BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Size 12 and Ready to Rock (Heather Wells Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    @ Heart2Heart -- this is NOT a Young Adult series

    @ Heart2Heart -- this is NOT a Young Adult series

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Welcome to the world of Heather Wells, the new assistant residen

    Welcome to the world of Heather Wells, the new assistant residence hall director for New York College and former pop teen sensation who once more finds that hoping for a nice quiet summer off, isn't going to happen. When she is called by the campus police late one evening for a report of late night partying and an apparent unconscious student, her new life is about to go through the roof. When she learns that the vacant school's building is being used for a paintball party, she immediately tries to get things under control, thanks to her new fiancee' Cooper Cartwright.

    While they round up the paint ball teams, Heather learns that the penthouse of the President is now being used for a filming of the husband-wife reality show, Jordan Loves Tania without her knowledge or permission. Seems her ex-boyfriend Jordan is working with Christopher Allington, the son of the college president to loan them the use of the penthouse to wrap up filming of their reality show episode. It seems that earlier in the evening, Tania Trace, best selling pop recording artist was the victim of a random shooting that has injured her bodyguard and left a pregnant Tania, worse for wear. She learns this is the emergency call that was placed for the unconscious person on campus.

    As Heather tries to gain control over the chaos on campus, she will soon learn that it will be the new home of the summer camp for Tania Trace's Rock Camp that will host 50 teenage girls between the ages of 14-16 years old to empower them through music education and to provide them with opportunities to express themselves creatively through singing, song writing and performing since their previous location in the Catskills was cancelled.

    Now as Heather tries to manage working through a bunch of arrogant music producers that are hosting this camp, she also has to deal with a newly appointed director of the residence hall, Lisa Wu who is more than perky but also way younger than Heather. Not to mention that someone is still out to murder Tania. This will truly be an unforgettable summer for Heather.

    I received Size 12 and Ready to Rock by Meg Cabot compliments of William Morrow, a division of Harper Collins for my honest review. Having read previous books from Meg Cabot, I leaped into wanting to add this to my summer reading list. It is a bit risky for this as a young adult novel, even though it is the 4th book in the Heather Wells series. There are some strong subject matters dealing with sexual content and profanity that may cause some readers to be concerned and for that reason offer a rating of 4 out of 5 stars based on my book rating standards. Overall the story has a great plot line and for those looking for an unusual suspense fiction, this one may just fit the bill.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Loved it!!!

    I was so excited to see that Meg Cabot had written another Heather Wells book!!! Just as good as the others. Can't wait for the next one to come out!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Straight up and to the point...this book is funny fluff. If you

    Straight up and to the point...this book is funny fluff. If you are looking for a serious read, this isn't it. If you are looking for an all around laugh out loud, we're just here to entertain you read, then you've come to the right book.

    The Heather Wells series is based on a former child pop star who's money was squandered by others and now she works as an assistant director in a college residence hall. Heather is witty and irreverant and isn't afraid to go one step further than she should when solving a mystery.

    This isn't one of those books where I am going to go on and on about well crafted character development, a plot line to end all plot lines. Nope, and not because there isn't always a good plot line and honestly Heather in and of herself is all the character you need. I'm not going to do all of that because you really just need to pick up the book and enjoy the ride.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Must read

    I love this book. I keep reading it over and over. Cant wait for the 5th book, next year. I cant wait that long of it to come out. I love Heather, and the whole gang. Would love for Meg Cabot keep writing of Heather and the gang.

    Get this book. Now! You wont reget it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    6.5/5

    For any mysterie,romance, or not so realistic fiction lover this series will send shiversup and down your spine of pure delight. I can honestly say that this series is amazing and you will not regret reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Makes you want to keep reading!

    Cabot's style of writing makes for easy reading. Love the character development through the series and can't wait to read #5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Spiritheart

    Demonstar told me to take you out so lets go!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Okay

    I am nine years old and i think that this book is for 10+. It had a couple swears in it, and my mom thought it was a good book for HER. And she is 40!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Anonymous

    I love reading Heather Wells! I was hooked from the moment i started reading the series. Meg Cabot better write another book soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Five days

    I finished the series in a five days. I could not stop readimg these books. I am so excited the next part. I like how the put real life problems that effect women everyday. Just a wonderful and funny read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Great addition to Heather Wells series

    This book has an interesting mystery and takes Heather's romance to a new level. It is a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!

    Be sure to read the first three books in the series before reading this one. There are many laugh out loud moments. Couldn't put it down til I knew who dunnit!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Great story

    Heather is such a believable character with realistic issues that lots of women can relate to. Once you start the series, it is hard to stop!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    From HarperCollins: Summer break . . . and the livin' ain't ea

