BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sizzle

Average Rating 4
( 458 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(180)

4 Star

(124)

3 Star

(79)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Sizzle is the appropriate name for this action-packed romantic suspense thriller

In Los Angeles film student Lyra Prescott decides as her final project in Professor Mahler's class to make a documentary on Parisso Park, a dumping ground filled with broken bottles, dirty disposable diapers, old newspapers, and an assortment of other discarded trash. ...
In Los Angeles film student Lyra Prescott decides as her final project in Professor Mahler's class to make a documentary on Parisso Park, a dumping ground filled with broken bottles, dirty disposable diapers, old newspapers, and an assortment of other discarded trash. Near the "land filled" playground is a beautiful garden oasis that contrasts to the toxic dump. On her way home, Lyra stops at a yard sale in which Mrs. Rooney is giving away all her husband's things.

Lyra takes the CDs and tapes; unaware that crime boss Mr. Merriam wants his foot soldier Milo to snuff out the Rooneys as they have something that could put him away for a long time. His goons go to collect the evidence, but it is not where it is supposed to be. They learn Lra might have what they ar seeking. Two men are holding Lyra's roommate Sidney Buchanan prisoner waiting for her arrival. The two females escape and Sydney uses her contacts to get a bodyguard to protect Lyra. FBI agent Sam Kincaid arrives to do the job, but is stunned by his attraction to Lyra, who knows she can easily fall in love with her protector. They are shot at, her house is trashed, and a bomb is set under her car. Sam vows to risk his life to keep her safe though neither knows what the perpetrators want.

Sizzle is the appropriate name for this action-packed romantic suspense thriller as the relationship between Sam and Lyra never cools down. Fast-paced from the moment the hoodlums arrive and never taking a tension breather on the romance or suspense fronts, fans will be stunned to learn who is calling the shots and what the villains seek. Although the escapes especially the pre Sam getaway seem unlikely, Julie Garwood provides her fans with a great taut thriller with everyone (except the bad guys) rooting for this couple to not just survive but to make it together.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Disapointed

Not what I expected from Julie Garwood. I had to make myself finish this one.

posted by chrislovestodance on January 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Disapointed

    Not what I expected from Julie Garwood. I had to make myself finish this one.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    I want the old Julie back!

    Honestly, I was hoping this one would be great, because Sam Kincaid namesake - Alec Kincaid's story was FABULOUS!!! (The Bride). I think another reviewer mentioned it, the contemporary stories are falling short; the characters need more development, the plot is predictable and flat and you are left wanting more. I NEVER felt that way with the historical romances, til this day, I re-read those stories. The pages on those books are barely held together. I have no desire to re-read Sizzle, I was so dissapointed. I just didn't get the characters - what was their story - other than they are both gorgeous and thrown together for a matters of days - DAYS!!! Where is the complexity seen in the Bride with Jaime and Alec, or my goodness the depth in Ransom with Gillian and Brodick or in Castles, or The Gift... I could go on and on.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    Tedium

    Good beginning, but fizzled out.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    okay....not her best.

    good read but not her best...enjoyed the connection to past characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2010

    Not one of her Best Novels

    I have read a few of Garwoods books, and just fell in love with her writing style, weather it was present day or back in the highlands in the 1700's. This books seemed a bit short, and the characters didn't quite fit the bill. Not one of her best novels but worth reading once.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    Umm... what was that?

    Someone else must have written this book. I've read all of Julie Garwoods books and there is no way she wrote this. I can understand a boring story but the characters were one dimensional and the plot made no sense. Julie is one of the few authors who can write historical and contemporary novels. She's an author whose books I would buy without reading the cover or back. It seems like the person writing for Jude Deveraux is now writing for Julie Garwood.

    I recommend all her books prior to this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    Sizzle Fizzles

    Julie Garwood should stick to her over-the-top historical romances. Her attempts at modern crime drama are severely lacking. Although the premise of the book is interesting, the characters are flat, and the suspense is non-existent. Garwood should stop feeling pressured by authors like Nora Roberts, who are able to write well in both romance and crime genres, and stick to what she does best -- romance.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    not the usual Julie Garwood Sizzle.

    The book didn't start out like a Julie Garwood book. I have all of her other books and liked them so much i purchased all but two in hardback, library culled and such. This does not live up to expectation. It leaves me wondering if she used a ghost writer. I'm sorry i bought the hard back. Will try the next one, but paperback only hope it's better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    Wish I could say I liked this book but why pretend.

    Have loved the pervious books in this series but this one was full of ideas that never developed. What happened to the bright conversation? What did the two main characters have in common but sex? So many times the plot line
    just came to a full stop and jumped to something else and never came back to develop a connection to the story. It's as if an original list of plot ideas were thrown out and some stuck and some didn't. The problem is they didn't edit the losers. Had to force myself to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    Sizzle - are you kidding?

    This book had VERY explicit sex scenes that seemed incongruent with the story. Great if you were home sick and needed something to read but nothing I would reccomend to a friend.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Barely 2 stars

    I'd like the old Julie Garwood back, please. If you haven't purchased the hardcopy, don't. Wait for the paperback or a library copy. Like 'Fire and Ice', this latest novel disappoints true Garwood fans. I found myself skimming pages because they were boring and repetitive of what she's written in previous novels - same descriptions, etc. Not enough character development in this book to give the reader buy-in to the story. And, when the two finally declare their love, the last chapter or so just touch on highlights of their life in the year or so afterward, which is very unfulfilling. I won't be purchasing any new Garwood novels; I'll get it from the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Weak. Very Weak.

    I have only read one Julie Garwood book that I haven't liked and this book is it! I hated it! The storyline is unbelieveable and the characters are poorly written. In past books, Garwood has created characters that you wanted to be friends with, however, with this book the characters fall short. In fact the only character enjoyable was the crazy grandmother. The book starts off well by introducing the male lead and his relationship with characters from previous books. After that you might as well forget about it being a Garwood book because it has no similarities to her previous writing style or plot development. The attempts at humor in the book are borderline schizo and have more in common with a first time writer than someone of Garwood's success. Also, the book cover has no relevance to the book, characters, or plot. Save your money with this book. The only thing well written is the title!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3