Customer Reviews for

Skellig

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Book

This book is one of my favorites! It has a good puller and a great setting. This book is amazing! I recommend it to children and teenagers

posted by 7817776 on May 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I hate it!!!!

Who hares this this man it has cuss words not good for kids!!!

posted by 18741920 on November 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    I like it

    Ite is amazing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Very good

    I have taught elementary and middle school for about five years. I think of children's literature as having two major components, story and writing.

    The writing here is very good, as is the writing. This isn't a great tale but this is a delightful romp and more enjoyable with every page.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    Soon after Michael's family moves to a new home, his sister is b

    Soon after Michael's family moves to a new home, his sister is born prematurely. While his parents are ferrying the newborn back and forth to the hospital, Michael deals with his stress by exploring their dilapidated garage. There, he finds a strange owl-like man. As Michael and the girl-next-door nurse the winged man back to health, he learns a lesson about love. This was a sweet little book. It was quite short, so there wasn't a lot of plot, but the characters and premise was quite adorable. This book would be appropriate for 7-9 year olds who enjoy reading magical realism. 




    Almond did a fantastic job of narrating his own book. He has an engaging reading voice and had all the rhythms and intonations flowing well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2007

    FANTASTIC BOOK

    David Almond¿s book Skellig was pretty well written. This book has a especially interesting theme of friendship, angels, and family tragedies. This book was extraordinarily fictional because it talks a lot about angels. For example every time he goes into his garage he sees an old ghost like creature but he can¿t tell what it is. I thought that it was interesting how it was set in England and they call soccer football, and Mom ¿Mum.¿ In this book the one of the main characters Michael has just moved into a new neighborhood. Plus his sister was born prematurely and has been in the hospital for almost her whole live. Michael¿s mother has to stay at the hospital with the baby so, it¿s just Michael and his dad in the new house. Michael is a very athletic kid and loves sports. His next door neighbor¿s name is Mina and she is home schooled. She is extremely interested in birds and whenever you can¿t find her you can almost guarantee that she is in a tree drawing a bird. Then one day Mina shows a Michael a house that was given to her by her grandfather when he passed away. she eventually plans to fix up the house and rent it out, but in the meantime she lets owls stay up in the attic and live. When Michael sees all of the owls he is overwhelmed and scarred at the same time because they will attack if you get to close to their eggs. Since that Mina showed him her house 'not her Mother¿s house her house' he wanted to show Mina something cool, so he decided to show her the ghost like creature to her. The other reason he wanted to show her the creature was because he wanted to she if it was real. When they went to see the creature she did see it two. Then they both became interested in it. Then one day Michael's father decides to fix up the old garage. Michael tells Mina and she said that she would put the creature in her house with the owls. Then the next night Mina and Michael take the creature to her house. When they get there they smother him with questions. One question they asked is ¿What are you?¿ another is ¿What is your name?¿. He did not answer what he was but he did say to call him Skellig. Then they figure out what Skellig is and what he is meant to do. Once that they help out Skellig, he helps out Michael¿s sister and him and Mina stay friends forever. This book was extremely interesting because of all the weird and mysterious things that happen. For example they find creatures in weird places and he won¿t tell them anything about him. This book effected the way I look at premature babies because of what happened to Michael¿s sister. I just thought that it was horrible that they didn¿t think she would make it or that she had to stay in the hospital her whole baby years. That is how I feel about Skellig. This is why I like this book. I also recommend this book to almost any boy or girl.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Captivating...

    Skellig was definitely a book worth reading. Even the opening sentence pulled me into the book immediately. The characters are strong, vivid, and interesting, especially Mina, Michael's friend, and of course Skellig, the creature Michael finds in his garage. Michael's newborn sister being so sick is also something that pulls you into the book because you want to find out what happens to her. I liked this book because of the ongoing mystery of the creature Skellig and who/what he is and what role he plays in Michael's life. I also liked that the author never really explained what Skellig was because then the mystery was free to linger on after you finished the book. This book was a combination of weird and hauntingly beautiful at the same time. In my opinion, that's one of the best combinations. Hats off to David Almond!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    you must read this book

