Customer Reviews for

Skeletons at the Feast

Average Rating 4
( 192 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(95)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

It was all so true

I was born in Cologne Germany in 1939. When I was 5 years old we were evacuated to Sachseny in East Gemrnay.
After a wile there, we were urged to flee towards the West because the Russians were coming closer and everyone knew what they would do to women and fema...
I was born in Cologne Germany in 1939. When I was 5 years old we were evacuated to Sachseny in East Gemrnay.
After a wile there, we were urged to flee towards the West because the Russians were coming closer and everyone knew what they would do to women and female children.....

I was part of the people on the street and also dodged the low flying English planes. We went from farmhouse to farmhouse to ask for food and for baby buggies for the younger children, of which I was one.

Chris Bohjalian ia a wonderful writer. He brought out feelings I thought long forgotten.

Thank you Chris.

posted by Ushi on December 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Predictable and Disappointing

I should know better than to buy into the publisher's review. An epic love story this was not.

Of course, this subject matter is going to be depressing, and to some degree predictable, given that we have historic fact to draw upon. However, I was, perhaps, expectin...
I should know better than to buy into the publisher's review. An epic love story this was not.

Of course, this subject matter is going to be depressing, and to some degree predictable, given that we have historic fact to draw upon. However, I was, perhaps, expecting a different perspective or twist in the plot from this author.

As the journey of this rag tag group plodded on through Germany, so I plodded on through the pages, horrific atrocity after atrocity making me more miserable by the page.

Obviously, I was not expecting this to be a joyous, romantic romp, but I was expecting infinitely more than this book held.

posted by hd91364 on March 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    It was all so true

    I was born in Cologne Germany in 1939. When I was 5 years old we were evacuated to Sachseny in East Gemrnay. <BR/>After a wile there, we were urged to flee towards the West because the Russians were coming closer and everyone knew what they would do to women and female children.....<BR/><BR/>I was part of the people on the street and also dodged the low flying English planes. We went from farmhouse to farmhouse to ask for food and for baby buggies for the younger children, of which I was one.<BR/><BR/>Chris Bohjalian ia a wonderful writer. He brought out feelings I thought long forgotten.<BR/><BR/>Thank you Chris.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    SKELETON OF THE FEAST Chris Bohjalian

    This is a fantastic book. I could not put it down once I began reading.
    The story is both romantic, thrilling, honest, exciting and believable. The main character is Anna, daughter of a Prussian farmer, and her family's escape from Nazis and Russians. Other characters of equal importance are: her mother, younger brother, older brothers, father, Callum, a Scottish POW, Uri, an escaped Jewish man who takes many others identies, Joan, his sister, and the girls from a concentration camp. This is their stories of trying to reach freedom and safety. Along the way is much sadness and unbelievable atrocities. This story is definitely NOT what we were taught in high school about WW II. I highly recommend this book to everyone, especially readers who enjoy historical fiction.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Predictable and Disappointing

    I should know better than to buy into the publisher's review. An epic love story this was not.

    Of course, this subject matter is going to be depressing, and to some degree predictable, given that we have historic fact to draw upon. However, I was, perhaps, expecting a different perspective or twist in the plot from this author.

    As the journey of this rag tag group plodded on through Germany, so I plodded on through the pages, horrific atrocity after atrocity making me more miserable by the page.

    Obviously, I was not expecting this to be a joyous, romantic romp, but I was expecting infinitely more than this book held.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Disappointing

    I was honestly really disappointed, upset and a little annoyed with this novel. I tried to read novels by this author before but was not able to adjust to this writer's particular writing style and couldn't connect to its story contents. However, after reading great reviews of this novel I decided to give it one more try. Unfortunately, I was not changed in my opinion and was disappointed. The story follows the journey of three sets of characters in the time of World War II- a young Jewish woman struggling to survive a Jewish work camp, a young Jewish man who escapes a train bound to the death camps and survives by impersonating Russian and German soldiers, and a German aristocratic family who escapes the Russian army. Collectively, in the end these characters meet and their stories intertwine. I found myself trying hard in the beginning to adapt to the author's writing style, and found myself dragging throughout the novel perhaps until the middle of the story. The ending was quick, short and abrupt which was upsetting because it felt like the writer built up the entire story just to end it in a short way. The story content and the treatment of the characters in the novel was biased and not equal. The Russian army was treated like a bunch of barbarians who raped, killed and wrecked havoc on the German civilians and the rest of Europe (which is a bit exaggerated in this novel). The German civilians were treated as poor beings stuck in the middle of their crazy leader's ways and were really innocent of all charges. Not enough emphasis was placed on the Jewish characters of this novel but was lightly touched upon. I found this novel a real disappointment and don't know why readers liked it. It should not be taken as the only novel to be read on this period of history. Very upsetting!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An Amazing Story

