Customer Reviews for

Sizzling Sixteen (Stephanie Plum Series #16)

Average Rating 4
( 1745 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(742)

4 Star

(431)

3 Star

(320)

2 Star

(130)

1 Star

(122)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

From a devoted fan of Plum & Co.

If you have not read the series, then obviously you have not enjoyed the continuous misadventures of Stephanie & Co. I for one cannot wait for 6-22 I will be at Barnes bright & early for the next installment of this wonderful series. Like so many of us I have been going...
If you have not read the series, then obviously you have not enjoyed the continuous misadventures of Stephanie & Co. I for one cannot wait for 6-22 I will be at Barnes bright & early for the next installment of this wonderful series. Like so many of us I have been going through Plum withdrawals waiting for 16. Then too soon it will be over & the wait for 17 begins. AHHH such is life!!!!

posted by pam2004books on May 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

disappointed.

So terribly disappointed in the book. I am in love with the Stephanie plum series, it was one of the first book series to steal my heart. and I love how Janet writes. But this book was so not what i thought it was going to be. definitely not SIZZLING! seriously. I am th...
So terribly disappointed in the book. I am in love with the Stephanie plum series, it was one of the first book series to steal my heart. and I love how Janet writes. But this book was so not what i thought it was going to be. definitely not SIZZLING! seriously. I am thinking about not buying any more of her books about stephanie after 14, 15, and now 16 being a total disappointment. :( i am not trying to be cruel about this, but thats how i feel. Maybe she should end the series on a good note, and give us a final wow! maybe her heart is not in it anymore :( which would make me terribly sad, but since its her creation she should do what she wants with it. as you can see im just really confused with my feelings on the subject.

posted by dmac1018 on July 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1760 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 88
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    disappointed.

    So terribly disappointed in the book. I am in love with the Stephanie plum series, it was one of the first book series to steal my heart. and I love how Janet writes. But this book was so not what i thought it was going to be. definitely not SIZZLING! seriously. I am thinking about not buying any more of her books about stephanie after 14, 15, and now 16 being a total disappointment. :( i am not trying to be cruel about this, but thats how i feel. Maybe she should end the series on a good note, and give us a final wow! maybe her heart is not in it anymore :( which would make me terribly sad, but since its her creation she should do what she wants with it. as you can see im just really confused with my feelings on the subject.

    28 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    Sure she wouldn't..

    @marilynihope I think it is absolutely JE's name that sells her books. Maybe not to new readers, but to the loyal fans who put her on the bestseller list year after year. She has in the past, been very proud of her "brand". I have been to multiple signings, and have met her and Alex, both, several times and I have to say I most certainly do not agree that she wouldn't let anyone else touch the Plum books. The last few haven't had the same tone or voice as the earlier ones. I don't remember bathroom humor in the earlier books. Someone thinks that's funny. I think she would and has let someone else write Plum. Most specifically, Alex.

    27 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    Janet Evanovich's Sizzling Sixteen should be titled Fizzling Sixteen! Ugh!

    I can not believe that I paid for this book! Come to think of it, the last three books!

    26 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    where was the sizzle?

    When I hear the word "sizzle" I think either Ranger or Morelli but, unfotunately, neither had a very big part in this book. The story line was just too unbeliable, drawn out and boring. How many times can the stop at Cluck-in-a-Bucket be funny? I was very disappointed in this book. I hope to see more of the chemistry between Stephanie and Morelli and all the quirks of jersey in the next book.

    24 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2010

    Please please some plot development

    I have all of the Stephanie Plum books, have loved the series, have shared them with friends and we all love Grandma Mazur, but the last 3 in this series have fallen a bit flat. Okay, more than fallen a bit flat -- they've gotten boring, very predictable, silly, and in desperate need of a plot beside is it Joe or is it Ranger, Lula needs to eat and Stephanie needs a new car again. This is hard for me to say since I have always loved this series and preorder the instant I see the next one available. If there is another one, I'm sure I'll buy it and read it, but I wish for a better storyline!!

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    VERY DISAPPOINTING

    Out of all 16 books, this was the worst. Two of the main characters Morelli and Ranger had very small parts in the whole book. Evanovich also reused plots from previous books. In fact, the last two books of this series have made me not like Stephanie the main character. She comes off as dingy and somewhat like a "ho". Usually these books will have at least one laugh out loud moment but this one did not have any. I would not recommend buying this book. I sure wish I hadn't. Don't worry if you don't read it you won't miss anything. If Evanovich writes another one I sure hope she actually puts a little more thought into it.

    16 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    From a devoted fan of Plum & Co.

    If you have not read the series, then obviously you have not enjoyed the continuous misadventures of Stephanie & Co. I for one cannot wait for 6-22 I will be at Barnes bright & early for the next installment of this wonderful series. Like so many of us I have been going through Plum withdrawals waiting for 16. Then too soon it will be over & the wait for 17 begins. AHHH such is life!!!!

    14 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2010

    Not Up to the Usual Quality

    Finger Lickin' Fifteen was marginal, but this latest effort was way beneath Janet Evanovich. Let's start with the printed book itself - the margins were so wide, it seemed the book was a paperback printed on full size paper and sold as a hard cover. If the text had taken more of the page as is normal, the page count would probably have been around 150 - not a full length novel, but a short story! And an incomplete one at that! What a rip-off!

