BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Skin I'm In

Average Rating 4.5
( 146 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Sassy,smart,and dramatic

When I read this I could completely relate to her. I had self esteem problems to and knew how it felt to be bullied in school and be an outcast. I really loved this book. I read it three times.

posted by VirgoReader on July 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This Book Is Awesome!

Maleeka Madison, an average middle school student, has trouble fitting in at her school. Students tease her about the dark colors of her skin. Maleeka lives with her Mom in a urban area. Her Dad died not too long ago. Maleeka is picked on for the way she dresses, the co...
Maleeka Madison, an average middle school student, has trouble fitting in at her school. Students tease her about the dark colors of her skin. Maleeka lives with her Mom in a urban area. Her Dad died not too long ago. Maleeka is picked on for the way she dresses, the color of her skin, and she is constantly under peer-pressure around her "so-called" best friends. Her small crew consists of three people: Char, Raina, and Raise. They force her to do things she totally dreads to do and treats her like their own personal slave. One day a new teacher namd Miss Saunders came to their school as an english teacher. Maleeka and other students noticed that she had what looked like a white stain across her forehead. Little did Maleeka know, Miss Saunders was goiong to help her out tremendously in the long-run. When Maleeka got in trouble because of things Char caused, Miss Saunders was the one who helped her, but Maleeka ignored the help and kept hanging with the wrong crowd. Char, Maleeka's friend,decided she did not like Miss Saunders, so she wanted to vandalize her classroom and wanted Maleeka to do the dirtiest work of all. At first they tried to blame it on Maleeka, but she did not want to be falsely accused. On that day, she came out and said who was behind it. After that, she was still in trouble, but she finally accepted herself for the skin she was in. This book is great for people who have trouble finding themselves. It is something that Jr. High kids can actually relate to. Anyone under peer-pressure opr is being bullied should read this book. If you are a young reader looking for something simple, but exciting to read, I definitely reccomend this book. It is fullof irony and surprises on every page. Things that you would have never thought would happen shows up and gets you on the edge of your seat. Once you start reading this, you will not put it down!

posted by SLCknowsitall on August 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sassy,smart,and dramatic

    When I read this I could completely relate to her.
    I had self esteem problems to and knew how it felt to be bullied in school and be an outcast.

    I really loved this book. I read it three times.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2014

    I absolutely love this book. It explains a child's view point of

    I absolutely love this book. It explains a child's view point of racism within our own race.
    This is a real thing, and people are colorstruck. It's sad when it happens to children. 
    As soon as I read it, I couldn't put it down. This along with all of Sharon Flake's other boosk are amazing. 
    I love this book so much, I want my daughter to read it. I want every girl to have high self-esteem and know their worth; especially black girls.
    This book helped with my self-esteem, and reminded me to care less about what people think of me. It reminded me to be myself, take care of myself, and most importantly, love myself. I wish I could write like this. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2013

