Customer Reviews for

Skinny: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Teen Girls Need to Read This Book

It's frustrating to read about girls who have eating disorders. You want to tell them, you don't need to lose weight, you're fine just the way you are. It pains you to see someone hurt themselves. However as uncomfortable as this topic can be, it's a serious issue tha...
It's frustrating to read about girls who have eating disorders. You want to tell them, you don't need to lose weight, you're fine just the way you are. It pains you to see someone hurt themselves. However as uncomfortable as this topic can be, it's a serious issue that needs to be brought into the open. This book perfectly captures the life of a teenage girl with an eating disorder. Melissa is your average teenage girl who just wants to fit in during her high school years. I liked how the author made her likable and modern without being too trendy. The dialogue between the teens was realistic and perfectly captured what life is like for the average teen girl (complete with those mean girls!!). However as the story progresses, the reader soon learns that Melissa is facing a battle with herself and her body. What I thought was most interesting about Melissa's situation is that she doesn't try to lose weight because of a boy. While she does have a relationship with a guy throughout the book, he's not really a factor in her decisions to not eat. Her real reasons were more with trying to maintain control in her life, and this was the only way that she could. Side effects of eating disorders are shown to be very painful and unpleasant so hopefully girls who read this book will get the impression that extreme dieting is not the way to go. My only qualm with the book is that I felt Melissa's recovery happened much too quickly. She goes from barely eating anything to being able to choke down a whole piece of pizza. First off, why in the world her parents would buy a fully loaded pizza and expect her to eat this, after she's been diagnosed with an eating disorder is beyond me. From reading other accounts of recovering anorexics and bulimics, it would have taken her a long time to adjust to eating food again and keeping everything down. I don't have a problem with her getting well and having treatment, I just felt that it seemed a little rushed and not that realistic.

However the book is a really great read. I, myself, couldn't put it down. The writing is engaging, entertaining, and realistic. It may be a short read but it packs quite a punch. Any teen girl who's even thought about considering that not eating would be a good idea, needs to read this book.

posted by Deborah_K on April 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Happy it was short

A very poorly written novel, non realistic characters, poor usage of literary elements, not pleased. (Also, not a good read for non-religious people)

posted by 6028190 on December 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Teen Girls Need to Read This Book

    It's frustrating to read about girls who have eating disorders. You want to tell them, you don't need to lose weight, you're fine just the way you are. It pains you to see someone hurt themselves. However as uncomfortable as this topic can be, it's a serious issue that needs to be brought into the open. This book perfectly captures the life of a teenage girl with an eating disorder. Melissa is your average teenage girl who just wants to fit in during her high school years. I liked how the author made her likable and modern without being too trendy. The dialogue between the teens was realistic and perfectly captured what life is like for the average teen girl (complete with those mean girls!!). However as the story progresses, the reader soon learns that Melissa is facing a battle with herself and her body. What I thought was most interesting about Melissa's situation is that she doesn't try to lose weight because of a boy. While she does have a relationship with a guy throughout the book, he's not really a factor in her decisions to not eat. Her real reasons were more with trying to maintain control in her life, and this was the only way that she could. Side effects of eating disorders are shown to be very painful and unpleasant so hopefully girls who read this book will get the impression that extreme dieting is not the way to go. My only qualm with the book is that I felt Melissa's recovery happened much too quickly. She goes from barely eating anything to being able to choke down a whole piece of pizza. First off, why in the world her parents would buy a fully loaded pizza and expect her to eat this, after she's been diagnosed with an eating disorder is beyond me. From reading other accounts of recovering anorexics and bulimics, it would have taken her a long time to adjust to eating food again and keeping everything down. I don't have a problem with her getting well and having treatment, I just felt that it seemed a little rushed and not that realistic.

    However the book is a really great read. I, myself, couldn't put it down. The writing is engaging, entertaining, and realistic. It may be a short read but it packs quite a punch. Any teen girl who's even thought about considering that not eating would be a good idea, needs to read this book.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Girl must have!

    This book is so sad! But it is so good,Im young and a female and can relate to alot of the situations that melissa faced.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    wow

    This accually is a good bok and its deep. Coming from a thirteen yr old

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Good

    It was good but two things did not make sense to me.

    #1: Melissa goes frome eating nothing and throwing up every last bite to eating tons of unhealthful food. I know some people who are in the process of recovering from anorexia and bulimia, and it takes a while, possibly a few years, to recover. I think that the author should have done some research and had Melissa take a little while longer to recover.

    And the second thing that did not make sense:

    #2: Melissa and her friends listen to 1980's music. I know some fourteen year olds do, but it's very unlikely. Melissa and her friends listen to Bruce Sting, the Beatles, etc. Most fourteen year olds are into pop or rap/hip-hop.

    Other than those two things that I didn't understand, the book was great. Although, it started out slow, it was a quick 129 page book. I read it in a day. I believe that it is worth gettimg. It's one of those heart-wrenching, bittersweet books.

    It shows some elements that teens do have. For example, Melissa wants.to be the captain of her dance team and her boyfriend, Beau, breaks up with her because of his parents who think that he needs to focus on school and football, not a girlfriend.

    Overall, it was a great book, but I would only recommend it for ages twelve and up. (12+)

    Definately get this book!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Great self-esteem book

    The main character if this book has a great life, but for some reason she starts to think that she is too fat. Even though she's medium-skinny. She starts to watching her weight the wrong way by eating little and overexaggerating everything. She develops an eating disorder and her life starts to spiral out of control. Luckliy she is disclvered and saved byher parents before she kills herself.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Wow

    Wow is the word that describes this ebook.its about a teenager losing weight on purpose so she could fit in.it got to the point that she purposely threw up to make herself skinnier.she was under so much stress.to hear about stuff like this made me want to cry.in the end she went to the doctor came to an un derstanding with God and ate properly.she got her life back on track not a minute too late.i reccomend this book for girls ages11 and up.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Hello

    Should i get it or not
    I dont want to waste mi nook space

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Great

    Sad but it is what really happens to people who have obsessive eating disorders.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    The awarding book

    The best book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Shadow

    Pants

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Nice

    Really good book i love how the author wrote it and alot of teens today who are battling bulima or anorexia should read this

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Good

    This was a really good book. Though it talked about a subject some if us may or may not know. I havent really ever seen anything like this. I can imagine her thinking that God wanted her to hurt herself like that. It makes me sad just thinking of the millions of girls who strugle with this same problem. The sad thing is nobody notices. Its sad that schools dont do more to help with this issue! The schools NEED to show kids that no matter what you think if you do something like this to yourself you will pretty much be killing youself! I learned most of this from a book!! Not someone telling me! How are people going to prevent stuff like this if they dont adress it?! This is just sad that girls (and boys) would ever do this to themselfs.

    Now about the book. This was a great book that helps you understand more about eating disorters and how they effect peoples everyday lives. I think this is a great book for mainly girls +12 (because this is a hard book to understand if you dont know about the disorter) Read it!

    ~Stay Beautiful beacuse you are and always will be no matter what anyone tells you *:D

    ~DD was here

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Loved it

    I loved this book. It was so deep and the problems she had were relatable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Question

    I've already read the OTHER Skinny by Ibi kaslik if you have read the other one I was wondering are they about the same as in writhing not the subject? Am i going to feel like Im reading the book over? Is it worth the money?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1