    Skellig, written by David Almond is about a boy named Michael and his family that move to a new house that is not in good condition. His parents and he are anxious about his new baby sister named Joy who was born premature and has a chance that she might not live since she has a dysfunctional heart. Michael ends up going into the garage when he finds out there is a strange man and Michael thinks he might be homeless or a junkie. Michael ends up meeting a girl named Mina how is home schooled and she takes care of baby birds that live in her garden and she ends up teaching Michael their tiny sounds. The two of them move the man out of the garage because it was going to be demolished when they discover that the man has wings are old and dried and all folded. Michael asks the man about his arthritis and if there is a cure for it. Skellig (the man), Michael and Mina all share a mystical experience which they all fly and they are able to see ghostly wings sprouting from each other's shoulders I thought the book was good just that in some chapters it didn't really explain lots of things and when something interesting would happen the book would say much and it would just change to something new. The things that I like about the book were that it would get interesting and it would make me want to read it more and more. I also liked the author David Almond used all the five senses really good in the story. I enjoyed this book a lot because it would make me think about what was going to happen and I wouldn't want to put the book down. I give this book a 4/5 because it would interest me but it wouldn't explain a lot of the things that would happen in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    Skellig is a beautifully written fictional book by David Almond. This is one out of many books he has written. The major topics throughout the entire book are friendship, death, and moving. The main situation in this book is that Michael finds Skellig in his grarage and doesn't know what to do with 'it' or who or what 'it' is. Michael is an average boy who is good at futball/soccer. His family just moved into a new house and his baby sister is terribly ill. Michael loves going into the old garage, that could collapse at any time, and that's where he finds Skellig. He tries to do as much as he can for Skellig, like getting him some asprin and 27 and 53, which is the numbers of the Chinese food that he wants from the menu of the Chinese restraunt on the corner. Then, Michael meets the girl next door, Mina, who is very strange. Mina is homeschooled and thinks that you don't learn anything at school. They become friends quickly. When Michael's friends, Leaky and Coot, come to play with him they start making fun of Mina. She says something meaner to Coot and gets all mad at him. When they leave, Mina get really mad at Michael because he tries to defend Coot and Leaky and says that he's just like them. Later, Mina says she's sorry and shows Michael a special place where her grandfather used to live. Michael loves the place and is happy until he finds out that his sister isn't getting better. I thought the book was enjoyable and wonderfully written. It was a joy to read this book! Once I started reading the book I didn't want to stop because everyone page is full of suspense and action. The plot was awesome! It was completely original I could have probably never thought of something like that for a story! I also like how David Almond didn't tell us what Skelling was and left us hanging at the end wondering about it. Also, the character development was kind of slow in the start, but it got better and better towards the end, kind of like The Land of Elyon The Dark Hills Divide. The book kind of made me think that moving is just like another adventure waiting to happen, meet new friends, new house, new everything. I might be moving and I really don't want to,but this book made me think that it might not be so bad. It would be another 'adventure'. David Almond's Skellig is a thrilling, page turning book and I would reccomend it to people of all ages. If you want to find out what happens to Skellig and the baby, then you'll just have to read the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2004

    skellig the none wanted ghodt

    I enjoyed the story. I even thought it was sad, but also good at the same time. Michael¿s baby sister was sick in the hospital, she was born premature. He was moving to Falconer Road were he had went exploring around the house. Then he went in to the garage were he met Skellig. Skellig was a man, a ghost, or an angel with wings. Skellig was always in the cold, dark and dust. He never wanted to be bothered by anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2003

    Skellig is a must read

    A boy moves into a new town and has to make new friends and if that isnt enugh his baby sister is deadly ill. He finds an angel in his garage that is about to collapse and has to find out how to save his unmotivated friend named Skellig. Skellig does not want to leave his home or the boys garage but he eventually persuades him to leave to this secret place only his friend and him know about. Then Skellig saves his baby sisters life. After this miracle Skellig reveals his wings and flys off never to be seen again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2002

    What a great book.

    What a great book. I think this book is a mystery. This book is about a boy who moves to a house that has a broken down garage. He is asked to stay away from it but he goes in it anyway. When he's in the garage he hears someone. Finally he mets Mina. Will they find out who he is? Find out for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2002

    An Interesting Story

    This is a story suited for people with an imagination!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2001

    I Recommend This Book!

    This Book is very good! I had to pick a mystery book for my reading class, and I chose this one. I didnt expect it to be this outstanding! I enjoyed reading this book I think everybody should read it, including adults!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2001

    Extrodinary!!

    This was an imaginative book that keep you wondering. It lead you through rough, scary, weird, and finally happy times. I would recommend this book to anyone!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2001

    Wow!

    I could not put this book down. It is an exciting, suspensful, yet scary book .Each chapter has something new.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2000

    Skellig a good book

    The book Skellig is good because,of the ending and the way the author describes the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1