    After reading the book, ¿The Skin I¿m in,¿ by Sharon G. Flake, I

    After reading the book, “The Skin I’m in,” by Sharon G. Flake, I think this book should be read by many others. I think this book is a learning lesson for many people and can teach all of us important lessons. As an earlier review on barnes and noble said, “The Skin I'm In is a compelling novel of a young girl's struggle with self-acceptance and acceptance by her peer group... Readers will find strong characters and an engaging plot in this book, “ Says Terrell Young from ALAN reviews.  As you can tell I’m not the only one who loves this book. This book teaches kids many valuable lessons, has intelligent characters, and can relate to many of us even adults.For example, Maleeka Madison is bullied by other students because of her dark skin. When Maleeka meets her new teacher Miss Saunders, she thinks she has finally met someone who understands what she is going through, because Miss Saunders's skin is blotched from a rare skin condition and gets made fun of as well. This helps Maleeka because Miss Saunders refuse to let the rude remarks of children bring her down.  With that in mind, this makes Maleeka rethink her reactions to the bullying and gets a better perspective on it all.  In rethinking how she defends herself, Maleeka learns that everyone judges people by each other’s appearance, including herself. This shows you the strength in this character because she realizes her own faults and learns from them and uses them in a positive way. After getting bullied, not many people would sit back and analyze what they do, and what they can do to stop it, but Maleeka did which shows her strength. It also shows the valuable lessons, that we have to embrace our insecurities and we can’t let other people bring us down. This also relates to literally every single person at some point in their life, which makes this book very goodPeople are constantly getting judged, whether it’s at school, or at work, you will always be judged. This book shows how you can deal with that and not let it interfere with your life. 
    Moving on, my favorite character in the book is Maleeka. I think she is an example of a flawless and strong person. She went through a lot in the book, from bullying, to getting teased, it was a lot. Almost everyone has been bullied and we can all say it isn’t fun. For Maleeka it was very hard because she was the only one who was black. Therefore, it shows her strength. Over the course of the book, we can see her portray her strength as she doesn’t let people bring her down. On the way she may have done some stupid stuff like being her friends personal slaves, doing everything they say. But as this book is, everything is a learning lesson. She learned from that, and got comfortable in her own skin. It was truly amazing to see her come all that way and finally accept herself, and have other accept her. Wrapping up, my favorite quote of the book was, “It’s not about color, It’s about how you feel about who you are that counts,” (Flake 40). I liked this quote the best because I find it very relative to the main moral of this story that is along the whole course of the book. Constantly in this book we learn about how color isn’t important, and how it’s the inside that counts not the outside. I think in this quote the author articulated it very well and got her moral across very effectively. In conclusion, this book is a wonderful book full of surprises and many valuable life tools that can help us as people. I recommend it to anyone, even adults can relate to it so it;s really for everyone. Just remember once you open the first page, you’ll never be able to put the book down! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    great book

    great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    This book is GREAT!!! Once i started reading this book i couldn'

    This book is GREAT!!! Once i started reading this book i couldn't put it down. This is a MUST read book!!! ALL GIRLS READ THIS BOOK!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    You must check it out!!!!!!!!!

    This book is great because it could wisk you away and make you want to read on to pages after pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    Every Girl In The World Should Read This Book!

    I love this book when I was in the sixth grade my teacher Mrs.Richardson read this book to our class I could relate to the character so much( not the tall part i'm short) it was just a eye opener it did change my way of thinking for the better I'm happy to be a beautiful African American young lady I am now 20 years old and I still remember this book I work with children and I can't wait to read this with them.I would recommend this book to girls of all races!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    Come and get this awesome book.!

    Are you looking for a great ,entertaining book that will make you feel like you are actually in the book?Well then check out "The skin I'm In" by Sharon G. Flake. To tell you a little about the book,there is lots of things that this book talks about. The protagonist of this book is maleeka is a young teenage girl that has a pretty tough life because her mom doesn't get paid really good and her dad left her and her mom when meleeka was a little girl. The book begins with maleeka not having enough clothes and wearing the same clothes to school each week so she complains with her mom about that issue.

    The plot gets really good when I start to read about one of maleekas friend. This girl is one of the popular girls in school. Every boy wants to go out with her. All the girls want to be like her. My favorite part of the book was when maleeka stood up for her own self and was not scare of that one girl that she has always been scared of. She had the guts to put the girl in her place. I like this part because that tells me that even though my character may show that she listens and does what other people tell her at least she has something inside of her that tells her to stand up for her self when its the right time.

    As I read,this book made me think about how in every school girls like this girl exist they try to make their friends do bad things just so they can fit in her group. Teens can connect to this book well mostly girls because this problem mostly happens with girls and sometimes with boys. This book helped me realize the you control your life. This theme was clear when I kept on reading on how that girl made maleeka do things she didn't wan to do. To put it in little words she bossed maleeka around too much and when maleeka finally opened her eyes and said "stop I control my life not you".

    I really enjoyed reading this book.! I think this book was in between good and bad. Why? Well because its good in a way that the author describes each event. Its bad because you kind of get tired of reading about the same things that happened each day. I would recommend this book to someone that likes to read about suspense stories about teenage girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    You must read this amazing book!!!

    Maleeka is a young girl in junior high, with low self-esteem. She is having a hard time dealing with problems at home. At school everyone teases her for the color of her skin. Because of the position she is in she hangs out with the wrong people. The new teacher helps her on her journey to gaining her confidence, to love herself for who she is. She eventually learns to be assertive and to love the skin she was born in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    Perfect for....anyone!

