Customer Reviews for

The Skeleton Key: A Short Story Exclusive

Average Rating 4
( 172 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Rollins Keeps on Rolling

No Spoilers!

I woke up this morning excited to read this. This is the first short story I read with the feel of a novel. Great conflict. Characters the reader can care about. Thrilling plot. James does in 20 pages what most authors can't do in 300. He is at the top o...
No Spoilers!

I woke up this morning excited to read this. This is the first short story I read with the feel of a novel. Great conflict. Characters the reader can care about. Thrilling plot. James does in 20 pages what most authors can't do in 300. He is at the top of his form. The Skeleton Key is the appetizer whetting your appetite for The Devil Colony, the main entree.

Also, the first 70 pages of The Devil Colony are included. I can't begin to tell you how excited I am for The Devil Colony. Read The Skeleton Key. You will not be disappointed.

posted by TerrellMims on May 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

The SUPER short story not worth the price....

Feel kinda robbed paying $1 for something that should have been free. Precursor to Devil Colony followed a mini Seichan adventure, being my favorite Sigma chararcter, she felt drastically out of character. All I ask is that she not be killed off in the new novel, she is...
Feel kinda robbed paying $1 for something that should have been free. Precursor to Devil Colony followed a mini Seichan adventure, being my favorite Sigma chararcter, she felt drastically out of character. All I ask is that she not be killed off in the new novel, she is too bad ass! Quick read, interesting but too short.

posted by Berlitz_Legit on June 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 173 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    The SUPER short story not worth the price....

    Feel kinda robbed paying $1 for something that should have been free. Precursor to Devil Colony followed a mini Seichan adventure, being my favorite Sigma chararcter, she felt drastically out of character. All I ask is that she not be killed off in the new novel, she is too bad ass! Quick read, interesting but too short.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Rollins Keeps on Rolling

    No Spoilers!

    I woke up this morning excited to read this. This is the first short story I read with the feel of a novel. Great conflict. Characters the reader can care about. Thrilling plot. James does in 20 pages what most authors can't do in 300. He is at the top of his form. The Skeleton Key is the appetizer whetting your appetite for The Devil Colony, the main entree.

    Also, the first 70 pages of The Devil Colony are included. I can't begin to tell you how excited I am for The Devil Colony. Read The Skeleton Key. You will not be disappointed.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Another Winner

    James Rollins has done it again! I first started reading his work in 2008 when I was in Europe on vacation as a way to pass time on the flight and on the trains. I have been a fan ever since. The Sigma series is a particular favorite of mine and the character of Seichan has always been intriguing to me. She's gone from enemy to a sometimes-friend. She serves herself...always. This story brings to light a few unknowns about Seichan's past along with a new danger. Keeps you turning the pages until you realize it's over with questions still unanswered. This short story precludes the upcoming "Devil's Colony" due out (in America) on 21 June. Just a few short weeks away now.

    With a sneak peek at the latest installment of the Sigma series, the reader is left waiting with baited breath to see what happens. Here's to hoping the time passes fast.

    Stay shiny!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    disappointed

    I am 100% sure I would love this book if it was made available to me. The fact that it is not in book form is very disappointing. It's like James did not want to push this book, or he intentionally left certain readers out. I do not, and will not own a kindle. I might read it online, but some of us love the world of BOOKS. If this is how James is going to treat his fans, I might have to find another faavorite author.

    5 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    A Seichan short story

    A good side adventure story for Seichan that leads into The Devils colony. Note: both should be read before Bloodline.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic !!

    This packed a whollop for a short stort !!! All of James Rollins books are exciting and thought provocing

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    Rollins at His Best!

    For anyone who thought the art of Short Stories was being lost! The Skeleton Key will grab you from the first page and not let up until the end! You will be glued to the screen of your nook begging for more when you finish! A must have!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Great

    This was an awesome read. The full book kept me reading well into the night. A definite page turner!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good Short Story

    This is a very short story <40 pages but is an interesting lead to Rollins next Sigma series book, The Devil Colony. I have just begun the Devil Colony and look forward to where this short story intersects with Sigma and the Devil Colony storyline.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    A must read for Sigma Fans!

    This was a short read but still very good - done in the classic James Rollins style! I couldn't put it down! It is a nice segway between The Doomsday Key and The Devil Colony. A must read for any Sigma fan! I hope that Mr. Rollins puts out more of these short in between stories!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Great!

    Well I admit it elwas a bit too short although for a short story what do you expect? A full length novel? I highly reccomend this, it is a good read and well worth it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    A complete ripoff.

    27 pages of thin writing. A seventh grader would only get a C.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    Too short, but definitely all Rollins

    Great short story that fills in some blanks in the series. Can't wait for his next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    More please

    An interesting look at an interesting character. Am glad to see the development of Seichan. I wish there was more. I can't wait for Devil's colony.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A fun fast read

    A short story (very short) but enough so to make me look into the Sigma Force Series and put the entire series on my wish list.
    Action packed, just how I like it! I've quickly become a James Rollins fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Steven

    Great short story and a few chapters of upcoming sigma book only problem so good cant wait

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Another adventure to keep you on the edge of your seat!

    James Rollins moves our imagination to the dank and moldy depths of the Catacombs in another satisfying addition to the Sigma Force Series. He plays our minds with electronic splendor shocking us into submission as Seichan takes the lead in this too short teaser in preparing us for The Devil Colony arriving around the 21st of June. Merci beaucoup, Mr. James Rollins.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2014

    Good read!

    Enjoyed a short story by one of my favorite authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    A major ripoff

    Not a book, very poor way to make a buck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    So so

    Good filler

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 173 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9