Customer Reviews for

Skin Game: A Memoir

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Kettlewell is a phenom.

I read this book for a book report for my ninth grade English class. I picked it because it was something that I could relate to. I haven't read a book that has moved me as much as Kettlewell had. Self-mutilation is an addiction, and the fact that she overcame it i...
I read this book for a book report for my ninth grade English class. I picked it because it was something that I could relate to. I haven't read a book that has moved me as much as Kettlewell had. Self-mutilation is an addiction, and the fact that she overcame it is amazing. I idolize her strength and her writing skills.

posted by Anonymous on September 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not what I thought

As a self-injurier myself, I read this book trying to see another self-injurers point of veiw about this disorder; their story. This was more of a complaint about the authors cutting how it was a burden on her, not the 'history' of it, as the author uses multiple time. ...
As a self-injurier myself, I read this book trying to see another self-injurers point of veiw about this disorder; their story. This was more of a complaint about the authors cutting how it was a burden on her, not the 'history' of it, as the author uses multiple time. I think if you are a S.I'er you wont enjoy all this much because the author uses the term 'self-mutilation', I personally dislike the term and know others do too so just a heads up there.

posted by Anonymous on June 20, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2008

    Kettlewell is a phenom.

    I read this book for a book report for my ninth grade English class. I picked it because it was something that I could relate to. I haven't read a book that has moved me as much as Kettlewell had. Self-mutilation is an addiction, and the fact that she overcame it is amazing. I idolize her strength and her writing skills.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2006

    know someone who SI's?

    As someone who has been struggling with self-injury for years, this book really helped to put all of what i was feeling into words. It's a great book if you want to get inside the mind of someone who self-injures and try to understand how they feel and think. It has some great humor in it, something i didn't expect. But it's a great read, and i definitely recommend it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2006

    Pain in words

    I couldn't put this book down. It's a great mix of emotions, a lurky meoir in the mind of someone who injures themselves. The occasional dark humor just made it a better book. Definite must read if you're interested in the way people process thoughts.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2004

    self injury

    as a self injurer... i liked this book alot... it tells it like it is and it was really good. I give it 5 stars

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2003

    Not what I thought

    As a self-injurier myself, I read this book trying to see another self-injurers point of veiw about this disorder; their story. This was more of a complaint about the authors cutting how it was a burden on her, not the 'history' of it, as the author uses multiple time. I think if you are a S.I'er you wont enjoy all this much because the author uses the term 'self-mutilation', I personally dislike the term and know others do too so just a heads up there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2000

    'A Book That Leaves A Mark'

    `A Book That Leaves a Mark¿ Book review: Kourtney Paranteau The Skin Game, a cutters memoir (4/5) Caroline Kettlewell We all have some kind of guise we put on in public to hide parts of our true self, Caroline Kettlewell had a little bit more to hide. Nothing incredibly tragic has ever happened to her. Up to her teenage years she has had a pretty normal life. But more and more frequently she finds herself sinking into deep depressions. Cutting is the only way Caroline can find relief. To self inflict pain is her release, but it soon becomes an addiction, and the addiction soon becomes habit. Caroline¿s brutal honesty can at times be gruesome and overly graphic, because of the way she describes her blood leaving her body in detail, and every so often I had to put the book down to get the vivid visuals out of my head. Kettlewell paints a sobering and poignant picture of growing up and loss of innocence, her words read like lyrics from a song. Caroline, nearly twenty years after her days of self-flagellation, has kept an intact memory of who she once was, and the confusions and insecurities she once faced. The Skin Game is not just about a troubled girl who cuts herself, it¿s about not fitting in, alienation, and feeling foreign in your own skin. Even though the author¿s way of thinking is off beat, I found a way to relate my self to the character. I think almost every girl also can in some way, because of the simple fact that most girls don¿t sit at the table with the ¿in¿ crowd, have perfect hair, and most girls aren¿t perfectly secure. Caroline shows her insecurities like a gapping wound, and even though her physical wounds have long since scabbed over and faded, her emotional state will forever be scarred. Kettlewell tells the story of her past woes with a dry irony, and an abstract way of thinking. For anyone who enjoys Girl, Interrupted (the movie or the book) The Skin Game is a winner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Great Book- MUST READ

    The wat Caroline explained how she grew up depending on the feel of a blade is extremely moving, and bring to your attention that nobody is who they are on the outside.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    Highly Recomended For The People That Have Ever Been Addicted to Cutting Or Some Other Type Of Self Harm. Teens or Young Adult In My Opinion

    I was at Barns and Noble one day in downtown Fort Worth and just randomly picked this off the self as i started reading I noticed that this is exactly why I cut and it gave me strength to stop along with the help of family and friends this book is wonderful I couldn't stop reading it! I sat at the store for two hours while i finished it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best books I have read

    This book should be read by anyone who desires to understand self-injury, especially those that are close to a self-injurer or are themselves self-injurers. It is also simply an outstanding memoir. It was very well written and insightful; I couldn't put it down. I intend to teach middle school English, and will recomend this book to my students and their parents if they find themselves needing to face this issue. Caroline is a sympathetic heroine; I was cheering for her all the way. May more mental health professionals and families get and read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2006

    The blood runs deep, on and under the skin.

    She¿s never seen. She has excuses and/ or cover up stories, her most favorite is taking a shower. She¿s good at covering up her tracks, and lying. As a child, Caroline went to an all boys private school. The only reason she was there was because her father worked there. Depressing herself little by little, she needed a way to release the pressure, and anger. She began to cut. She would have only one razor, but she would reuse it over and over again, each time saving the blood soaked gauze. Sometimes she¿d stand in front of a mirror just looking at her blood streaked body. Relationships she has had have been open and free of secrets. She¿s told them everything. The main question they would ask would be ¿why?¿ She had no answer. She didn¿t stop after high school. On a college campus she would do the same thing. Only this time it wasn¿t her parents she hid it from, it was her roommate. Making it look like she didn¿t go to the drug store for razors, she walked in, got a few things, and at the last minute as if she had forgotten them would quickly place them on the counter with all of the other items she would purchase. Looking back at her childhood she couldn¿t remember why she began to cut or what made her feel depressed, she was smart, creative, and well loved by her family. Maybe it was because she was jealous of her older sister, or because her mom wasn¿t happy with her hanging around all the boys at the private school. She hasn¿t stopped now, will she ever?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2003

    Allowed me to understand

    'Skin Game' is an excellent memoir. The writing is of high quality and the story is fascinating in a somewhat lurid kind of way. This girl's story evokes empathy in the reader and easily keeps the reader's attention throughout. The description of the cutting itself was fascinating and utterly straightforward- she cut because it made her feel better, like a form of self-medication. This same blunt and straightforward logic is present throughout the book and contributes to its high quality. An excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2000

    pretty good!

    i like this book because i am going through the same thing, and she shed light on the many reasons some drive themselves to cut. she, luckly had a happy ending, and i would recommend this book as a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1