Customer Reviews for

Size 12 Is Not Fat (Heather Wells Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 236 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Fat--sorry, average--girls rock too!!!

This book is awesome. I myself fit the average American model, but when books, movies, and magazines are filled with twigs, it's kind of hard to stay up-beat. This book introduces us to an eccentric, highly entertaining ex-teen pop star who may have gained a little arou...
This book is awesome. I myself fit the average American model, but when books, movies, and magazines are filled with twigs, it's kind of hard to stay up-beat. This book introduces us to an eccentric, highly entertaining ex-teen pop star who may have gained a little around the middle. But she doesn't despair- she makes it work. And she solves murders. And kicks butt. Heather Wells is the type of heroine any girl can relate with and look up to. She's more real than some of the airbrushed people we see nowadays. Check out this book for some laughs. You'll relate and beg for more.

posted by SlyCats on January 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!

This book is just AMAZING! I love the way the author writes, and I love Heather. She´s a funny character and a very outgoing person. I couldn´t stop reading the book until I finished it.

posted by 5269192 on November 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 237 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    Fat--sorry, average--girls rock too!!!

    This book is awesome. I myself fit the average American model, but when books, movies, and magazines are filled with twigs, it's kind of hard to stay up-beat. This book introduces us to an eccentric, highly entertaining ex-teen pop star who may have gained a little around the middle. But she doesn't despair- she makes it work. And she solves murders. And kicks butt. Heather Wells is the type of heroine any girl can relate with and look up to. She's more real than some of the airbrushed people we see nowadays. Check out this book for some laughs. You'll relate and beg for more.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    New for me

    Its odd to read a book with no magic or supernatural elements to solve crime, but i loved this story. It was refreshimg to read a character that i can relate too. I have already started the second one and enjoying it so much.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Very realistic

    Heather Wells is such a believable character! Every girl I know, myself definitely included, has conversations in her head, gets irritating jealousy over guys she isn't even dating, has post-break-up sex that is later regretted, drifts into la-la land when thinking about past and future endeavors...oh....and would love to solve a double homicide; especially if it means spending time with our secret crush! Heather could be a real woman...and did I mention that she's a size 12? That's the size of the average American woman....and they are not fat! Definitely worth the read.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    ...This book makes me laugh.

    A lot.

    It's such a fun treat of a book that I wonder if I'll ever get sick of re-reading it. I doubt it. Meg Cabot has the ability to make me care for her characters even when they do such silly things. Heather Wells is one helluva likeable character. She's not perfect but that's what I loved about her. She has a good heart and she gets herself into some troubling situations and then she leans on her room mate and ex boyfriend's brother, Cooper to bail her out.

    Which he does on a daily basis.

    Cooper is also the guy who gave her a place to stay. She's staying in a brownstone that Cooper owns and she pays rent by helping him with his administrative work for his PI business. Heather and Cooper work well together, he stays out of her way and saves her when she needs saving and she keeps him organized, entertained and exasperated.

    Fair trade, don't you think? =P

    On top of being Coop's secretary, Heather is also the new assistant dorm directory and the nearby college. So she goes from singing her heart out at malls and being adored by tweeny bopper fans all over the world to being an assistant dorm director for a small New York college and she's actually pretty okay with her life. She could probably have done without her Mom running away with all of her money and her manager but Heather is making things work even if people are saying she's a fat has been.

    Size 12 is NOT fat, people!

    To read the full review, please visit http://thebookscoop.com

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Sweet little read

    Size twelve is not fat is an adorable story. The main character, Heather, was very realatelable, even if some of the other characters weren't. I'm not giving it five stars because I did not feel passionate about this book and its characters. A fun, quick read. I will be on the lookout for the second, though I will not pursue it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    SO FUN!

    Heather Wells cracks me up! I have read all three books in the series several times and they are always good for some quick, entertaining reading. Nothing too serious, but well-written and amusing. Fun!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    Loved it!

    This book is just AMAZING! I love the way the author writes, and I love Heather. She´s a funny character and a very outgoing person. I couldn´t stop reading the book until I finished it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    Annoying

    All the tongue in cheek remarks by author detract greatly from what could be a decent story if protagonist were not so ridiculous. A 12 yr old might enjoy this book but i found it tedious and highly insulting to women. Definitely retiring this author

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Great book!

    Great quick read! Fun personalities. I really enjoyed all three in the series. Highly recomend

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    AWESOME but predictable

    Although this book was prettyeasy to predict for me it was a novel that i did enjoy reading very much, onto the sequel =)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Such an amazing book!

