Customer Reviews for

Skin and Other Stories

Average Rating 3.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

cool

this is the coolest book ever! I loved it!

posted by Anonymous on October 6, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

TELL STORIES ABOUT SOLVING PROBLEMS WITH VIOLENCE

My son's teacher said it's the only type of story the kids will respond to. Did they react to the romantic set-up of the Beach-like Man-Glow? Or maybe it was showing your love with a big gulp of wiskey, have one yourself, good for the kidneys, even if you are pregnan...
My son's teacher said it's the only type of story the kids will respond to. Did they react to the romantic set-up of the Beach-like Man-Glow? Or maybe it was showing your love with a big gulp of wiskey, have one yourself, good for the kidneys, even if you are pregnant. Disconnect at any bump in the road, wallow in the numbness, pretend it will just go away.

Maybe she took some practice swings as she held the meat like a club, maybe she didn't, doesn't matter, one minute she's basking, next, the father of her progeny, given the death sentence for reasons she'll never know. Make up a story, practice your lie, find an excuse so you don't have to face the consequenses of your actions, it's for the baby's sake. He made you kill him.

Nobody takes their homelife to work. Lie to the police, fool them and you fool the world, another drink anyone? Act normal after you ended a life and get ready to giggle for the joke of ignorance. I'm sure the Shock and Awe is in play here, sucker you in with the romantic opening, bash the head and end it with a giggle. I can't find any redeaming value in this story except for her puppy dog like devotion, shallow as it becomes.

I'm speaking as an adult who finds the feeling of nausea when I read such ugliness. Like facist architecture. This assults the senses, but, dear reader, what does it say to the children? I"m not worried about my kid, we can disect and define the macabre, we learn lots about beauty from the ugly. There are options all along the story. I'd rather have skipped this backpedaling avenue of education but the experts are in control for 180 days and playing the game is as macabre as it gets in todays schools, IMHO. Agree or not with my assessment of the story, can we agree that these adult themes are not for 11 year olds???
Sincerly,
Lawson-Texas

posted by KramNoswal on November 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    TELL STORIES ABOUT SOLVING PROBLEMS WITH VIOLENCE

    My son's teacher said it's the only type of story the kids will respond to. Did they react to the romantic set-up of the Beach-like Man-Glow? Or maybe it was showing your love with a big gulp of wiskey, have one yourself, good for the kidneys, even if you are pregnant. Disconnect at any bump in the road, wallow in the numbness, pretend it will just go away.

    Maybe she took some practice swings as she held the meat like a club, maybe she didn't, doesn't matter, one minute she's basking, next, the father of her progeny, given the death sentence for reasons she'll never know. Make up a story, practice your lie, find an excuse so you don't have to face the consequenses of your actions, it's for the baby's sake. He made you kill him.

    Nobody takes their homelife to work. Lie to the police, fool them and you fool the world, another drink anyone? Act normal after you ended a life and get ready to giggle for the joke of ignorance. I'm sure the Shock and Awe is in play here, sucker you in with the romantic opening, bash the head and end it with a giggle. I can't find any redeaming value in this story except for her puppy dog like devotion, shallow as it becomes.

    I'm speaking as an adult who finds the feeling of nausea when I read such ugliness. Like facist architecture. This assults the senses, but, dear reader, what does it say to the children? I"m not worried about my kid, we can disect and define the macabre, we learn lots about beauty from the ugly. There are options all along the story. I'd rather have skipped this backpedaling avenue of education but the experts are in control for 180 days and playing the game is as macabre as it gets in todays schools, IMHO. Agree or not with my assessment of the story, can we agree that these adult themes are not for 11 year olds???
    Sincerly,
    Lawson-Texas

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2004

    I think the book Skin by Roald Dahl is really amazing

    The title of this book is Skin, which is written by Roald Dahl.There are eleven suspenseful tales that are relly exciting. In the short story 'Lamb to the Slaughter' the main character Mary Malone kills her husband with a lamb leg and feeds the evidence to the police. One of her problems is being scared that she will be caught because she feeds the evidence to the police. The main idea is her trying to get away with murdering her husband and she does. And all of this happend was because her husband wanted a divorce.I think the book Skin is really cool and exciting because of the eleven different tales in one book because you can choose one of the ones you like best. I also like it because the stories in it are very exciting and make me want to read them!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2002

    What was the point?

    I have conflicting opinions of Roald Dahl¿s Skin and Other Stories. My first reaction was one of disappointment. I was not that impressed with the stories inside. Instead of reading because I was enjoying the stories, I read because I did not know where it was going. Even after completing many of the stories, I was thinking, "What was the point?" Some selections were more engaging, but I was still disappointed. As I read, I was creating endings in my head, many of which seemed like possible Twilight Zone plots. The stories never ended in this way. I am not saying that I disliked the book; it just left me the way I began. It did not spark connections to things I have read, seen, or experienced. Perhaps I had high expectations. Now, as I think back over the different plots and events, I realize the potential the book has. There were some very intriguing characters and events. Although I still do not understand what the point may have been, I am starting to appreciate the book as a whole more. Instead of one continuous story, the reader is presented with a snapshot of the characters¿ lives. When the story is alone, it is like looking at a picture of someone you have never heard of, and never will meet. There really is no need to look at that person¿s picture, but you study it regardless. When all the stories are together, they do not form a complete picture. It is more like a collage of the unusual. You do not gain a better understanding of any one item, but you can appreciate the whole a little more. I do not think this book was great, but I do not think it was bad either. It may have more of an appeal to someone else. I prefer a little more detail and continuity. I am familiar with some of Dahl's other books; one's that really create an imaginative world, and really pull the readers into the story. I do not consider Skin to be comparable to one of those books. This is not a book that sent my mind on a new thought path. I don¿t really have any opinions about the events of the story. Everything seemed to be almost there, but not quite enough. Overall, I just don¿t think this book measured up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2002

    cool

    this is the coolest book ever! I loved it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    SERIOUSLY, WHY WOULD PAY FOR A BOOK THIS "EXPENSIVE"

    Why would you waist money on a book like this? It is horrible for a reading level 6. It is for ADULT concepts! Not for 11-12 year olds? SERIOUSLY, REALLY!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    J.A

    This book may be one of Roald Dahl's creepier books, but it is worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    This book sucks

    It cost to much moneybfor a book that isn't good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    skin and other storys

    It is the best book ever.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2005

    Wow!!!

    This book was absolutely awesome! All the stories were rather eerie, but in a way that it was actually funny. You can tell this collection of stories were written the one and only Roald Dahl, creator of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Matilda, BFG, The Twits, blah, blah, blah, etc. These stories were fun to read, filled with unexpected twists and turns and bizarre endings. This was a great book and I would definatly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1