Customer Reviews for

Skeleton Crew

Average Rating 4
( 137 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2007

    This book is the epitome of imagination.

    Rarely do I read everything a short story collection has to offer. I normally prefer a good-sized novel, reserving a short story or two for the in-between times when I can't decide which novel I'd like to read next. I approached Skeleton Crew in this manner. I skipped ahead (ignoring many fine stories in the process), read the story Gramma, and placed the book back on my shelf. The next day at work, however, I couldn't get the story out of my head. It was maddening, but in a good way. I decided to give a few more of the stories a chance. I soon devoured The Jaunt, The Monkey, Uncle Otto's Truck, and The Ballad of the Flexible Bullet. They all had Gramma's staying power, and Skeleton Crew became somewhat of an addiction. I decided to read every story, and I spaced them out one per day (excluding The Mist, which is of novella length). Once I'd finished them all, I found just how imaginative Stephen King can be in short bursts, and how valuable and overlooked a meduim the short story is. They're the literary equivalent of a television show. Both can be experienced in one sitting, but the short story won't rot your brain or fatten your posterior. And although some people seem to harbor nothing but disrespect for Stephen King, he really is a good writer with a great imagination. Skeleton Crew is one of his best offerings.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2005

    Wow...

    I've been reading SK since 4th grade. The Jaunt was simply brilliant. 'Gramma' is the only story of his in 26 years that I cannot read again....purely horrifying. Just remembering it gives me the shivers...but I suppose that's the point? Ayuh.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    To boo

    Yes

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2008

    Great Short Stories!!

    This is my favorite collection of short stories by Stephen King!! I have read it several times. My favorite story is 'The Mist', which I always thought would make a great movie, and it did!! You won't be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2006

    Awesome

    This was awesome. Pure perfection of the horror short story. My favorites had to be 'The Mist,' 'The Monkey,' and 'Gramma.' Amazing stuff. And deliciously frightening.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    .

    Thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Hot 8 at 8:00pm

    8)Right Here by:Justin Beiber ft Drake
    7)The Way by:Arianna Grande ft Mac Miller
    6)One Way or Another by:One Direction
    5)Come and Get It by Selena Gomez
    4)Wings by:Little Mix
    TOP THREE NEXT REVIEW.....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    A must read

    Esp "The Mist".

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Classic Stephen King

    If you have'nt read it , you're missing out !

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Dani

    Gtg

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    To all

    What rp is this?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Meena

    *looks at Harley* Oh, this? It's my thing. Each of these cards has a magical effect. I'm the only one who can use them.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    First of 2012

    I love all of king's work. The mist however, may be my favorite one of all time.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2008

    Skeleton Crew

    Great book, i loved the short stories, and the poem paranoid is one of my faveorites.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2003

    Your #1 Fan

    Skeleton Crew is absolutely the best of the short story series. The Mist is my favorite and unforgettable. Every time I see a mist or fog, I think of this short story. The Jaunt is so clever, Beachworld is sci-fi, The Raft is chilling, there are too many great short stories in this collection to mention, yet each and every one brings something different to the table. This is a must read for anybody who is into sci-fi, (The Mist) or horror, (The Raft).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2002

    skeleton crew is great

    the mist is the best story in this book... there are alot of other good ones too.. i cant wait til the movie comes out....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2001

    Steven RULES!!!

    This book was amazing. My favorite story was The Mist. It was so awsome and left me with so meny questions about where the mist in the book came from and what will happen. The ending just left me wanting more! and I just can't get enough of Steven Kings books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2000

    The Tales of the Insane.WONDEFUL!!!!

    I have recently finshed this book.I must say that i am an avid reader of King and he never lets me down.In all the other books by him that i have had the pleasure of reading,he has given somewhat a sense of reality but in this book,i must say that he went way beyond my configurations and surpassed m imagination.His insanity is what keeps me sane.I highly recommend this to all that like to get lost in the world of the unknown!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4