Customer Reviews for

Sizzling Sixteen (Stephanie Plum Series #16)

Average Rating 4
( 1750 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(743)

4 Star

(433)

3 Star

(320)

2 Star

(130)

1 Star

(124)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

From a devoted fan of Plum & Co.

If you have not read the series, then obviously you have not enjoyed the continuous misadventures of Stephanie & Co. I for one cannot wait for 6-22 I will be at Barnes bright & early for the next installment of this wonderful series. Like so many of us I have been going...
If you have not read the series, then obviously you have not enjoyed the continuous misadventures of Stephanie & Co. I for one cannot wait for 6-22 I will be at Barnes bright & early for the next installment of this wonderful series. Like so many of us I have been going through Plum withdrawals waiting for 16. Then too soon it will be over & the wait for 17 begins. AHHH such is life!!!!

posted by pam2004books on May 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

disappointed.

So terribly disappointed in the book. I am in love with the Stephanie plum series, it was one of the first book series to steal my heart. and I love how Janet writes. But this book was so not what i thought it was going to be. definitely not SIZZLING! seriously. I am th...
So terribly disappointed in the book. I am in love with the Stephanie plum series, it was one of the first book series to steal my heart. and I love how Janet writes. But this book was so not what i thought it was going to be. definitely not SIZZLING! seriously. I am thinking about not buying any more of her books about stephanie after 14, 15, and now 16 being a total disappointment. :( i am not trying to be cruel about this, but thats how i feel. Maybe she should end the series on a good note, and give us a final wow! maybe her heart is not in it anymore :( which would make me terribly sad, but since its her creation she should do what she wants with it. as you can see im just really confused with my feelings on the subject.

posted by dmac1018 on July 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 130 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted June 27, 2010

    Not Up to the Usual Quality

    Finger Lickin' Fifteen was marginal, but this latest effort was way beneath Janet Evanovich. Let's start with the printed book itself - the margins were so wide, it seemed the book was a paperback printed on full size paper and sold as a hard cover. If the text had taken more of the page as is normal, the page count would probably have been around 150 - not a full length novel, but a short story! And an incomplete one at that! What a rip-off!

    Moving on to the story, it was page after page of almost verbatim excerpts from other books, with little to flesh out in between to make up a new and unique story. Yes we know that Lula is a former 'ho who dresses in way too small spandex clothes and thinks constantly about food and dieting. The character's description does not need to take up two to three pages every chapter with nothing new or quirky to add. We know that Stephanie has an on again, off again, relationship with Joe Morelli. Their latest fight was almost a carbon copy of a fight from a prior book (peanut butter instead of bread) - yet it was referred to in passing in several chapters, yet never actually fleshed out beyond the usual blah, blah, blah of the previous arguments. We know about Ranger, we know about Grandma Mazur.

    The all too familiar and beloved characters were trotted out one by one, their background stories re-hashed as if we'd never met them before, and then moved on. No plot details, no in-depth story, not even a new and witty adventure at Stiva's. Again, simply a blah, blah, blah, Grandma this and Grandma that - end of scene.

    In short - it was all background and hardly any actual story! When the end rolled around, I was shocked to find the entire story was contained in about 3 of the chapters of the book!

    What happened Janet? Saying that this was phoned in is giving it too much credit. If I was to place a bet, I'd say it was written by someone else who has made a real study of Stephanie Plum books - but can't actually write.

    I sure hope #17 is better.

    13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    Sizzling Sixteen is a dose of cold water.