    Not many books capture my attention as this one did. The plot was amazing and I felt myself finishing the book quickly in order to see what happens up until the last sentence. I have recommended this book to all my family and friends.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    an absolute must read

    Even if you're not a history buff - World War II is fascinating - the struggles and endurance people went through during that time, it almost doesn't seem real. This is a great snapshot of life during the war, from many perspectives. The plot and characters will draw you in and you won't want to put the book down. the story flows beautifully. A must.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    an excellent character driven historical thriller

    In ice cold January of 1945, Germans living near the Polish border know the Russians are coming and expect a brutal retaliatory occupation they also assume the western allies led by America will be less harsh on them. Most know the war is lost even if Hitler and his Third Reich insist they are winning. Thus there is a mass exodus heading west just in front of the Russian army marching through Poland.--------------------- Not all can escape. For instance, aristocrat Prussian Rolf Emmerich, who neither the war nor the Nazis had touched his family¿s upper class lifestyle until now, and his two oldest sons are conscripted and sent to fight his wife takes their other children and accompanied by a Scottish POW flee for France. They meet Jew Uri Singer, who escaped from a train bound for Auschwitz. Jewish women also head west having escaped a death camp only most die on the death march to France. All know the Russians match the Nazis in brutality and none want to be caught in between either force.-------------------- Apparently based on a Prussian woman¿s 1945 diary, SKELETONS AT THE FEAST is an excellent character driven historical thriller. The story line is loaded with people trying to survive on a desperate trek in which the death of faith in Europe is a by-product of the horrors of war. Readers will feel the hopelessness of all and yet like a tiny glimmer of light in a totally darkened universe, the spirit remains strong not to give in to this despondency. Chris Bohjalian provides an incredible vivid look at a horrific journey to avoid the ruthless Russians in which hope is almost as dead as faith, but little things like love and caring sustain those fleeing, who are fortunate that at that time they remained ignorant of the atrocities the Nazis did to the Russians and the death camps that knowledge might have snuffed out their last iota of compassion for one another in a world otherwise gone mad.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    Gripping World War II Novel

    I loved it, start to finish. This story of survival was very moving and had me in tears in a few spots. Great read; I would love to see it on the big screen!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    it got me...

    i personally thought this was a great book. i am studying germany its culture history etc and i absolutely loved this book! all i know is i hate reading... hated reading... now im hooked! ha. but it truely was a wonderful book. i completely fell in love and cried for and cheered for Uri ... his character truely captured my attention.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2008

    Moving love and history

    This book was totally different then the usual story line by this author, but the love stories between man and woman, mother and child-are priceless. The German WWII perspective was also interesting and kept the pages turning and turning.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Book selected by my ladies book club

    It held my attention & on a scale of 1-5 (highest being 5) rated it a 3.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2008

    Chris Bohjalian's Best Novel Yet

    Chris Bohjalian has proven himself to be one of the greatest novelists of our time. I have read all of his books and have greatly enjoyed each and every one. Each book seems to be better than those before and those were great. Up until now, Chris has kept his books in familiar Vermont territory and mostly in the present day. However, in this unforgettable novel he changes not only the location but the era as well. He makes a transition from his wonderful Vermont novels with local flavor to a most extraordinary historic novel. From the beginning I had difficulty putting the book down and completed it in less than 24 hours. Some of the descriptions are horrific and at first I had a little trouble reading them, but then realized the author had to tell it like it was. The barbaric Russian soldiers and the brutal Nazis, the concentration camps and the death marches, and the procession of countless families heading west just ahead of the Russian troops â¿¿ all of this really happened and needs to be told and retold... The characters become friends and one is sad when the book ends. I highly recommend this book to everyone â¿¿ man and woman alike

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Its awesome

    Hellow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    great story that's never been told

    while the horrific actions done to other humans stayed with me, the author did a great job of bringing the readers into the nearly accurate account of a lesser known group of victims in WWII. I want to read more from this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    I wanted to love this story

    It is detailed and graphic and really makes you think of the time period. I wanted to read it while living in Germany to learn more about the culture and history. But I almost didn't finish this book because it was such a hard read. The story drags a bit and you feel like you are trudging through the winter with them, and I will admit I had to skip a couple chapters to get through it and I know I ended up missing details because the chapters would talk about events I had skipped over. Enlightening but a bit too long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    This is by far one of my favorite books!  

    This is by far one of my favorite books!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    A different angle

    This is a story about Worrld War II from a German family's perspective. A heart wrenching account of the atrocities and of human perseverance. I good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Deeply moving. Thought provoking. Profound.

    This book was very moving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    FANTASTIC!!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book! I cannot believe the absolute "ignorance" of the German people! They didn't know what happened to the Jews, but they knew enough to flee the Russians! A realistic look and the end of the war for the German civilian. Vivid imagery, extremely well written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Very good read

    Although parts of this book are difficult to read, as are most Nazi books, it has great characters
    and a fast moving plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10