Customer Reviews for

Skies to Conquer: A Year Inside the Air Force Academy

Average Rating 4
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Future Academy cadet here!

    In 2 years I hope to be one of the doolies described in this book. So far I have only read the sample but when I have the money I intend to buy this book! It made me want to got to the AFA even more than I already do! Cant wait to read the rest!!!!
    - A future cadet

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Scatered

    The book is a little scattered like he starts talking about the second beast then he starts talking about punisment drills the combat drills and then it turns to talking about a cadets life at home i am like whoa uh... did i just miss something?

    Not the best book i have read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    Not really an accurate representation of academy life

    Well, I'm not really sure what to write about this book. My husband is a 2007 Academy grad, a senior when Schemo visited the Academy, and we had a couple of good laughs from the book and reminiscing about Academy life and BS. I have read some other books (ie "Absolutely American") that chronicled life at the other service academies, and I thought those were better written.

    I did think she did a fairly good job describing BCT (basic) and did a fantastic job interviewing the FRESHMAN cadets, but really flaked on learning about the rest of cadet culture. I think I would have liked to hear more about the culture from the inside; the pranks, the food, the dorm life, cadet relationships with people from "normal school" etc. I grew tired of hearing about the same four degrees complaining, and thought she was really limited to whom she spoke to about cadet life. I would have liked her to venture into other squads and seen how different life would have been in a different squad.

    There were also a lot of things that she seemed to have 'googled' to find the meaning. For example, I've been around the AF now for 10 years, and dated my husband throughout his life at the Academy, and I've never been told that "Smack" actually had an acronym behind it; if it originally stood for something, it certainly wasn't broadcasted in my husband's 2 squads at the academy. I also question where she got her information about 2007 feeling left out because they didn't have Recognition. I was at the Academy 4 or 5 times a year and got to know a lot of the cadets in his squad, and I have never heard many of the feelings '07 supposedly had. My husband is reading this next and I can't wait to hear what he has to say. I might have to update my review after he finishes...we actually have a long list of other friends who went to the AFA we are stationed with who would like to read the book as well.

    So overall, I guess if you have no background knowledge of the AFA, it could be a good read. It gives a fairly accurate example of what to expect your freshman year if you're interested in attending, but I think it really missed what the academy really is like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    Doesn't really get at what it's like to be a cadet

    Well, I'm not really sure what to write about this book. My husband is a 2007 Academy grad, a senior when Schemo visited the Academy, and we had a couple of good laughs from the book and reminiscing about Academy life and BS. I have read some other books (ie "Absolutely American") that chronicled life at the other service academies, and I thought those were better written.

    I did think she did a fairly good job describing BCT (basic) and did a fantastic job interviewing the FRESHMAN cadets, but really flaked on learning about the rest of cadet culture. I think I would have liked to hear more about the culture from the inside; the pranks, the food, the dorm life, cadet relationships with people from "normal school" etc. I grew tired of hearing about the same four degrees complaining, and thought she was really limited to whom she spoke to about cadet life. I would have liked her to venture into other squads and seen how different life would have been in a different squad.

    There were also a lot of things that she seemed to have 'googled' to find the meaning. For example, I've been around the AF now for 10 years, and dated my husband throughout his life at the Academy, and I've never been told that "Smack" actually had an acronym behind it; if it originally stood for something, it certainly wasn't broadcasted in my husband's 2 squads at the academy. I also question where she got her information about 2007 feeling left out because they didn't have Recognition. I was at the Academy 4 or 5 times a year and got to know a lot of the cadets in his squad, and I have never heard many of the feelings '07 supposedly had. My husband is reading this next and I can't wait to hear what he has to say. I might have to update my review after he finishes...we actually have a long list of other friends who went to the AFA we are stationed with who would like to read the book as well.

    So overall, I guess if you have no background knowledge of the AFA, it could be a good read. It gives a fairly accurate example of what to expect your freshman year if you're interested in attending, but I think it really missed what the academy really is like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    SKIES TO CONQUER DEAD ON ! ! !

    I picked up a copy of Skies To Conquer while browsing in a B&N store while traveling, because I have a daughter who is a cadet at USAFA. As I perused several random pages I quickly realized that Schemo's account of cadet life at the Academy is VERY true to life! My daughter, who is in the class of 2011 completed Basic Cadet Training in the summer of 2007, one year after Schemo covered BCT for her book. The excerpts I read brought back a flood of memories of my daughter's first year at USAFA, as the struggles and emotions of the cadets in Schemo's stories captured the essence of my daughter's journey through the crucible that is a "doolie's" life. Schemo has done a masterful job of detailing the hardships that a four-dig (freshman) faces while the academy, mostly through the energy of the upperclassmen, strives to mold them into the leaders that our future Air Force will demand. The author moves deftly through the lives of several cadets, doolies and upperclassmen alike, in creating a captivating account of life inside a military academy. She does an artful job of portraying the grueling, even traumatic, training regimen and lifestyles of the cadets who must develope leadership skills as they wrestle with academic, athletic and military responsibilities on a daily basis. I was able to recognize almost every experience Schemo related, from the details my daughter has shared with me these past three years, first as a Basic Cadet and eventually as a cadre herself. Yet, there were still plenty of surprises as the author peered into the personalities, dreams and pasts of several cadets, and how these shaped their attitudes and behaviors at the academy. It is an excellent book and, much like a rare and exemplary meal, I had to force myself to slow down and savor the experience. It was a very good investment of time and money. I plan to suggest it to EVERY parent who's child is even remotely considering applying to a military academy, and I am definitely going to encourage all my fellow members of the USAFA Parents Club of Southeastern Michigan to grab up a copy of their own quickly. It should be a "must read" for every member of every chapter of USAFA Parents Clubs!

    Terry Bennett

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    Good book - but ignores the academic side of Academy life.

    The author, a New York Times reporter, reports on the Air Force Academy experience and its rigors (with an emphasis on rigors). Unfortunately she almost totally ignores the academic side, which is what makes up most of the Academy life. Many of the cadets are involved in cutting edge research. Reporting on their trials and tribulations on such projects and the pressure for academic performance would add significantly to her understanding Academy life.

    She interviews a number of members of Classes of 2007, 2008, 2009 and 2010 and reports on their progress through the Academy. She includes a number of interesting and often touching stories of cadets as they become molded into Air Force Officers. The sexual assault scandals of a few years ago seem to be repeatedly brought up in her writings, even when they do not fit in the storyline.

    I highly recommend the book for anyone interested in life at the service academies, and especially anyone thinking of entering one of the service academies, as well as their parents. It will give them a glimpse of the Academy life style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1