    From HarperCollins: Summer break . . . and the livin' ain't easy!
    Just because the students at New York College have flown the coop
    doesn't mean assistant residence hall director Heather Wells can relax.
    Fischer Hall is busier than ever, filled with squealing thirteen- and
    fourteen-year-old girls attending the first ever Tania Trace Teen Rock
    Camp, hosted by pop sensation Tania Trace herself—who just happens to be
    newly married to Heather's ex-boyfriend, heartthrob Jordan Cartwright.
    But the real headache begins when the producer of a reality TV show
    starring Tania winds up dead . . . and it's clear that the star was the
    intended victim. Grant Cartwright, head of Cartwright Records, wants to
    keep his daughter-in-law (and his highest-earning performer) alive. So
    he hires his oldest son, black sheep of the family and private
    investigator Cooper Cartwright—who just happens to be Heather's new
    fiancé. Heather should leave the detecting to Cooper. But with a dorm
    full of hysterical mini-divas-in-training, she can't help but get
    involved. And after Tania shares a really shocking secret with her, this
    reality suddenly becomes more dangerously real than anyone ever
    anticipated. We first met Heather Wells, former teen pop-sensation in
    Size 12 is Not Fat in 2005. In 2006, Heather continued her sleuthing in
    Size 14 is Not Fat Either. 2007 brought us the third Heather adventure
    in Big Boned. We then suffered a long draught for FIVE LONG YEARS.
    Coming July 10, 2012, Heather returns in Size 12 & Ready to Rock!
    This time, Heather is forced to protect Tania Trace, the girl that
    replaced her, not only as a pop-sensation, but also as Jordan
    Cartwright's girlfriend. The Bad - The long FIVE YEAR WAIT! I have
    no patience to wait even a year for an anticipated book, so the five
    years I had to wait for the new Heather Wells mystery was pure torture.
    As for the book itself, I was disappointed that we did not get to spend
    more time with Heather's hilarious cast of supporting characters. We
    get cameos from most of the favorites, but not enough "screen"
    time in my opinion. Size 12 & Ready to Rock is a much more internal
    journey for Heather, as opposed to the snooping, trouble seeking Heather
    of the previous three books, which isn't really bad, it's just that
    Heather is so hilarious when she is stumbling through an investigation -
    I missed it in this book. The Good - Meg. Cabot. Need I say more?
    Yes? Ok, Size 12 & Ready to Rock is classic Meg Cabot - funny and
    thoroughly entertaining with just a touch of mystery and intrigue. Fans
    of Janet Evanovich, Jill Shalvis, Sophie Kinsella or the like, will love
    Size 12 & Ready to Rock. If you are unfamiliar with the Heather
    Wells Series, I highly suggest you start with Size 12 is Not Fat and
    work your way through the series for optimal enjoyment. It's my
    understanding that there will be at least one more in the Heather Wells
    series, hopefully next year! ~Shel

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    So pleased Meg continued this series! Heather Wells does rock. I

    So pleased Meg continued this series! Heather Wells does rock. It is a fun read with a great story and the usual Heather action!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Long wait between books but worth it! I’ve been a fan of

    Long wait between books but worth it!
    I’ve been a fan of this series since it debuted in 2006. The books tell the story of Heather Wells, one time teen pop star, now Assistant Dorm director at Fischer Hall in NYC. Heather has not had an easy time of it, her mom ran off with her money, her record company cheated her out of royalties, and her pop star boyfriend of ten years got caught with another singers head in his crotch. Heather is over Jordan Cartwright and has no anger toward Tania Trace, now a famous teen idol. One reason why is that she is unofficially engaged to Cooper Cartwright, Jordan’s brother and her landlord.
    Unfortunately for Heather, the dorm she is in charge of is called “Death dorm” for a good reason and she has her hands full with assorted residents, the college president and his spoiled son. To her chagrin, she discovers that Cartwright Records is filming a reality show called Jordan Loves Tania in the dorm with the college administrations blessing. After the shooting of Tania’s body guard, the show which was supposed to end up at a camp setting, ends up in “Death Dorm” for the summer. Now Heather has to deal with TV producers, camera people, screaming teen age girls and stage mothers that would give piranhas a run for their money. Add to the mix that Cooper is Tania’s new bodyguard and it’s going to be a great summer for Heather. Did I mention that there is a new dorm director coming on board…..?
    It has been 5 years since the third book in the series “Big Boned “and I thought that there would never be another one. I was excited when I saw that this one was coming and it was worth waiting for. Heather is a feisty woman who has dealt with the hard knocks life gave her and found happiness (mostly) in her job and love with Cooper. Cooper is a handsome, pragmatic private investigator who loves Heather and grudgingly puts up with her amateur detecting. Being the brother of her ex-boyfriend and the son of the owners of the record company that stiffed her has been difficult for Heather to work around but they have a great relationship with normal ups and downs.
    In this book, Heather gets a chance to tie up loose ends and deal with Jordan and Tania’s betrayal for the last time. Jordan is a bratty jerk who starts to show a little maturity now that he is going to be a father. Tania is a talented singer who has some big secrets in her past and one of them is out to kill her. Heather really gets a chance to know Tania and realizes that there is a nice person behind the teen princess façade. There are elements of suspense and of humor in this book and the mystery is light but satisfying. New characters are introduced and are a good fit with the older ones. The whole inside look at the workings of a reality show and the show participants is also a successful plot device.
    I hope that there will be more books in the series and not such a wait between them.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Meg Cabot books

    Meg Cabot never fails me. This is why she is one of my fave authors. The heather wells series seriously rocks. Love love love it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    R

    C#y ¿`¿~

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    This series of books will not leave you dissapointed!!

    Ive read some interesting books, but this is the best series ive ever read! Im really into (i call them my chick flick books) the somewhat romantic books and this series keeps getting better and better. When i read about Heather's life, it makes me feel im right there with her figuring out those mysteries. I absolutely loved this 4th book because Heather and Cooper are much closer in their relationship and they wouldnt let anything happen to each other.
    I honestly CANNOT WAIT untill 2013 for "Size 12 is the new black". I can read each book in about 4 hours and i need the 5th one to come out sooner! You WILL NOT regret getting this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2