    All these years I have laughed and even shed a tear or two for the wonderful characters of the Stephanie Plum series. However, this last book was boring, repetitive, unexciting, and totally forgetful. I am sorry I spent my money. Ms. Evanovick is bored with her characters. So she needs to cease and desist spinning Stephanie's life until her enthusiasm returns for Morelli, Ranger, LuLu, Grandma and all. I will not buy something like "Silly Seventeen" as the author no longer cares about her readers. She only cares about her royalties.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2010

    Seems like it was written in a hurry just to meet a deadline

    There was very little substance to the story, the plot wasn't plausible. It didn't give me any feeling of excitement or anxiety about the outcome. There was so much fluff and waste about doughnuts & diets, it was overdone and boring. How long can Stephanie keep living like a college student and how long can she keep two strong, take charge men dangling like teenage boys? I was hoping for more depth.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    same old same old

    Wish Janet make a decision with one man than end it with a bang. Than start new.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    Disappointed

    I was actually disappointed. I love all of her books, but now they are getting predictable and boring.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2010

    What happened? The books used to be so good!

    I don't know why, but this book, which should have been good, was disjointed and I did not enjoy it at all. The strength of these books used to be the mix of big laughs and thrills that kept me on the edge of my seat, but they seem to have vanished in "Sizzling Sixteen." Even the Steph/Morelli/Ranger love triangle was bobbled in this book. Get on with it already!

    Also, if one reads the cover of the book it states that Vinnie was living with Ranger while in hiding, but was kicked out due to running up a pay-per-view bill. This had the potential to be hilarious, but it never even happened in the book! What's up with that? I also miss Stephanie's family. Except for a brief moment, they hardly appear at all in this book. They are missed because they always bring humor to the book, and this sure could have used it!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2010

    Dragging On

    I have really loved this series of books. They have been laugh out loud funny. However you can really tell she is burning out on this book and needs to find an ending and move on to something else.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    Just so-so

    I've been a fan of the Stephanie Plum series, but sometimes you need to finish a good run before it turns bad. Although there were some parts in the book that made me laugh, the whole plot lacked substance. I hate to say it, but I'm tired of the Stephanie/Joe/Ranger love triangle. The fence has been straddled for too long. The situations are getting redundant and boring. I'm almost apathetic now and I believe if this series continues then the credibility of the main character is gone. It's time for Stephanie to grow up.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    I feel a little cheated

    I have been defending the last few books from this series, but just can't do it with this one. There wasn't one "laugh out loud" moment that I'm used to, I'm starting to get irritated with the Morelli/Ranger storyline, and this book just wasn't nearly as exciting as the previous books.
    I'll still keep reading the series, and hoping they get back to the way they were.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    Not worth it

    Ms. Evanovich should really take a long break from this series. I ordered the e-book and couldn't believe it was only 185 pages. $12.99 for 185 pages of disappointment and too much hype. This book could have been written by anyone who has read the previous 15 books. There was no originality (the bottle was just plain wrong) and none of the laugh out loud scenes we have come to enjoy. Save your money. And check out the excerpt for 17 before paying money for it!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    Huh?

    How can the story synopsis say that Vinnie is running up pay-per view bills for porn in Ranger's apartment when he didn't even go there in the story? Did I miss something or did the author AND the publisher make a serious faux pas? Maybe that was in the part of the book that got left out? I seriously thought that part of my book was missing when I read the last page and it was about Morelli buying panties for Stephanie. The synopsis also states that Stephanie gets lucky in the book. Did I miss that as well or were we supposed to imagine what happened? Even Grandma wasn't funny in this one--her laugh out loud moments were the whole reason I started reading this series! No more for me. Not worth the money.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My Least Favorite!

    I have been waiting over a year for this new book! Last summer I read the first 15 books in the Stephanie Plum series. I could not put them down...this new one was another story. Where were most of the usual characers? When is Steph ever going to get more involved with Ranger or Morelli? There was no sizzle or new character developments, except with Vinnie who is one of my least favorite characters in the series. I hope the next one has some serious WOW factor...I can't take another disappointing book!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2010

