Customer Reviews for

Skinny Bastard: A Kick-in-the-Ass for Real Men Who Want to Stop Being Fat and Start Getting Buff

Average Rating 3.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

An Entertaining and Informative Read

I'm rereading this because I've strayed from the path in recent months and am reminded of the somewhat intense vegan agenda that becomes obvious fairly early in the book. Overall I rather enjoy(ed) the book because it is just a plethora of applicable information and is ...
I'm rereading this because I've strayed from the path in recent months and am reminded of the somewhat intense vegan agenda that becomes obvious fairly early in the book. Overall I rather enjoy(ed) the book because it is just a plethora of applicable information and is a super easy read. Do I agree with everything the authors say? Not at all. It needs to be taken with a grain of salt, just like most everything these days.

I've read some of the reviews from Skinny Bi*** and am really surprised at how close-minded people are on the topic (healthy living practices, mostly food choices). It's not going to be the perfect fit for everyone but take what you can from it. Definitely a nice eye-opener that'll get you thinking about what you're eating and make you more conscious of what you choose to eat.

posted by 10281075 on December 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Vegan propaganda

Blatant vegan propaganda. Some good advice to start and then with the hard sell on being vegan with 3rd grade name calling. Still some good advice, but the book should have been called Uber Heathly Unpreserved Skinny Bastard.

posted by 9622329 on September 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    An Entertaining and Informative Read

    I'm rereading this because I've strayed from the path in recent months and am reminded of the somewhat intense vegan agenda that becomes obvious fairly early in the book. Overall I rather enjoy(ed) the book because it is just a plethora of applicable information and is a super easy read. Do I agree with everything the authors say? Not at all. It needs to be taken with a grain of salt, just like most everything these days.

    I've read some of the reviews from Skinny Bi*** and am really surprised at how close-minded people are on the topic (healthy living practices, mostly food choices). It's not going to be the perfect fit for everyone but take what you can from it. Definitely a nice eye-opener that'll get you thinking about what you're eating and make you more conscious of what you choose to eat.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    No Sugar-coating

    The sister of this book, Skinny Bit**, changed my spouse's life forever. Now with the skinny Bast edition I have something to carry around and reference when people don't understand what we've been led to believe. Everyone should read this or Skinny Bit** at least once. It delves into the food industry and research that has been done, but covered up for profits. It tackles health and nutrition and destroys some previously accepted notions with scientific proof through medical studies. It also lets the reader know what horrific things are happening to the animals in this country at slaughterhouses and "farms" across the country.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    Quite an eye-opener

    Read the "sister book" (Skinny B*tch) - both books are very informative. The authors' blatant style really made me reconsider some of my food choices and inspired me to research more into the link between diet and wellness. One year later, my husband and I have both gone vegan - we've never felt better or had more energy. Definitely recommend this book for people who are looking to make positive changes in their lives.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Very Imformative

    This book has some great ideas on losing weight, and is very imformative. Leans very heavy to Vegan lifestyle.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Jenn's review

    We are using this to get healthy and it is working great.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Vegan propaganda

    Blatant vegan propaganda. Some good advice to start and then with the hard sell on being vegan with 3rd grade name calling. Still some good advice, but the book should have been called Uber Heathly Unpreserved Skinny Bastard.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    Extremely awesome!

    The BEST book to get started on eating better without all the sugar coating other books give. This is raw and to the point. A must read even if your not fat and and just want great information on food and lifestyle. AMAZING!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    Informative

    So while these lovely ladies have clearly done a wonderful body of research, I can't help but see this book as blatant vegan propaganda. I took a lot of very useful information from this book. However, I'm totally confident that my meat eating, dairy loving ways are not going to be the direct cause of any cancers or obesity. Yet it did put nutrition in a very real perspective and has influenced me to make smarter choices.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    We have got to make some changes.

    You must read this book. Not only is it very informative, but it will change your view on food in general.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    Vegan Propaganda

    This book was basically a huge PETA pamphlet. The chapters are all titled different but they are all about the same thing: eating meat is bad.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2