    Maleeka is a teenage girl who tries to fit in the best way she can in middlle school like any other teen! Sharon really knew what she was doing when she wrote it!
    Maleeka,a 6th grader at McCleaton Middle,has beautiful black skin and her peers always pick on her for it.The main one who does it the most is Jhon-Jhon.He always calls her names,makes faces at her and he's even made a mean song about her! When Caleb sees this he stops talking to Maleeka so she won't get picked on,but that makes the problem worse.So with no options left,Maleeka goes to Charlese Jones for help.Char lets her hang with her and the twinsand gives her clothes,but she takes advantage of her.But then,Miss Saunders comes in the picture and changes everything....and she isn't scared of nobody!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    about maleeka

    Maleeka is like a responsible person that I will probably be her but right now I would be myself but if I was her I would not listen to Charlese and Charlese would fight me I would fight her back because if you tell the teacher they would care but Char wouldn't.Since JuJu(charlese only oldest sister)wouldn't care either.The only time when she care is when Miss Saunders let Char past she would be more happy. But Maleeka she love to learn, love to write about Akeelma and she loved Caleb.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Skin I'm in by Sharon Flake

    The skin I'm in is great book. What like about the book is Maleeka the main charather, she been always tease about the color of her skin. This is the reason she has low self-steem. She is in the 7th grade along comes Miss Saunders, then its when the problems begins. I liked the end of the book because Maleeka becomes stronger and confident her self. I recomend to read this book to everyone because of the valuable lesson you learn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Khalin's Review

    It is about a thirteen-year-old girl named Maleeka Madison. She feels uncomfortable because of her skin color. Then one a new teacher comes in and Maleeka sees her. She notices that the teacher is also different because she has a birthmark on her face. It is not like many birthmarks because it is white and it looks like a patch. The teacher's name is Miss Sauders. To Maleeka's surprise Miss Sauders likes Maleekas skin. Will Maleeka learn to also love herself for who she is?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    Keeps me wanting more!

    This book is undescriable, powerful, meaningful. I want more! NOt too young of readers should read this, some innoprprite language. Not bad. Its truley heartwarming. I recommend ot to annyone. Not confusing. Anyone and everyone will like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2009

    best book

    THE SKIN I'M IN
    BY:SHARON FLAKE
    GENRE:FICTION


    The Skin I'm In is about a girl name Maleeka who always gets teased on for her skin color and the clothes she wore. Maleeka is like any other girl, but people think because her skin color is er than theirs, they have the need to pick.

    Maleeka's clothes aren't bad at all. Her mom just makes Maleeka her own clothes by hand. Maleeka's dad died when she was young, so the only thing her mom would do to keep her mind off of it is to sew. Maleeka doesn't want to say anything because she wants her mom to feel good about what she does.

    The only thing about Maleeka's clothes that her mom makes her is that she never knows when a patch would ever fall off or a needle would ever poke her. A girl name Charlese brings her clothes to school but Charlese doesn't just give her clothes away for nothing unless she has something in return for her. She always wants Maleeka to do this and do that for her. Maleeka has to do it if she wants clothes from Charlese.

    Charlese is one of the kids that also pick at Maleeka for being the color that she is, and the clothes that she wears. Only thing Maleeka ever does is ignore the kids who talk mean to her and about her. So she just walks away and does what she should do.

    One day this new teacher, Miss Saunders, comes walking in their class. Only thing about Miss Saunders is she has two faces. One side is white and the other is pretty and brown. Everyone stares the whole class period! They are wondering if she knows how her face actually looks.

    Only thing about it is Miss Saunders doesn't really care about how her face looks. She doesn't let anybody get in the way of her feelings. She thinks she looks fine. One day,however,, Maleeka over heard her talking to another teacher about how she used to get picked on all the time. So Miss Saunders and Maleeka are on the same page. Miss Saunders talks to Maleeka a lot after school because of an assignment that they are doing in class.

