Customer Reviews for

Sizzling Sixteen (Stephanie Plum Series #16)

Average Rating 4
( 1741 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(741)

4 Star

(429)

3 Star

(320)

2 Star

(130)

1 Star

(121)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

From a devoted fan of Plum & Co.

If you have not read the series, then obviously you have not enjoyed the continuous misadventures of Stephanie & Co. I for one cannot wait for 6-22 I will be at Barnes bright & early for the next installment of this wonderful series. Like so many of us I have been going...
If you have not read the series, then obviously you have not enjoyed the continuous misadventures of Stephanie & Co. I for one cannot wait for 6-22 I will be at Barnes bright & early for the next installment of this wonderful series. Like so many of us I have been going through Plum withdrawals waiting for 16. Then too soon it will be over & the wait for 17 begins. AHHH such is life!!!!

posted by pam2004books on May 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

disappointed.

So terribly disappointed in the book. I am in love with the Stephanie plum series, it was one of the first book series to steal my heart. and I love how Janet writes. But this book was so not what i thought it was going to be. definitely not SIZZLING! seriously. I am th...
So terribly disappointed in the book. I am in love with the Stephanie plum series, it was one of the first book series to steal my heart. and I love how Janet writes. But this book was so not what i thought it was going to be. definitely not SIZZLING! seriously. I am thinking about not buying any more of her books about stephanie after 14, 15, and now 16 being a total disappointment. :( i am not trying to be cruel about this, but thats how i feel. Maybe she should end the series on a good note, and give us a final wow! maybe her heart is not in it anymore :( which would make me terribly sad, but since its her creation she should do what she wants with it. as you can see im just really confused with my feelings on the subject.

posted by dmac1018 on July 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 130 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    Not as funny as the others.

    The book was good but not as funny as the others. The Ranger "romance" is what keeps me coming back and I keep hoping with each book that will go farther. I love to hate Morelli, what a jerk. Grandma Mazur and Lula are a hoot. I enjoy the series and will continue to follow.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    Soooooo disappointing!

    I actually finished the book and thought maybe I had missed something. I read it in ebook format and there were only 185 pages. The way that it ended I thought maybe my download had prematurely ended (a coincidence). If Janet Evanovich wants to keep her readers I would suggest she get started on 17 right now and have it ready for Christmas. It's not worth waiting a whole year to buy the sequel to this one!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2010

    Unsatisfying Sixteen

    I love the Stephanie Plum series, but all of the books have been declining in recent times, and sixteen was just plain awful. I found myself hoping that this would be the last book and Stephanie would run off with a man to marry him. Evanovich is merely going through the motions of a Plum book, and is just disappointing people with these sub par books. Not only was the print extra large and the margins wide enough to draw a mansion, adding a page between each chapter is absurd. The book almost had two different stories in them(neither had enough plot to be considered a true story) and the entire book was rather scattered. Each book gets more dramatic with the bad guys, but less eventful and less believable plot. Eventually, there will probably be an evil prince from another planet who wants to kill Stephanie because she's from Earth. I'm not sure I'll even pick up the 17th book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Just another repeat

    There wasn't very much "sizzle" to this Plum at all. Pretty much just "same old, same old". A few laughs, a couple of new characters, but mostly the same people doing the exact same things over and over. I found myself rushing through it so that I could start another book. It would be a much smaller book if they had used normal margins and type - you can tell they are stretching the thin story line and characters to make a full novel. I write and edit bulletins and newsletters, so I know the tricks of making less look like more. Sorry, just can't recommend this series anymore.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Not as good as the first 10

    I have read all of the books in the Stephanie Plum series and I must say that this one seems exceptionally short and not as engaging as the others were. I really enjoy the Stephanie Plum series! Each book flows with such ease that you can finish an entire book in one sitting. But you will want to buy each of them so that you can go back and read them again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    Can't hit a home run every time

    I'm a huge Janet Evanovich fan, but this book didn't measure up. In fact, it seems that the last two books (15 & 16) have been lacking. I suppose it would be hard to write that many books with the same characters and continue to come up with really funny and interesting plots. I love Ranger and Morelli and would like to see more about them in her stories. While I am disappointed in this book, I will look forward to reading #17.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Asmen

    He turns back to 16 he didnt have the scar wow he thought

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Needs to start going somewhere.

    I am new comer to SP series and have read all the books up to this one in the past 2 weeks and still love them. However, the last ones are getting a bit boring and same ol same ol. I sort of expected them to be similar. Bounty hunter doing her thing, but would love to see Stephanie grow a bit. Learn from her mistakes as a bounty hunter and make up her mind. I know JE has said if u have Ranger and Morelli why would u choose, but come on already how long can you really drag it out??? I guess at least to 18.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Disappointing

    I've read all fifteen novels before this one and found them a fun, mindless read before bed. Loved the first dozen or so and laughed out loud lots of times. Number 16 left me bored and trying hard to finish, always hoping it would get better. The writing has become lazy and formulaic. The romance has gone stale or nonexistent. Hate the bathroom humor. The author insults us with this writing, and after all, we've made her rich! I expect more. Time to move on if this topic has dried up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    I will still read the next one!

    I was greatly disappointed with this book. Usually I can't put her books down. I could hardly finish this one. Saying this, I will buy the next and hope it's keeps me on edge like earlier ones did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Not painful

    Books one through twelve were so good, after discovering JE, I don't think I read another author until I finished all of her books. With thirteen through fifteen, I was so disappointed I wanted to cry. I love JE's writing style. She makes me laugh out loud. In sixteen, I laughed a little, but not enough. The story was better than 13 and 14(I couldn't believe those two after enjoying Twelve Sharp so much). I'm not like most readers who want Steph and Ranger together. Ranger wouldn't be Ranger anymore. Being a hopeless romantic, I would like her relationship with Joe to mature. I like him.
    I'm skeptical about the next book in the series, but loyalist that I am, I will probably take the time to read it a search for the good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not this time

    Get Rid Of The Monkey! A poorly written book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    I love her book, just not this one!

    I love this series but was disappointed with this one! Not as funny as the others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    No so Funny

    I've enjoyed the Plum series but they are getting redundant. This was a fast predictable read with no surprises. In stead of purchasing the next one I'll be getting it from the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 130 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7