Customer Reviews for

Skein of the Crime (Knitting Mystery Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The readers will quickly become engaged in Maggie Sefton's latest amateur sleuth

She used to work at an East Coast CPA firm, but moved to the university town of Fort Connor where she opened up her own consulting service. She comes home one night and opens her patio door to let her Rottweiler Carl in when she sees a young woman nearby. When she spe...
She used to work at an East Coast CPA firm, but moved to the university town of Fort Connor where she opened up her own consulting service. She comes home one night and opens her patio door to let her Rottweiler Carl in when she sees a young woman nearby. When she speaks to her, the woman fails to respond or react to her surroundings. It is rather quickly that Kelly realizes the college student is very high; she calls 911 and the responders take the female away by ambulance.

A month later Kelly goes to the knitting store in the House of Lampspun to help the proprietor. Also there is Holly, the girl on the porch, who is sober and no longer attends so many parties. A few days later, Kelly hears that Holly died of an overdose near the path to the golf course by Kelly's home. Holly's boyfriend Tommy, who she was dependent on, is upset and intends to find the seller. His mother begs him not to get involved because he can lose his medical scholarship. Kelly volunteers to snoop and keep Tommy informed. She asks Patty, a party girl, who was friends with Holly, to ask around to find out who was selling. Kelly follows up with each clue Polly provides and her own questioning of others until she concludes that Holly did not die from an accidental overdose; but to prove it remains seemingly out of reach.

The readers will quickly be engaged in Maggie Sefton's latest amateur sleuth (see Drop Dead Stitch) due to the plight of the college student. Putting aside why Kelly investigates, she conducts a believable inquiry when she asks questions by having someone accompany her when she interviews someone. Enhancing the story line is the deteriorating relationship between Kelly and her boyfriend Steve the architect. Readers will enjoy the latest case as the protagonist knits together the death of a college student.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on April 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

What a Disappointment!

I have purchased and enjoyed every one of Maggie Sefton's knitting mystery series. But this latest one was a huge disappointment to me. I can't count the number of times I read that Kelly needed her caffeine jolt, or that she dropped into Lambspun to knit, Then there wa...
I have purchased and enjoyed every one of Maggie Sefton's knitting mystery series. But this latest one was a huge disappointment to me. I can't count the number of times I read that Kelly needed her caffeine jolt, or that she dropped into Lambspun to knit, Then there was her relationship with Steve or lack thereof. And the ending was pure "soap opera" unbelievable. I couldn't believe that was THE END. The mystery seemed to be almost a sidebar to the story. For me I guess there was too much "chatting" and not enough mystery. I realize the characters build with each new book, but I think we pretty much know the characters. I won't pre-order the book coming in November, but will wait to preview it in the store first.

posted by mysteriesformeCA on July 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The readers will quickly become engaged in Maggie Sefton's latest amateur sleuth

    She used to work at an East Coast CPA firm, but moved to the university town of Fort Connor where she opened up her own consulting service. She comes home one night and opens her patio door to let her Rottweiler Carl in when she sees a young woman nearby. When she speaks to her, the woman fails to respond or react to her surroundings. It is rather quickly that Kelly realizes the college student is very high; she calls 911 and the responders take the female away by ambulance.

    A month later Kelly goes to the knitting store in the House of Lampspun to help the proprietor. Also there is Holly, the girl on the porch, who is sober and no longer attends so many parties. A few days later, Kelly hears that Holly died of an overdose near the path to the golf course by Kelly's home. Holly's boyfriend Tommy, who she was dependent on, is upset and intends to find the seller. His mother begs him not to get involved because he can lose his medical scholarship. Kelly volunteers to snoop and keep Tommy informed. She asks Patty, a party girl, who was friends with Holly, to ask around to find out who was selling. Kelly follows up with each clue Polly provides and her own questioning of others until she concludes that Holly did not die from an accidental overdose; but to prove it remains seemingly out of reach.

    The readers will quickly be engaged in Maggie Sefton's latest amateur sleuth (see Drop Dead Stitch) due to the plight of the college student. Putting aside why Kelly investigates, she conducts a believable inquiry when she asks questions by having someone accompany her when she interviews someone. Enhancing the story line is the deteriorating relationship between Kelly and her boyfriend Steve the architect. Readers will enjoy the latest case as the protagonist knits together the death of a college student.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    Love the Knitting Mysteries!

    I got a Nook Color from my fiance for Valentine's Day (best present ever, that keeps on giving!) so I can read something almost as soon as it becomes available. I love to knit and enjoy reading about it. I have been following this series for a few years now and a read through this story in under three days. I am a college student (even though I am 45) a psych major. I appreciate how Ms. Sefton researches for her books. I think she might develop her characters a little more (suggestion, but I am no expert)give a little more depth into Kelly's psyche and Steve's as well. It would give some insight into why Steve acted as he did, e.g. what happened in his upbringing? How did his caretaker's financial and emotional styles influence him? It might make the books longer (I would LOVE that) I wish she wrote faster! I already finished this and the next in the series, so I have to wait to see if Kelly and Steve's relationship has a chance! In addition, her books made me put Ft.Collins CO on my travel destination list!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    Highly recommended if you have grown to love and care about the characters in this series as I have!

