Customer Reviews for

The Skeptical Environmentalist

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    REAL ENVIRONMENTALISM

    i might be UN-PC, politically incorrect... but i've been a real environmentalist since EARTH DAY ONE... i've cleaned streams... cleaned garbage... got my hands dirty

    this is why i like BJORN LOMBERG

    SCIENCE IS DISCUSSION... SCIENCE IS TRUTH... SCIENCE IS REPEATABLE

    he offers real science... real thinking.... NO DOGMA

    think impact... think choices... think less impact

    do your research... call the press and tell them what you find out... then tell CONGRESS... then tell THE WHITE HOUSE

    stand up and ASK why DATA IS DESTROYED.... ASK is there a HIDDEN AGENDA... be it PROFIT or GLOBAL GOVERNMENT...

    then stress real environmentalism... do more research... DEMAND LESS IMPACT FROM BUSINESS AND GOVERNMENT

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2004

    Those who panned the book didn't read it

    Outstanding analysis of the environmental debate. Those who gave the book 'one star' never read it. With 2930 footnotes and a 72 page bibliography Lomborg lays out ALL the accepted data (mainly from UN development agencies), rather than picking and choosing 'the sky is falling' items like the religious zealots who call themselves environmentalists. By putting things in perspective, voters can make better decisions on how best to allocate our resources to have the best life for everyone on the planet.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2003

    Lomberg vindicated

    Contrary to the reviews of others here, Lomberg has been cleared of charges of academic dishonesty and the committee that brought the charges against him has been publicly chastised by the Danish Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation. It seems clear that the smear campaign conducted by the environmental lobby against this book is a result of their knowledge that Lomberg is correct. Get the facts by reading this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2003

    Whose science is the junk?

    Those put off reading this book by the report from the Danish Committees on Scientific Dishonesty (DCSC), may be interested to note that on December 22, 2003 the Danish Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation severely repudiated this board. The DCSC report was, to be charitable, a piece of junk, but its conclusions, coming from an official body, have nonetheless been given prominent display in the world's media. The Ministry of Science characterized the DCSC's treatment of the case as 'dissatisfactory,' 'deserving criticism,' and 'emotional.' It found that the ruling was 'completely void of argumentation.' The DCSC relied for its ruling on excerpts from a Scientific American article. The only other evidence came from Time magazine. In its conclusion, the Ministry sent the case back to the DCSD 'with an injunction that the DCSD should allow itself to be advised by the Danish Social Science Research Council in matters regarding good scientific practice. In summary, the Ministry must also state that, in its opinion, the treatment by the DCSD of this case deserves criticism.'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2003

    Vindicated by the Danes

    As some have previously alluded to, The Skeptical Environmentalist was under review from Danish courts. Only, this time, they actually managed to read the book and came to the same conclusions. This is a wonderful book with more facts, figures, references, and charts than any topic ever written on environmentalism and the political structures built around it. The decision in the court case is listed at http://www.techcentralstation.com/121703F.html

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2003

    Criminal Betrayal

    Those of us in the general public depend upon dedicated scientists objectively studying and presenting findings through the critical application of scientific method. It is a criminal betrayal and an intellectual travesty when political agendum are legitimized by misrepresenting falsehoods, deceptions and outright lies as 'scientific' results. Dr. Lomborg's book helps restore some integrity to the analysis of serious concerns that have been trivialized by the 'sky is falling' human hating arguments of the radical environmentalist.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2003