    Moving on to the story, it was page after page of almost verbatim excerpts from other books, with little to flesh out in between to make up a new and unique story. Yes we know that Lula is a former 'ho who dresses in way too small spandex clothes and thinks constantly about food and dieting. The character's description does not need to take up two to three pages every chapter with nothing new or quirky to add. We know that Stephanie has an on again, off again, relationship with Joe Morelli. Their latest fight was almost a carbon copy of a fight from a prior book (peanut butter instead of bread) - yet it was referred to in passing in several chapters, yet never actually fleshed out beyond the usual blah, blah, blah of the previous arguments. We know about Ranger, we know about Grandma Mazur.

    The all too familiar and beloved characters were trotted out one by one, their background stories re-hashed as if we'd never met them before, and then moved on. No plot details, no in-depth story, not even a new and witty adventure at Stiva's. Again, simply a blah, blah, blah, Grandma this and Grandma that - end of scene.

    In short - it was all background and hardly any actual story! When the end rolled around, I was shocked to find the entire story was contained in about 3 of the chapters of the book!

    What happened Janet? Saying that this was phoned in is giving it too much credit. If I was to place a bet, I'd say it was written by someone else who has made a real study of Stephanie Plum books - but can't actually write.

    I sure hope #17 is better.

    13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    Come on already!!!

    I always pick up the next Stephanie Plum with great expectations ... and the last 3 have been utter disappointments. What a waste of an excellent cast of characters! I'm questioning whether Ms. Evanovich even wrote this one! There was absolutely no life to the book at all, even Stephanie seemed tired of going through the same old thing yet again. Also, the jacket description alluded to things that weren't in the book and whoever proofed the book needs to learn how to spell! As with any relationship, even one with a fictional heroine, there needs to be growth. Let Stephanie grow!!!!

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Eh - not the best - but not the worst

    I love the first 12 of the Plum series - but it seems Janet is getting tired - it might be time to move on to another series for her. Sizzling Sixteen was cute - worth getting from the library - or even in paperback. I liked the fact Connie was more in this book as well as Vinnie - it made it fun. On a side note - it's very much a Plum book - I don't know what people are saying - that Janet didn't write this. It reminded me a lot of Metro Girl.

    Advice - wait for paperback and read it while sitting out by the pool with a fruity drink. (Don't forget the sunblock).

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    More Summer Fun

    Sizzling Sixteen - I think this is the best storyline/mystery that we've had in a long time, maybe since HE. And it's Janet Evanovich, so you know it's funny. Not as many laugh out loud moments as usual maybe, but the good thing for me is that very, very few of them were of the slapstick, toilet humor variety.

    While there were scenes for both Babes and Cupcakes, this is definitely a Stephanie, Lula & Connie caper with some great Mooner and Vinnie thrown in. Who knew there is a Grandma Plum and that Vinnie would hold her over Stephanie's head? Always fun to learn about new Burg family members - like Connie's brother.

    Stephanie shows a bit of understanding about something many readers may have been wondering about with Ranger and there's a bit more insight into her relationship with Joe, including one scene that was adorable for me. Stephanie seems to have taken another baby step or two on both the relationship and professional fronts, we'll see if they play out in 17.

    Plum fans everywhere will have a great time with this book. I'm already eagerly awaiting next year's installment because there is a tiny cliff hanger here about everyone's future.

    Happy Reading!

    11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    Sizzling Sixteen is a dose of cold water.

    All these years I have laughed and even shed a tear or two for the wonderful characters of the Stephanie Plum series. However, this last book was boring, repetitive, unexciting, and totally forgetful. I am sorry I spent my money. Ms. Evanovick is bored with her characters. So she needs to cease and desist spinning Stephanie's life until her enthusiasm returns for Morelli, Ranger, LuLu, Grandma and all. I will not buy something like "Silly Seventeen" as the author no longer cares about her readers. She only cares about her royalties.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2010

    Seems like it was written in a hurry just to meet a deadline

    There was very little substance to the story, the plot wasn't plausible. It didn't give me any feeling of excitement or anxiety about the outcome. There was so much fluff and waste about doughnuts & diets, it was overdone and boring. How long can Stephanie keep living like a college student and how long can she keep two strong, take charge men dangling like teenage boys? I was hoping for more depth.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    same old same old

    Wish Janet make a decision with one man than end it with a bang. Than start new.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    Not that great.

    I have read all the books in the Stepanie Plum series. I have to say I was very disappointed in this book. The story line is not very imaginative, and the book is only 186 pages. I love all the other books in the series,but with this one I feel I got cheated.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2010

    This series is sizzling out...

    Love her books to death but the series is becoming so repetitive. Cars blown up, bad guys throwing off shots, doughnut eating, Lula in tight clothes, more doughnut eating, enter Morelli, enter Ranger, nothing happens, Stephanie narrowly escapes but does, eats more doughnuts, Grandma Mazur funny line, fried chicken eating, MORE doughnut eating, and yet Stephanie stays skinny, hot, without 'action', and never ages. Will continue to read the books like any true fan, but I wish she'd finish this series and start a new one!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    Disappointed

    I was actually disappointed. I love all of her books, but now they are getting predictable and boring.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2010

    Worst one yet

    Enough already with these go no where characters. We actually waited a year for this? No thought at all ... Hobbits? Seriously? Move on. I want my money back.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    BLECH!

    Boring, nothing new here, don't bother. Janet really needs to end this series. Just get it from the library - don't waste your money.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    LAST ONE FOR ME

    Sorry, but the plots are the same and getting predictable.
    No change for the characters and just not funny anymore...
    She needs to end the series, but I have read my last one........

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1760 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 88