    This book is not as exciting as the previous books in the series, but I have grown to love and care about the characters and I would definitely read the next in the series. I hope it comes out soon even though some of the other reviews have not been glowing. I want to know what happens to Kelly's love life since Steve broke her heart. I also want to know about all of the other characters and how they are growing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not the best of this series

    I have read and enjoyed the first 7 books in this series, but this one was a disapointment. But I probably will read the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    Sad, but awful

    I can't believe this is a mystery. Written at a very, very basic level, too much coffee, knitting (and I love knitting), I mean six or seven pages on felting...and the mystery was incidental, maybe took 6 pages of the book. Won't buy the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A believable yarn

    Fort Connor, Colorado had been a peaceful place ever since the murder of Kelly Flynn's Aunt Helen three years before. Some things aren't forgotten, but everything somehow seemed to nestle back into place and Kelly's most pressing need was simply choosing a yarn for her boyfriend Steve's hat. The camaraderie at Lambspun, the local knitting shop, made for cozy company where clacking tongues and knitting needles joined together to make a lively community of friendly knitters. In fact, Jennifer had just called to see if Kelly wanted to help Barbara Macenroe with a class of knitters. Knit one, purl two. It sounded like a plan and instead of crunching numbers as a CPA, she'd be counting stitches.

    With knitting on her mind that night Kelly was ready to settle into a cozy evening at her cottage, the one she inherited from Aunt Helen, when she noticed her dog, Carl, was unsettled. She suddenly spotted a young woman standing like a zombie on her patio, but this was Lemay Avenue, not Elm Street and it was an eyebrow raiser with a freaky twist. The girl began to rock and smile and if Kelly had been a scrapbooker instead of a knitter that girl's forehead could easily have been stamped with the word "gonzo." Was there something in the Fort Connor water, or what?

    Just as Kelly seemed to have forgotten the incident she learned that Holly Kaiser, the druggie, had apparently cured herself and was going to be taking a knitting class at Lambspun. "Mother Mimi" was going to take her under her wing. It was a good thing because outside of getting that gal off her patio, Kelly had no interest in being a nursemaid to some freaky college student. It was bad enough that she learned that Holly was Barbara's son Tommy's girlfriend.

    Just when you thought the madness would stop it started to churn again. There were six attacks on the river trail in as many months and with this girl on board, things were beginning to hop in Fort Connor again. It wouldn't be long before the needles would stop clacking and the tongues would start up in earnest. Some girl had been killed over on the river trail. Guess who? Kelly would soon be doing a lot more sleuthing than knitting because that corpse just happened to be Holly's.

    If you want a nice unrushed mystery that moves along at a comfortable pace, "Skein of the Crime" is one you'll totally enjoy. It has all those elements of a real life soap opera that could just happen in your neighborhood. There are the gossipers, the wedding planners, the faction who enjoys a good "pharmacological stew," the coffee clutches 'n knitting clans, the "jilted ex-girlfriend" . . . everything that makes every other small town in America click. I have not read any of the previous books in this series, but found this one can stand alone quiet nicely. It was one of the types I looked forward to reading a chapter or two each night.

    Quill says: If you like a cozy mystery that has all the elements that will spin a believable yarn instead of a quirky one, this is a tale you're going to love!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    What a Disappointment!

    I have purchased and enjoyed every one of Maggie Sefton's knitting mystery series. But this latest one was a huge disappointment to me. I can't count the number of times I read that Kelly needed her caffeine jolt, or that she dropped into Lambspun to knit, Then there was her relationship with Steve or lack thereof. And the ending was pure "soap opera" unbelievable. I couldn't believe that was THE END. The mystery seemed to be almost a sidebar to the story. For me I guess there was too much "chatting" and not enough mystery. I realize the characters build with each new book, but I think we pretty much know the characters. I won't pre-order the book coming in November, but will wait to preview it in the store first.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    I finally gave up with this series. To much repetitiveness. It

    I finally gave up with this series. To much repetitiveness. It was like reading the same book over and over. AGGGGGGGGGG!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    good clean mystery

    Enjoyed reading it. Nice to read something with good language in it. Will read next sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Iknjnn

    Ko.
    Ok...l.

    Vn b

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoy reading these books, because they are in Colorado, a pla

    I enjoy reading these books, because they are in Colorado, a place that I could only imagine what it is like.While I am reading I am so involved with reader that I feel like I am actually there

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    Love the whole series!

    I fell in love with this series. I enjoy all of the books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Poor Kelly!

    Already pre-ordered next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3