa's mother encouraged her to help the Americanos and as she grew to know them, so did her interest in their religion and her parents' disapproval. Eli didn't like the way the pagan girl, Netnetl and Mack got along so he suggested Rosa marry Mack. Being without her own family, due to her no longer worshiping Santa Muerte, Saint Death, she accepted the offer to marry Mack, even though she knew that he loved Netnetl. She believed that Mack would learn to love her, but he never did. Eli and Mack worked in the mines and when there was an explosion Mack made it out alive and went straight to Netnetl, not Rosa, then he went back in looking for his father and neither one came back out. She then felt she'd stolen the love that belonged to someone else and this was her punishment, married less than a month and her husband is now dead.

    Rosa loved the Garner family and would do anything for her widowed mother-in-law and returned to Prairie Lea with her to try and save the family property. When they arrived in town they went to the courthouse and found out that the tenants hadn't paid the taxes for the four years they lived there and Rosa and Louise would have to come up with $160.00 in three months, by August 15th. Rosa worked day and night trying to earn the money.

    Weston Garner, Mack's cousin, lived nearby but was rarely around and quite the loner since his wife had died, he felt like he was to blame for her death. He helped his family as much as he could in any way possible. From the time he and Rosa met they kept their distance. Rosa felt guilt and she didn't deserve any happiness so she was satisfied living with Louise on Garner land. Weston felt the same about himself because he married Cora, a city girl, and brought her to this country and she ended up dying in his care. The problem is they could each feel an attraction for the other but kept pushing it away.

    It's August 14th and they don't have enough money, even with selling the chickens Rosa brought with her, so Louise tells Rosa part of the story of Naomi and Ruth and how Ruth went to Boaz. Rosa didn't want to do this but there was no other way, she didn't know the whole story but went to the barn where Weston slept anyway. She slept in the hay but he didn't stay there with her. When she was returning home in the morning filthy Jay Tillerton, a brute that abused his wife, had tried to rape Rosa and threatened her more than once, caught her on the trail. Luckily one of Weston's men was close enough to see Tillerton confront Rosa and sent him packing, but since she was seen leaving Weston's barn, Rosa's protector that day told Weston. Now all he could do was to marry her to save her reputation, even though nothing happened between them, and pay the property off so Tillerton couldn't get his hands on Garner property.

    Rosa feeling guilty about what she did very reluctantly married Weston but was determined to pay him back the money he paid in back taxes and then they could divorce. Molly, who thought she was going to get Weston to marry her tried to talk Rosa into filing for an annulment. After thinking about it Rosa thought that would be the best for both parties.

    There is so much to this story, I haven't even touched it in this review. So much happens up to this point that I want you to read for yourself, and even a lot more after. I loved this book. It shows how you can be so wrong if you don't let your thoughts be known and what you may lose, your heart and a happy future. Don't be afraid to trust God and listen to what your heart is telling you. Great job Maggie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Sixty Acres and A Bride is not a book, I would normally read.


    Sixty Acres and A Bride is not a book, I would normally read. However, the title was enticing and curiosity got the best of me and remained until I finished the book. As the events begin to unfold, my level of excitement increased. Unexpected twist and turns kept the story interesting. Rosa was a character to be admired. A woman from a different culture and not intimidated by hard work. Willing to do what it takes to help her family during difficult times. A different culture did, however, require some adjusting. What she was accustomed to doing in her country was not appropriate behavior for women in Texas. Her behavior was a source of entertainment for the men and gossip for the women. Rosa is definitely a “Ruth.” Her commitment and loyalty is to be commended. The bond between Rosa and Louise is sincere mother-daughter love, even though they are in-laws and not related by blood. She trusted the decisions of her mother-in-law and heeded her advice. This in turn created a better life for them both. Wes was a gentleman who displayed a great deal of respect and concern for women, even when placed in awkward positions. Although one of the decisions he was forced to make was a bit disheartening. It did, however, allow him to work through some issues that he was dealing with. The events that transpired at the wedding had me on edge and kept me turning pages. Mr. Tillerton, what a monster. He was always on the prowl and imposing misery on others. What he encountered was not unusual, but not what I anticipated. This story reminds me of the fact that God sometimes places people of wisdom in our lives who can offer insight which results in improving our lives and the lives of others. The author did a fantastic job in writing this book. God was definitely working things out. Thanks Regina for writing an awesome novel and thanks Bethany House Publishing for the opportunity to read her work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    This novel is wonderful story about a modern day Ruth. From the

    This novel is wonderful story about a modern day Ruth. From the beginning you experience the devotion of Rosa to her mother-in-law Louise. After the deaths of their husbands in Mexico, Louise and her daughter-in-law move back to the States and the family land. It is hard to imagine the love and commitment it takes to follow someone to a new country. Rosa enters a new culture only to find that the family property is at risk because of back taxes. She might find herself homeless once again. Rosa works as hard as she can to make the money that is owed. From sewing to working on the family’s sheep farm she will do anything to provide for her mother-in-law. When it comes time for the taxes to be paid the are still short the money. She will have to ask someone to save her, and that someone is Weston. As the head of the family she married into, he is the only one with the finances to save the two widows.

    The parallels to Ruth and Naomi are obvious but this fictional account embellishes and adds to the story. This was a great read and I am very thankful to Bethany House for my free copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Embraced By Loving Family

    Regina has woven a delightful tale in this book. You will want to get lost in the lives of Rosa and Wes.
    There is the dilemma of Rosa and her Mother-in-law Louise, trying to earn money enough to pay the taxes and keep their small 60 acres ranch. Rosa is a busy beaver and supposedly still in morning for her husband, they had been married a month, and her father-in-law who were killed in a mine collapse in Mexico.
    You will Love the characters of Aunt Mary, and Uncle George and family. They welcome young Rosa with open arms...she married a Garner and she is now family. When she comes to town she puts a lot of people noses out of joint, including the gossipers at Church.
    Loved when Louise sends Rosa in a last ditch attempt to save the Ranch to Wes...with reminding her of Ruth, Naomi and Boaz. This passage will end up haunting her. The Lord knew what he was doing, of course!
    A really great fast read, enjoy!

