Customer Reviews for

Skin Rules: Trade Secrets from a Top New York Dermatologist

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Dr. Debra Jaliman has finally written a book about the care of t

Dr. Debra Jaliman has finally written a book about the care of the skin for intelligent women of all ages to read and use as a reference. She is an exceptionally trained Dermatologist and has researched the best skin treatments and product. She is candid and empathic.
S...
Dr. Debra Jaliman has finally written a book about the care of the skin for intelligent women of all ages to read and use as a reference. She is an exceptionally trained Dermatologist and has researched the best skin treatments and product. She is candid and empathic.
She looks at your skin as a reflection of your nutritional intake, exercise, and getting proper sleep!
As a psychotherapist and educator, I will encourage my patients to own this book. It is easy to use as a reference.
i believe when a person feels secure about the way their skin looks, he or she expresses greater confidence and self-esteem.
Dr. Susan Lee
Postgraduate Training Institute
Palm Beach, Florida

posted by SL2 on March 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

38 slim pages of content

I bought this as a Nook purchase as the author was to speak at our library in town. I was SHOCKED that there is so little writing in this book! She does divulge her specific recommendations for products, but there is almost no scientific explanation. There are 77 "chapt...
I bought this as a Nook purchase as the author was to speak at our library in town. I was SHOCKED that there is so little writing in this book! She does divulge her specific recommendations for products, but there is almost no scientific explanation. There are 77 "chapters" but most are one or two pages long and believe me, there is a HUGE amount of white space on the pages! 77 chapters in a 115-page book with large white space all around; and the chapter titles take up a whole page each!! Figure it out. This could have been a magazine article. She was very cagey as a speaker, not revealing the products she recommends and continually referring to herself in the royal "we" as in "we talk about that in the book." Did she get help writing her 38-page book? I think this author called upon all her clients to give her first-rate reviews.

posted by 8059277 on May 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    Dr. Debra Jaliman has finally written a book about the care of t

    Dr. Debra Jaliman has finally written a book about the care of the skin for intelligent women of all ages to read and use as a reference. She is an exceptionally trained Dermatologist and has researched the best skin treatments and product. She is candid and empathic.
    She looks at your skin as a reflection of your nutritional intake, exercise, and getting proper sleep!
    As a psychotherapist and educator, I will encourage my patients to own this book. It is easy to use as a reference.
    i believe when a person feels secure about the way their skin looks, he or she expresses greater confidence and self-esteem.
    Dr. Susan Lee
    Postgraduate Training Institute
    Palm Beach, Florida

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    Oh, finally, a new accessory for the Carrie Bradshaws of the wor

    Oh, finally, a new accessory for the Carrie Bradshaws of the world!…and for rest of the esthetically oriented, health-conscious fashionistas on the planet. This book is lite enough to be carried in your purse, without affecting a good posture or risking shoulder injury, and small enough to be cracked on a rush-hour commuter train. It is definitely a fun, easy reading, and depending on how fast of a reader you are, you can cram as many as five chapters between any given stops on the 2 & 3 subway line! I am sure you cannot even fathom the knowledge you will glean from it! Dr. Jaliman's book is filled with many morsels of practical advice and it is delightfully written to get your brain up to speed for the daily challenges at work, or relax you at the end of a long day. A no stress study, this book will help you make a definite difference in your skin and improve your overall look. The only problem is that you may be late for work in the morning (or supper in the evening) as you will definitely be straying to the nearest Barns & Noble store to purchase a copy for your girlfriends or your metrosexual husband/boyfriend/significant other. After all, we cannot leave them out of the loop!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    A big thank you to Dr. Debra Jaliman for sharing her trade secre

    A big thank you to Dr. Debra Jaliman for sharing her trade secrets and tips on maintaining healthy skin. Her skin care advice is invaluable. This book is a "must-have and must-read". It works for all ages and all types of skin.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I always want to know great tips and tricks to good skin care an

    I always want to know great tips and tricks to good skin care and after hearing Dr. Jaliman in an interview, I knew I'd enjoy her book. Each page is a new tip, so the book is easy to read. There is nothing groundbreaking here, just good advice. Here's a tip I wasn't aware of ... don't use hydrogen peroxide on cuts or abrasions because it slows healing. Dr. Jaliman recommends cleaning the area with alcohol and then applying some Bacitracin. I always have used hydrogen peroxide ... I love the bubbles, but I guess not anymore.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    38 slim pages of content

    I bought this as a Nook purchase as the author was to speak at our library in town. I was SHOCKED that there is so little writing in this book! She does divulge her specific recommendations for products, but there is almost no scientific explanation. There are 77 "chapters" but most are one or two pages long and believe me, there is a HUGE amount of white space on the pages! 77 chapters in a 115-page book with large white space all around; and the chapter titles take up a whole page each!! Figure it out. This could have been a magazine article. She was very cagey as a speaker, not revealing the products she recommends and continually referring to herself in the royal "we" as in "we talk about that in the book." Did she get help writing her 38-page book? I think this author called upon all her clients to give her first-rate reviews.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Sub-titled "Trade Secrets From a Top New York Dermatologist

    Sub-titled "Trade Secrets From a Top New York Dermatologist", you might think that this book is all about the Botox and surgical procedures, (or maybe it's just because I live on the Upper East Side in New York City, where you can't go a block without seeing someone who has had work done) but you'd be wrong.