    So-So Sixteen

    What a disappointment. I've always loved the Stephanie Plum series of books. Although quirky, the characters are usually well developed, the story lines are tight and the humor is biting. Unfortunately, Sizzling Sixteen is all frosting and no cake--the first bite is fun but you're quickly looking for some substance! Stephanie Plum and company have become caricatures. The dialog is awkward and stereotypes seemed to have replaced the once endearing cast. The biggest disappointment to Sizzling Sixteen is the flat tire humor. The previous books in this series have been laugh out loud, wipe the tears funny! This installment is like a badly told joke; you're left grimacing and wanting the awkwardness to end. I'm hoping that Sizzling Sixteen is not an indicator of where Janet Evanovich is heading with her writing. This book was a waste of her talent and my time.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    Did not meet expectations

    After waiting the usual year for a new Plum adventure I was very disappointed in #16. Plot was weak and it lacked the humor and sizzle of previous books in the series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2010

    Not my favoite Plum book

    I am a big Plum fan and hope the series never ends....if 15 and 16 are not a reflection of future books. The synopsis was misleading. Vinnie did not stay at Ranger's apartment running up pay-per-view bills for porn. I was hoping Ranger would make a deal with Stephanie (same as in book 8). He would keep Vinnie if she would spend a night with him. Ranger did tell Stephanie he loves her, which is why it is important for him to keep her safe. She seemed to want to be with Ranger, but is aware she cannot stay in his bed forever.
    Not much Morelli in this one either. They split up because Stephanie forgot to buy bread. Typical of their relationship. Their relationship is at a stand still, perfect timing for her relationship with Ranger to evolve.
    I miss the love triangle, wit, suspense and humor of previous Plum books, 1-14 and the in between books. I miss the in between books, but am looking forward to Wicked Appetite. Although, I wish Diesel could have stayed in Trenton.
    This book just seems rushed and lacked everything I love about the Plum series. Maybe Janet is devoting much of her time to the Barnaby series and didn't have time to dedicate to the Plum series.
    Sixteen ends with Joe bringing thongs to Stephanie's apartment and she owes Ranger...big time. Hopefully in 17 she will pay her debt to Ranger and spend the night with him (it hasn't happened since book 8) and continue to be confused about the two men in her life. Maybe the other characters will get their personalities back.
    Janet should start working on 17 now and release it sometime this year to keep her fans.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    Time to Wrap it up! Boring!!!!!!

    I have loved the Stephanie Plum series for years but its time for Janet Evanovich to wrap up the series. The last few books have not come close to the earlier ones. "Sizzling Sixteen" is simply a re-write of Fifteen..... Many of the descriptions were obviously "cut & paste" from previous books. The Joe vs Ranger thing has not moved forward since book 8!!! And whomever proof read this book needs to find another profession. There were so many errors I actually had to stop reading to figure out what the sentence was suppose to say. Also, obviously the print of the book with a large amount of white space tells me that Ms Evanovich is running out of ideas for these characters and the publisher is milking her fans as long as they can. I will never re-read Fifteen or Sixteen so in the future I will wait to get future books @ the library if at all. When I need a Stephanie, Joe, Ranger, Lula, & Grandma fix, I will re-read One thru Ten and remember why I fell in love with these characters in the first place!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    Wrong title for this book; there was NO sizzle

    I sincerely hope that Janet E reads these reviews. While I am a huge fan of Stephanie and the gang, this book was not up to speed. Do not waste your money on this one, get it from the library.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    Come on Janet Evonovich!

    This book, along with the last 2 or 3, are getting very boring. What made this work before was the inclusion of the family. Grandma Mazur, mom and dad and for a love connection, Morelli and Ranger. How many times can Stephanie and Lula mess up and it still be funny. I hope with the ending in this one it stirs up some new material for the next one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2010

    No Heat in this One

    Same old - same old. There was nothing exciting or new with this one. I believe it might be time to wrap up the series. The last one was mediocre this was just plain boring and so ridiculous (Hobbits-really?). There was barely any interaction with either Ranger or Morelli. I also agree with another review that the book was soooo short. I wish it would have been better especially since I have enjoyed the series for so long.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    Sixteen has run out of steam

    I have been a fan of Evanovich since One for the Money, but this one is not funny, not entertaining and not worth the money. I had to force myself to finish it. HO HUM.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 130 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7