    Maleeka just wants to be like everybody else and not get made fun of just because her skin is darker or her clothes are different . So one day Maleeka actually turns herself around and thinks I'm in a good mood now. I look cute, my hair's done and I'm not going to let anyone get in my way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2009

    ELC

    The book The Skin I¿m In by Sharon G. Flake in my thoughts was a really good book. I liked this book for a couple of different reasons. Reason number one is that this book has common problems that a lot of kids face it has a problem that people of all ages could relate too. I also liked it because the book kept hold of my attention the whole time. There was never a time in the book where I wanted to put the book down because I was bored or uninterested. The only reason I would rate this book a nine instead of a ten was because of the ending. I really expected a different ending I felt like the book just kind of ended for me, I felt like the book wasn¿t rapped up very well. In spite of that the rest of the book was defiantly a ten and I would highly recommend this book to mature readers.----ELC

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger, aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

    I picked this book up from a display of books celebrating Black History Month. I'm really glad I did. It's perfect for anyone seeking the answers to those soul-searching questions of "Who am I?" and "Why am I the way I am?" <BR/><BR/>THE SKIN I'M IN is the story of Maleeka Madison and her struggle to accept who she is and discover what she can accomplish. <BR/><BR/>Maleeka is uncomfortable in her life. Her father died and to cope with his absence her mother has become a "sewing fool." Maleeka hates the awful clothes her mother makes for her, but she loves her mother and doesn't want to hurt her feelings. Maleeka is also self-conscious because she is black - very black. Her classmates have teased her since elementary school. Her only friends are the others who don't seem to fit in. <BR/><BR/>Life begins to change for Maleeka. First her wardrobe improves when she meets Charlese. Maleeka agrees to do Char's homework in exchange for the chance to borrow Char's designer clothes. Unfortunately, Char takes control of way more than Maleeka's clothing style. <BR/><BR/>Another change is a new teacher in Maleeka's life. Miss Saunders is part of a business exchange program with the schools. Business executives have been invited to teach in the public schools as part of a program to improve education and allow the business community to "give back" to the schools. Miss Saunders has her own difficulties. She dresses well and carries herself proudly despite a disfiguring facial scar. Viewing her students' files shows Miss Saunders that Maleeka is filled with untapped potential, and she makes it her goal to help Maleeka recognize her true gifts and develop them. <BR/><BR/>Sharon G. Flake was awarded the 1999 Coretta Scott King John Steptoe Award for new writers for this debut novel. It speaks strongly of how hard it is to gain acceptance for the good one has to offer, instead of earning fame by taking a sometimes easier, yet more dangerous path. I highly recommend this book for middle grade classrooms. It's filled with great opportunities for group discussion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2008

    This Book inspired me in so many ways

    Have you ever felt segregated in a school, to the point where you would do anything to fit in even if it causes you to sacrafice your self esteem? This book was about an African American teenager named Maleeka. She was a very odd girl, at least in the other children's eyes. Maleeka is actually a very beautiful girl, but the fact that she's dark skinned, tall, and skinny makes her an alien to the so called perfect students that attend her school. Maleeka's confidence was at an all time low, due to trying to fit in her society, until a new teacher by the name of Mrs.Saunders appears who has similar problems to Maleeka. Mrs.Saunders makes this story completely awesome, because she helps Maleeka find herself. <BR/> I believe that the authors purpose of this book was to help adults/young adults believe in themselves, and not care about anybody but yourself. Most of the action in this place takes place in the middle school that Maleeka attends. The intended audience is mostly young adults, but can be for anybody of any age. This story really fulfills it's purpose because it explains the hardships that teenagers got through, and the obsticles they might have to overcome. i really love this book, because i can relate to it. i had a very hard time in middle school/high school, and i feel that i i had known about this book during that time, my confidence would have peeked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A great story about self-acceptance

    Maleeka is darker than most of her girl friends and her dark skin torments her. She has low self-esteem and to top it off people pick on her and call her names. Can Maleeka learn to love herself and stand up for herself? Sharon Flake's book depicts racism within the same race. Sadly, this has been going on for years in the African American culture. This is a powerful story of how one black girl learned to love herself and accept the skin that she is in through the strength and encouragement of a teacher with a serious skin condition. This book sends a strong message to dark skinned girls: You are beautiful. Love ALL of you. Great for class discussions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2008

    I love Maleeka!

    She's courageous. This book is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6