    Size 12 is not fat seems like another teenage lose weight inspirational books but it really isn't. It's about this girl Heather Wells whose life is turned upside down ever since her popstar fiance dumped her and her mom fled the country with her lifes savings. Her job is a assistant dorm director of the residence hall, and when a girl died from elevator surfing in that dormatory she becomes "agent heather wells" and she tries to prove to people that girls don't elevator surf. Its an exciting, funny, thrilling, and sometimes confusing novel that i think all girls aged 13 and up should read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING BOOK!!!!!!!!! <3 <3 <3

    This was an awesome book! Meg Cabot has done it again writing yet another successful book. In this story Heather Wells finds herself a new job after being a sucessful teen pop-star (who lost contract). She enjoys herself working at a New York college Residence Hall, that is until a freshman is found at the bottom of the elevator shaft! Everyone thinks that she was elevator surfing and slipped, but Heather thinks otherwise. She decides to find out what really happened. She also struggles with other things like a relationship problem. AmAzInG!!!! five stars!!! what happened to the girl is what you least expect!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Size 12 is not fat

    After losing her recording contract, boy-band famous fiance, and her life savings (courtesy of her thieving mother) Heather Wells is in serious need of a job. Still it's a struggle for her when the girl who used to be a household name (if only to tweens) becomes an assistant director at a New York college dormitory, I mean, residence hall. Heather spends her days solving problems for 19 year-olds and her nights pining for her landlord, Cooper, private investigator and Mr. Unconventional Himself. Oh and just to make things even more interesting, Cooper is her ex's brother. So when girls start dying in the dorm - er, residence hall, Heather knows it's not just a coincidence and enlists PI Cooper to help track down the killer.

    Flowing throughout is Heather's inner monologue in which she ponders everything from vanity sizing, exercise (walking to your favorite bakery DOES count), the miraculous effects of chocolate and even the love of a good pet. This hilarious thought process is what kept me so intrigued, not the mystery. Mystery = Meh. It almost seemed as an afterthought - which isn't necessarily a bad thing in this case at least. Heather and her antics constantly had me in stitches. I'd love to sit down to lunch with her or her friend Magda and let the good times roll.

    seemichelleread.blogspot.com

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2005

    Funny!

    Although a little slow in the beginning, 'Size 12 Is Not Fat' picks up and turns out to be not only suspenseful with its mystery and crime-solving but laugh-out-loud funny when it comes to the heroine Heather Wells' quirky attitude and pining love for her roommate and partner-in-crime Cooper Cartwright. I couldn't put this mystery down once I got trucking with it- Heather proved to be funny and relatable although a former teen pop sensation. The book is a little longer than the usual novels of Meg Cabot's, but it was jam packed with adventure and humor. I was able to envision the dramatic moments- whether it be dangling from a cord in an elevator shaft or dueling sixteen stories above a busy New York City street- and through Heather's quick thinking, I not only felt as if I were experiencing these frightening moments but the humorous ones as well!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Ok

    It was just ok. Nothing to keep me reading the series especially since there is an excerpt from book 4 that kinda ruins the surprise factor. It wasn't my cup of tea. Stephanie Bond's Body Movers and Lois Griesman's Christina Macmillian series are much better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Bananna

    Pretty cool book for young teens. It migt be slow, but it was good. The next book #2 of that. I think people such as young readers to ead a fast book. Some people might like faste books better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2013

    Heather Wells is a very relatable character and Meg Cabot writes

    Heather Wells is a very relatable character and Meg Cabot writes her with a sense of humor that is realistic and fun. Great series and I look forward to the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    300 pages

    This 300 page sounded so good, I could hardly wait to read it. The reviews on it are a mixed bag, so I was unsure what to expect. So, I snuggled down in my favorite chair and prepared to enjoy a good laugh or five. By page 50, I was so annoyed, I had to quit reading. I read two other books before I gave this one another try. It was still annoying. Many sentences are repeated constantly, there are run on paragraphs, yes, I said paragraphs, not sentences. A sentence so long, it becomes a whole paragraph, three or four to a page, is actually hard to read, let alone understand. I think my brain was gasping for oxygen. If I had been reading out loud, I would have turned blue and passed out on the first page. It is written in first person format ( ugh). I did not like any of the characters. The only thing I did like, was the author saying size 12 women are not fat. This is a chick book. It did make me giggle a bit. It is just plain silly and as I have already stated, annoying. I wish I had skipped this one altogether. It is a relatively clean read and there are no surprizes. For readers 16 and up.

    AD

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    I kind of liked the book, at times it was annoying (constant rep

    I kind of liked the book, at times it was annoying (constant repeating of "dorm...i, mean residential hall" over and over, a lot of things were like on going jokes that were not really funny. A few parts were funny, some were very interesting and some were not. Then of course at the end the included excerpt from "the bride wore a size 12," which i read, thinking it was the next book in the series. Turns out it's book 4 or 5...meaning it just ruined my curiosity about whether Cooper and Heather ever got together. I might have just bought the next book in the series to feed my curiosity but as it is, I already know and will not be buying the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Really cute

    I totally enjoyed this book, easy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 237 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12