    Jaliman, a board-certified dermatologist, has written a very helpful book for everyone. She has 77 rules, short chapters that make her point, from 'Don't Waste Money on Expensive Cleansers- Spend It on Moisturizers, Sunscreens, and Anti-Aging Products Instead' to 'Lips, Eyes, and Hands Need Sun Protection, Too' to 'Clean Earrings Every Time You Put Them In'.

    Each rule is followed by a short explanation; I like that you can use this book as a quick reference, and that Jaliman did not fill the book with unnecessary stuff; she gets right to the point. Although it is a short book, it contains so much useful information.

    Among the useful things I learned:

    Tanning beds increase the chance of melanoma by 75%! She believes they should be illegal.
    Products should be bought in tubes or pumps; the contents deteriorate when exposed to air.
    Don't get the nail gel at nail salons; it can cause neurological damage.
    Humidifiers should be cleaned with equal parts vinegar and water every two weeks.
    False eyelashes are bad- the glue can damage the skin and pulls out eyelashes.
    Jaliman also names the best products to use; from cleansers to moisturizers to foundations to sunscreens to laundry detergent. Many of the products are available at drug and discount stores. I made a list of products she recommends for my skin type and keep it in my purse when I go shopping.

    She has her own line of products but she does not include recommendations for them in this book; I think that shows character on her part and I appreciate that she didn't write this book as a sales tool for herself. It isn't all products, though; Dr. Jaliman does discuss procedures that can done in the dermatologist's office that can help.

    At the end of the book is a 'resource section' with website addresses for all of the products that Dr. Jaliman recommends.

    No matter what your age or issue- teenagers with acne, people with dry skin, people with sensitive skin, menopausal women- there is helpful information for everyone here. Think of it as your skin manual.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    This is a reference manual for ageless glowing radiant skin. Bu

    This is a reference manual for ageless glowing radiant skin. Buy this book to keep on your shelf. Dr. Jaliman is my new skin guru.

    Gina Davis

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    Great read - Very informative and practical - Easy to follow - E

    Great read - Very informative and practical - Easy to follow - Easy to understand - Easy to apply - Unlike any other self help dermatological book - A must have for anyone that wants to have their skin look good and remain healthy - Kudos to Dr Jaliman for her outstanding work - Skin Rules rules!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    A great book. I have read every book on skin and this one is by

    A great book. I have read every book on skin and this one is by far the best. It has so many easy to remember tips and suggestions on how to achieve perfect skin. Most other beauty books have so many recommendations that are so complicated, i forget them as soon as i finish the book. Not so with Dr. Jaliman's book. i have already changed the way i care for my skin and everyone who knows me keeps telling me how great i look. That is proof that "the rules" really work.
    I read the book in one sitting while on the beach (in the shade of 2 umbrellas, of course) and couldn't wait to get home to call and make an appointment with Dr. Jaliman. After speaking to one of her knowledgeable medical assistants about several treatments, I took the plunge and booked an appointment for Thermage. All one has to do is see how beautiful and young looking Dr. Jaliman is to know her rules and treatments really work!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    Dr. Jaliman wrote a fantastic book. This book addresses every s

    Dr. Jaliman wrote a fantastic book. This book addresses every skin care problem and type. She gives practical affordable ways to achiever beautifull skin. I highly recommend this book for everyone. I've been to many dermatologists through the years and her advice is excellent.
    J.F.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    Really recommend this book!

    This is the most useful beauty book I've read in a long time, and as a slightly narcissistic beauty junkie, I've read a lot of them.

    Skin Rules presents information simply, but boy, is there valuable info in there! Even the product recommendations are good, particularly because Dr. Jaliman gives high-end and budget alternatives and makes it clear when the less expensive product is better. In her introduction she says she has her own skin care line, but that she does not include it in her rules because she wants her readers to know her recommendations are impartial. Now that inspires trust!

    I like the way the book is organized into easy-to-follow rules, too. There are no boring long-winded explanations, just concrete information delivered with a good dose of humor. And some of the information I had never heard of before, so this book is well worth buying!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Do not waste your money

    If this is all a reknown dermatologist has to offer is 115 pages of what we already knew. I had hopes of expert advice and found the same generalities you find in any women's magazines. No information for people with any type of disorder such as rosacea, adult acne, excema are you really a dermatologist

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Good book for basics

    I enjoyed reading the tips and product suggestions in this book, but for skin care efficenados, I would say pass. Most of the tips are pretty basic (eg wear sunscreen, eat vegetables, good night's rest etc.) If you are a skin care newbie and want to know which products and ingredients are most effective, I would reccomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    Phenomenal book. Easy to read. Lots of new information. Great pr

    Phenomenal book. Easy to read. Lots of new information. Great products to try that do not cost a fortune. New technologies were brought to my attention. A must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    Skin Rules is an excellent, informative read. When you read this

    Skin Rules is an excellent, informative read. When you read this book, you feel like you are chatting with a girlfriend-but one who is extremely knowledgable! This is a book that you can pick up and put down-read a rule when you have a minute and read another when you can-although you won't want to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    Skin Rules is fabulous! It provides great, straight-forward, pr


    Skin Rules is fabulous! It provides great, straight-forward, practical information from one of New York City's premier cosmetic dermatologists. It is a very enjoyable read and it's chock full of answers to all your beauty questions. I'm confident that anyone interested in looking and feeling great will love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    Loved this book. It is an easy read and smart. Makes skin unders

    Loved this book. It is an easy read and smart. Makes skin understandable by a doctor. After some skin setbacks I wish I had this book years ago. Highly recommend skin rules.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1