    Fine defence of creative industry

    Bjorn Lomborg, Associate Professor of Statistics at Denmark¿s Aarhus University, aims to allow us to see the real state of the world more clearly by confronting myths with data. He seeks to use only the best available statistical information from internationally recognised research institutes: 2930 references and a 70-page bibliography attest to the depth of his research into health, life expectancy, food, forests, resources, pollution and global warming. For example, we are constantly told that our forests are vanishing, but according to the UN Food and Agriculture Organisation, the world¿s forests covered 40.24 million square kilometres in 1950, and 43.04 million in 1994. 80% of the world¿s original rainforest is still intact. The evidence that Lomborg presents undermines the misanthropic scare mongering of leading environmentalists like Paul Ehrlich, who said in 1967 that India was doomed. Lomborg explodes the Greens¿ litany of disaster and their liberal contempt for productive forces; he shows how wonderfully creative workers are, and how technological progress brings great benefits. Listening to some Greens, you would think that our factories produced only pollution! In the historic debate between the anti-industry parson Malthus and the pro-industry Marx, Lomborg is clearly with Marx. Unfortunately, Lomborg mistakenly credits `market economies¿, not workers¿ creativity, for this progress, although, as he notes, the most important welfare improvement of the last 50 years was achieved in post-revolutionary China, and the most significant worsening of welfare has happened in post-counter-revolutionary Russia and Eastern Europe. Some environmentalists mistakenly damn GM foods, pesticides, the chlorination of water and vaccination, technological achievements that all help to save us from killer diseases. As Lomborg points out, nobody has died from eating GM foods, or from cancer caused by pesticides, or from chlorination or vaccination. Banning GM foods and pesticides would reduce yields of fruit and veg, making them dearer and diets worse, and would therefore increase deaths from cancer. Peru didn¿t chlorinate its water, which resulted in the cholera epidemic of 1991. Falling rates of vaccination are increasing the risks of lethal epidemics. He does not ignore the huge problems facing the world: every year, ten million children under the age of five die of preventable diseases; 1.1 billion people still have no clean drinking water, and 2.5 billion have no access to sanitation. But to solve these problems, we need a clear-headed prioritisation of resources, not counsels of despair.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2002

    Bringing Sanity to the Debate

    Lomborg brings reason and sanity to the debate on the state of the world. The debate for the most part has been dominated by leftists political extremists posing as environmentalists. And, of course, the main stream media can not be relied on for accurate information. Lomborg fills a great vaccum.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2002

    Snake Oil

    In this book Mr. Lomburg proves to have a preoccupation with reality, and that¿s not a bad thing. It is very refreshing to find someone who can represent environmental science on a factual instead of fictional standing. It has been very frightening to watch the art of soothsaying elevated to the height of an actual science and then this so-called ¿science¿ used to achieve political power. As Stephen Schweider (global ¿cooling¿ scare/scam) has said, ¿Each of us (greens) has to decide the right balance between being effective and being honest¿ which in fact tells us our gullibility is no longer in question. The peer review process so often mentioned is no more than bad science ¿back patting¿. I have read the reviews in the so-called reputable publications and have found very little resembling objective science rebuffs. Instead they have resorted to emotional tantrums and irrational outbursts, which is typical of those not having a leg to stand on. One good thing did come out of reading these reviews though¿ it provides me with a very good guideline of what publications not to rely on for scientific insight. With this book Mr. Lomburg successfully weakened the cartoon foundation the greens have been building for so long. It is now up to ACTUAL scientists to knock it down altogether, re-take the intellectual high ground and prevent science from ever being used as a political weapon again. It¿s up to us to stop buying the snake oil.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2002

    Extraordinary.

    Very many people have been and will be upset by Lomborg's book. I personally was intrigued by it because I subscribed to two different publications that took opposite sides in their reviews of it, namely The Economist and Scientific American, both outstanding publications. I obviously liked the book -- I read it in practically one day, on vacation. If you listen to the negative press and avoid reading the book, you will be missing a chance to exercise your mind and challenge many preconceptions you may have about the state of the world today. After (or even before) you've read the book, track down the detailed negative review and point-by-point rebuttal that Lomborg submitted to Scientific American, on Sci Am's website or Lomborg's home page. Be warned, you're going to have to decide for yourself who speaks more clearly, who makes more sense. Lomborg notes (as do I) that many of the folks who are crying foul are those who are targeted in his book, and I note someone from the World Research Institute has also responded negatively on this site. Whomever you end up believing, it is clear that everyone who addresses environmental issues must come to terms with the facts raised in this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2002

    Finally a qualitative scientific evluation of the Environment

    We are doing some things right. We CAN improve the environment and the quality of life on this planet. The author of this book was skeptical about statements made by some American business men stating that the world environment was actually improving on many fronts. The author assigned his top students and researchers to debunk the statements. What they found was that a rational scientific analysis of the data clearly shows that WE ARE MAKING PROGRESS and that by most measures, the world environment is IMPROVING. This is not to say that we do not have a lot of work to do. We do. However we must make accurate measurements and assessments of the current conditions so that our efforts may be directed to the right places. All too frequently environmental groups such as Green Peace cry wolf and overstate a problem to the extent their credibility goes to zero. Read this book before taking any more gloom and doom statements at face value. Excellent book. Well researched. Very well documented with many references.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1