    I received this book from the Publisher Bethany House, and was not required to give a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This story is compared to Ruth and Esther in the bible. Ros


    This story is compared to Ruth and Esther in the bible.

    Rosa Garner and her mother in law Louise Garner have returned to the Garner's family ranch in Caldwell County, Texas. They have arrived from Mexico without their husbands whom were killed in a cave in. When they arrived at the ranch it was in an appalling state. It took a lot of work to get it ready for it's human inhabitants and rid of all other critters.

    Louise does not have a head for figures and had no idea they owed so much money on back taxes and that they were about to loose the ranch. Louise's sister in law, Mary knew it was going to be almost impossible to come up with the money but Rosa was determined to put in crops along with raising chickens and selling the eggs. She even took in embroidery work at which she was very talented. Louise's nephew, Weston Garner from a neighboring ranch gave them some sheep which they prepared to sell. Weston did not know how dire the situation was with the taxes on his Aunt's ranch.

    For years Weston has battled buried emotions ever since the death of his wife. He tries to avoid all the matchmakers and single ladies looking to catch a suitable husband and since Weston Garner has one of the largest ranches in Caldwell County he is most certainly a good catch. Although he is not very sociable. Then here is this little mexican gal, Rosa as pretty as can be, awakening feelings in him he thought were long well buried and he fights to keep them buried. Rosa is also finding Weston very difficult to read because one day he is full of tenderness toward her and then he disappears for days as if he can't stand to be around her. But why even try to develop a relationship when with anyone when Rosa and Aunt Louise are doomed to be homeless and this is the first real home Rosa has had since she left her parents home in Mexico.

    This story was so like Ruth and Esther. This young woman had so much faith in her mother in law and her new found faith in God. How frightening it must be to know that you are about to be homeless, no where to go. How far would you go to save your home? Are would you have faith that God will provide?

    I highly recommend this book.

    I rate this book a 5 out of 5.

    Disclosure:
    I was provided a free copy of this book for review by Bethany House Publisher for review. This review is my own opinion. I was in no way compensated for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    I admit that when I reached the end of Sixty Acres and a Bride I

    I admit that when I reached the end of Sixty Acres and a Bride I sighed…because I wasn’t ready to leave these characters! So many things about this debut book by Regina Jennings really drew me in.

    I really liked the Mexican heroine! And the fact that Rosa is so ignorant of the way a “proper” lady should act. It made for quite a few humorous moments! Rosa was so sweet natured and hard-working, you can’t help but love her. Just like Ruth, she is filled with an intense desire to provide for Louise. Weston’s desire to protect and care for his family made him a very likeable hero, too—not to mention a very handsome one!

    When Rosa (like Ruth) goes to Weston in the barn, she slips into the bed with him and (unlike Ruth) curls up against his chest. Now, I understood how this wasn’t supposed to be exactly like the story of Ruth, but just thought to mention this, since they do embrace each other in bed before they’re married. Though, of course, nothing else happens!

    My favorite—favorite!—scene was when Rosa does the Mexican dance and afterwards when Weston stops it and follows her. Wowza, did I laugh when Weston realized what he did! While in the last few chapters I seriously wanted to slap the two upside the head with frustration, Sixty Acres and a Bride was a wonderful read from start to finish. I can’t wait to read more by this very talented author!

    I reviewed this book for the author. It was not required that I give a positive review, but solely to express my own thoughts and opinions of this book, which I have done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this one

    What would happen if the story of Ruth in the Bible had happened in the nineteenth century? It might sound a lot like the story of Rosa, a native of Ciauhtlaz, Mexico, and her mother-in-law, Louise Garner.

    Rosa had converted to Christianity, and her parents and her entire village rejected her. Louise and her husband took her in and decreed that Rosa and their son would marry, and they did. Mack didn't love Rosa. In fact, he loved another woman and didn't bother to hide it from her. Rosa would do anything to avoid another loveless marriage.

    After both their husbands died in the mines in Ciauhtlaz, Louise brought her daughter-in-law back with her to Lockhart, Texas. The arrive to find out the property taxes on Louise's farm hadn't been paid in four years. If they didn't pay the taxes by August 15, the land might be taken over by that neighbor with the lecherous eyes, Jay Tillerton.

    Mr. Tillerton was married, but that didn't stop him from making advances to the beautiful Mexican lady. In fact, he offered to pay the taxes if she would just show him a little ... consideration. Ugly inside and out, in Rosa's opinion.

    Then along comes our reluctant hero, Weston Garner, Louise's brother-in-law. A widower himself, he holds himself to blame for his wife's death. How can he hope to rescue any woman when he couldn't stop his own wife's downward spiral? He needs time, and time is not something Rosa and her mother-in-law have.

    Rosa becomes a second Ruth and goes to Weston for help. How will he respond? Can he, will he, come to their rescue?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Historical Christian Fiction At Its Finest!!!

    I was searching online for another book when I came across Sixty Acres and a Bride. I bypassed the book I was looking at and purchased this one instead. Money well spent! I have read this book 2x in the last 3 days - something I tend to do when I find a great story but it ends too soon for me. It always seems that the best books are too short. I really connected with Rosa and Weston and hope to see more of them in upcoming books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2