Customer Reviews for

Sizzle

Average Rating 4
( 459 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(180)

4 Star

(124)

3 Star

(80)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Sizzle is the appropriate name for this action-packed romantic suspense thriller

In Los Angeles film student Lyra Prescott decides as her final project in Professor Mahler's class to make a documentary on Parisso Park, a dumping ground filled with broken bottles, dirty disposable diapers, old newspapers, and an assortment of other discarded trash. ...
In Los Angeles film student Lyra Prescott decides as her final project in Professor Mahler's class to make a documentary on Parisso Park, a dumping ground filled with broken bottles, dirty disposable diapers, old newspapers, and an assortment of other discarded trash. Near the "land filled" playground is a beautiful garden oasis that contrasts to the toxic dump. On her way home, Lyra stops at a yard sale in which Mrs. Rooney is giving away all her husband's things.

Lyra takes the CDs and tapes; unaware that crime boss Mr. Merriam wants his foot soldier Milo to snuff out the Rooneys as they have something that could put him away for a long time. His goons go to collect the evidence, but it is not where it is supposed to be. They learn Lra might have what they ar seeking. Two men are holding Lyra's roommate Sidney Buchanan prisoner waiting for her arrival. The two females escape and Sydney uses her contacts to get a bodyguard to protect Lyra. FBI agent Sam Kincaid arrives to do the job, but is stunned by his attraction to Lyra, who knows she can easily fall in love with her protector. They are shot at, her house is trashed, and a bomb is set under her car. Sam vows to risk his life to keep her safe though neither knows what the perpetrators want.

Sizzle is the appropriate name for this action-packed romantic suspense thriller as the relationship between Sam and Lyra never cools down. Fast-paced from the moment the hoodlums arrive and never taking a tension breather on the romance or suspense fronts, fans will be stunned to learn who is calling the shots and what the villains seek. Although the escapes especially the pre Sam getaway seem unlikely, Julie Garwood provides her fans with a great taut thriller with everyone (except the bad guys) rooting for this couple to not just survive but to make it together.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Disapointed

Not what I expected from Julie Garwood. I had to make myself finish this one.

posted by chrislovestodance on January 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 462 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Disapointed

    Not what I expected from Julie Garwood. I had to make myself finish this one.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    I want the old Julie back!

    Honestly, I was hoping this one would be great, because Sam Kincaid namesake - Alec Kincaid's story was FABULOUS!!! (The Bride). I think another reviewer mentioned it, the contemporary stories are falling short; the characters need more development, the plot is predictable and flat and you are left wanting more. I NEVER felt that way with the historical romances, til this day, I re-read those stories. The pages on those books are barely held together. I have no desire to re-read Sizzle, I was so dissapointed. I just didn't get the characters - what was their story - other than they are both gorgeous and thrown together for a matters of days - DAYS!!! Where is the complexity seen in the Bride with Jaime and Alec, or my goodness the depth in Ransom with Gillian and Brodick or in Castles, or The Gift... I could go on and on.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Warm, Not Hot

    I wish Julie would stick with writing the beloved historical romances which she mastered and we all have adored. Every since she moved into contemporary writing, it just isn't as good. This was one of her better works yet I reread her historical romances over and over. Sam and Lyra had chemistry but it took awhile to ignite and Milo was a stupid distraction. Read her earlier works and just sigh.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sizzle is the appropriate name for this action-packed romantic suspense thriller

    In Los Angeles film student Lyra Prescott decides as her final project in Professor Mahler's class to make a documentary on Parisso Park, a dumping ground filled with broken bottles, dirty disposable diapers, old newspapers, and an assortment of other discarded trash. Near the "land filled" playground is a beautiful garden oasis that contrasts to the toxic dump. On her way home, Lyra stops at a yard sale in which Mrs. Rooney is giving away all her husband's things.

    Lyra takes the CDs and tapes; unaware that crime boss Mr. Merriam wants his foot soldier Milo to snuff out the Rooneys as they have something that could put him away for a long time. His goons go to collect the evidence, but it is not where it is supposed to be. They learn Lra might have what they ar seeking. Two men are holding Lyra's roommate Sidney Buchanan prisoner waiting for her arrival. The two females escape and Sydney uses her contacts to get a bodyguard to protect Lyra. FBI agent Sam Kincaid arrives to do the job, but is stunned by his attraction to Lyra, who knows she can easily fall in love with her protector. They are shot at, her house is trashed, and a bomb is set under her car. Sam vows to risk his life to keep her safe though neither knows what the perpetrators want.

    Sizzle is the appropriate name for this action-packed romantic suspense thriller as the relationship between Sam and Lyra never cools down. Fast-paced from the moment the hoodlums arrive and never taking a tension breather on the romance or suspense fronts, fans will be stunned to learn who is calling the shots and what the villains seek. Although the escapes especially the pre Sam getaway seem unlikely, Julie Garwood provides her fans with a great taut thriller with everyone (except the bad guys) rooting for this couple to not just survive but to make it together.

    Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Julie Garwood is the best!

