Customer Reviews for

Sizzle

Average Rating 4
( 459 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(180)

4 Star

(124)

3 Star

(80)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Sizzle is the appropriate name for this action-packed romantic suspense thriller

In Los Angeles film student Lyra Prescott decides as her final project in Professor Mahler's class to make a documentary on Parisso Park, a dumping ground filled with broken bottles, dirty disposable diapers, old newspapers, and an assortment of other discarded trash. ...
In Los Angeles film student Lyra Prescott decides as her final project in Professor Mahler's class to make a documentary on Parisso Park, a dumping ground filled with broken bottles, dirty disposable diapers, old newspapers, and an assortment of other discarded trash. Near the "land filled" playground is a beautiful garden oasis that contrasts to the toxic dump. On her way home, Lyra stops at a yard sale in which Mrs. Rooney is giving away all her husband's things.

Lyra takes the CDs and tapes; unaware that crime boss Mr. Merriam wants his foot soldier Milo to snuff out the Rooneys as they have something that could put him away for a long time. His goons go to collect the evidence, but it is not where it is supposed to be. They learn Lra might have what they ar seeking. Two men are holding Lyra's roommate Sidney Buchanan prisoner waiting for her arrival. The two females escape and Sydney uses her contacts to get a bodyguard to protect Lyra. FBI agent Sam Kincaid arrives to do the job, but is stunned by his attraction to Lyra, who knows she can easily fall in love with her protector. They are shot at, her house is trashed, and a bomb is set under her car. Sam vows to risk his life to keep her safe though neither knows what the perpetrators want.

Sizzle is the appropriate name for this action-packed romantic suspense thriller as the relationship between Sam and Lyra never cools down. Fast-paced from the moment the hoodlums arrive and never taking a tension breather on the romance or suspense fronts, fans will be stunned to learn who is calling the shots and what the villains seek. Although the escapes especially the pre Sam getaway seem unlikely, Julie Garwood provides her fans with a great taut thriller with everyone (except the bad guys) rooting for this couple to not just survive but to make it together.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Disapointed

Not what I expected from Julie Garwood. I had to make myself finish this one.

posted by chrislovestodance on January 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyed this book

    I really enjoyed this book. Its a great read for Julie Garwood fans. If you never read Julie Garwood before I would start with another one of her novles. This is not one of her best works.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sizzle it Does

    Sizzle is Julie Garwood's latest contemporary romance. And it has all the bells and whistles. It has spunk, it has murder and it has mayhem and of course it has romance.
    Julie gives us a great new read in Sizzle. Her characters are wonderfully portrayed., they are beautifully detailed and she knows each one intimately. Her hero FBI agent Sam Kincaid and heroine Lyra Prescott are bigger than life and yet as cozy as your next door neighbors. And her villain Milo is to die for. She is an amazing storyteller and it shows as she spins this mystery and leaves her readers wondering who done it until the very end. The romance is first class and lives up to it's title because you'll need a fan going to get through the love scenes which are hot and yet very sweet.
    So get ready for the ride of your life in this exciting, nail biting, roller coaster romance.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Highly recommended - really great book.

    another great book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Really enjoyed it

    It was good, but im still waiting for more stories with the clan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Been laughing

    Since the KILLER showed up. Its been fun

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Funny AND Romantic

    Not only is this a quick read but its full of action, humor and steamy romance. The love scenes were in very good taste and I laughed outloud at multiple parts. I would definitely recommend this to freinds!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    Always delivers!

    Julie Garwood always delivers! Great characters and great love stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    Nice addition to her contemporary series

    While this is not my favorite Garwood book, it was still a great read. I particularly liked the characters, especially the interactions with family members and characters from previous books. If you're loooking for a Nora Roberts/Tami Hoag-esque thriller, this one is not for you. Sizzle IS a suspense novel, but is first and foremost a romance. Garwood is renowned for her character-driven stories, tender yet passionate love sequences, and comic undertones. She did not disappoint with this one. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this novel, and look forward to her next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Sizzle

    This book keeps you guessing till the end! It was enjoyable to see the main characters fighting their attraction as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I am thrilled to be back with the Kincaids. It is great that Julie has returned to the family of a previous book. I found Sam utterly charming and Lyla a refreshing change. I love all of Julie's books but I do wish she would occassionally return

    to a more historic story. All in all, this book is a keeper and a very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sizzle it does

    Sizzle is Julie Garwood's latest contemporary romance. And it has all the bells and whistles. It has spunk, it has murder and it has mayhem and of course it has romance.
    Julie gives us a great new read in Sizzle. Her characters are wonderfully portrayed., they are beautifully detailed and she knows each one intimately. Her hero FBI agent Sam Kincaid and heroine Lyra Prescott are bigger than life and yet as cozy as your next door neighbors. She is an amazing storyteller and it shows as she spins this mystery and leaves her readers wondering who done it until the very end. The romance is first class and lives up to it's title because you'll need a fan going to get through the love scenes which are hot and yet very sweet.
    So get ready for the ride of your life in this exciting, nail biting, roller coaster romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting Characters, Even Without Buchanans

    Sizzle uses Julie Garwood ususal formula: Someone is Trying to Murder a Gorgeous Woman and LEO (usually FBI) Saves the Day. This one had a good plot turn, although I did see it coming. The characters were well-drawn as usual and I thought it was more entertaining than Fire and Ice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    Sizzle ........ I liked it

    I have been a huge fan of Julie's for a long time. She could write the dictionary, and I would buy it. I liked this book. It took me 4 hours to read it, which means it kept my attention. Can't wait until next year for the next one. If you are reading this Julie, one more historical please. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    She's a great Writer by Linda

    I love all of her books, but I wish she would write more historical books. Those are my favorites. I also like to read about old characters and how they are doing. She has a lot of good characters to choose from.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7