    As Julie Garwood is probably my most favorite writer, I am probably biased! But I own all of her books and think she is wonderful. This particular book is a spin off of the Buchanan's story, so if you have ever read any of those, you can tie this one to the family. This would probably be a good one even if you have never read any of the other Buchanan family books but I would suggest starting in this order:
    Nick Buchanan's story: HEARTBREAKER
    Theo Buchanan: MERCY
    Alec Buchanan: MURDER LIST
    Dylan Buchanan: SLOW BURN
    Jordan Buchanan: SHADOW DANCE

    then read: FIRE AND ICE that spins off characters you meet in Alec's story and SIZZLE is about the best friend of Sidney Buchanan - the last Buchanan we are still awaiting an awesome story about! There are a lot of characters throughout the series that are in multiple books with how they tie to the family and it is great to read about each one of them. And don't forget about FIRE AND ICE, I could only add 5 to the recommended list!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    sizzle? try it never got beyond room temp

    i was anxiously awaiting this book and for the first time ever i put a garwood down without finishing it. it took me 2 days and i still had to push myself to continue to the end. what happened? very disappointing.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm a huge fan of Julie Garwood but...

    Having read every Julie Garwood book published, I'm a huge fan. One of her greatest talents is building amazing and witty characters (read Shadow Dance for a good example of this). Mercy is one of the most suspenseful, fun and sexy reads.

    All that said, I can't believe Julie Garwood actually wrote this book. It reads like a non-writer putting together a long story outline as if it was dictated. The characters are so unsympathetic and not whole. The sexy leads were anything but. The dialog was stilted and didn't do much to show the story. The plot was so predictable that a reader could figure it out 50 pages in.

    For those who are fans, this is not a typical Julie Garwood book. For those that have never read her, don't judge her by this book.

    I still keep wondering who wrote this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVE GARWOOD!!

    Special Agent Samuel Wellington Kincaid and Los Angeles film student Lyra Prescott...Love interests...
    Sam doesn't want to experience the pain again that he felt when his wife of three years died. He tries to deny his feelings for Lyra, but... their powerful first kiss leads to more. He begins to share more about himself and the beauty of The Highlands in Scotland where he hopes to return one day. There is no turning back for Sam when their sexual chemistry makes it impossible to deny. Great humor and fun to read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyed this book

    I really enjoyed this book. Its a great read for Julie Garwood fans. If you never read Julie Garwood before I would start with another one of her novles. This is not one of her best works.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Outstanding Writer

    I have two copies of eveery book Julie Garwood has written one paperback one hardback. I loan out the paperbacks to friends to read the hardbacks I keep on a book shelf. I used to hate reading, but now find my self holding my breath until it's release. I stumbled across her first book by accident, a customer left it in the laundromat. I pick it up and started reading it, nothing else to do until the laundy was done. I couldn't up it down! The lady who left the book came in looking for it, I am ashmed to admit I hid the book until she left. After I read it, I return it to the laundromat the next day. And went straight to the book store to purchase it and any others she wrote. Julie Garwood is a non stop reading machine. If you want a book you can not put down, pick up a Julie Garwood!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2010

    Great read

    I read all books in order to understand events as they came. This was a very good read and as usual the might fall (men determined to remain single). I'm not much into mysteries, but since love was involved and a family unit I enjoyed these books very much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Loved it!

    I loved this book! My first Julie Garwood read and I'm ready to find another. Loved the characters in this book! What I don't get is the front cover of this book, I don't think it portrays any character in this book at all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Julie Garwood's SIZZLE is Worth Reading

    While I believe Julie Garwood is best writing historical romances, she has improved, book by book with her modern novels. "Sizzle" is the best of these modern novels. Throw in a soon-to-graduate film student capturing something with her final project far beyond her wildest dreams. It is a race to the end to find out who is trying to kill her and it is an FBI agent doing a favor for a friend who rides to the rescue. All the elements of a romantic suspense are evident and "Sizzle" is an enjoyable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2010

    Another Compelling Garwood Hit

    There was a very slow beginning that was not classic Julie Garwood. By Chapter 4, however, the story entered a "can't put it down" scenario which continued to escalate throughout the remainder. In other words, I'd rate the book right up there with all of her other suspense-filled books.

    Julie Garwood has the ability to make me truly "live" a book. Getting into the mind of her main character, Lyra, and sensing her fears as well as her feelings of compassion and love left me wanting more. I was truly sorry to see the book come to an end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting read.

    I love Julie Garwood's writing. I have most of the books she has written. I especially like the ones with the Scottish Highlands warriors. This books is great and goes with her other modern day romantic/suspense novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Good Read!

    As always, Julie Garwood continues to be the author of my choice. The story provides all the elements necessary for page-turning, eye-burning, up all night reading. This is a keeper for my collection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Garwood rocks

    Ms Garwood did it again. I read this book in a day. the story line just flows along. the characters are lovable. cant wait for next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sizzle it Does

    Sizzle is Julie Garwood's latest contemporary romance. And it has all the bells and whistles. It has spunk, it has murder and it has mayhem and of course it has romance.
    Julie gives us a great new read in Sizzle. Her characters are wonderfully portrayed., they are beautifully detailed and she knows each one intimately. Her hero FBI agent Sam Kincaid and heroine Lyra Prescott are bigger than life and yet as cozy as your next door neighbors. And her villain Milo is to die for. She is an amazing storyteller and it shows as she spins this mystery and leaves her readers wondering who done it until the very end. The romance is first class and lives up to it's title because you'll need a fan going to get through the love scenes which are hot and yet very sweet.
    So get ready for the ride of your life in this exciting, nail biting, roller coaster romance.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    Sizzle Delivers

    If you've followed the story of the Buchannons and their friends, then you're familiar with the story line. While a bit predictable, it's still a delectable page turner. You've got suspense, murder, and romance, what else could you need!? Warning: content may sizzle.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    Tedium

    Good beginning, but fizzled out.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 462 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24