Customer Reviews for

Skinny Bitch: Ultimate Everyday Cookbook: Crazy Delicious Recipes that Are Good to the Earth and Great for Your Bod

Average Rating 3.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Would purchase again

Useful, tasty, and easy to make recipes for every day living.

posted by Anonymous on December 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Buy the paper copy

Several recipes in the e-book version had errors in the ingredients...instead of the fraction being displayed (i.e. "1/3" or "2/3"), a "?" or a box were displayed. This made following the recipes very difficult. Tried changing the font on the iTouch app and the Window...
Several recipes in the e-book version had errors in the ingredients...instead of the fraction being displayed (i.e. "1/3" or "2/3"), a "?" or a box were displayed. This made following the recipes very difficult. Tried changing the font on the iTouch app and the Windows PC version without success. Buy the paper version.

posted by jamie_laree on January 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    Buy the paper copy

    Several recipes in the e-book version had errors in the ingredients...instead of the fraction being displayed (i.e. "1/3" or "2/3"), a "?" or a box were displayed. This made following the recipes very difficult. Tried changing the font on the iTouch app and the Windows PC version without success. Buy the paper version.

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    sorry I bought this book

    i read through the book and did not find anything worth cooking. I am a gourmet cook and cook all types of food and I was very disappointed. I would not recommend this book to any other vegetarians.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    MUST READ

    This book is absolutely hilarious! It is no nonsense, straight to the point, this is how it is, yet it also has the perfect amount of humor so that even though some of it may be disturbing you still find reasons to laugh. Definitely informative and yet it is brought about in a clear fashion. Definitely read if you are vegetarian/vegan or not!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Very tasty and easy recipes

    very easy to understand and the recipes taste just as good as the meat alternatives. I have tried several recipes so far and they don't taste like diet food either

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Would purchase again

    Useful, tasty, and easy to make recipes for every day living.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Fabulous Book

    It's a cookbook that I have looked at, but not had time to experiment with yet. It's fun to look at and looks like the recipes will be good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Heathly Recipes - good too

    Great recipes that taste good. Some of the ingredients are hard to find but worth looking for.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great recipes that happen to be Vegan

    Wonderful recipes with glorious color pictures that anyone can pull off. The best part about this book is the science behind it. Barnouin has really done her research and gives great information about foods that should be avoided if you're concerned with your health or the environment, and provides tasty alternatives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Excellent!

    Loved this! So informative- not JUST a collection of recipes! Tons of information on the why & how of things and even includes a list of pantry staples! Great pictures and descriptions for each recipe and I have loved every one I've tried! Highly recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Yummy

    I use this book to try something new in my cooking adventure. It definitely has some great tips.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    The best cookbook I have ever bought

    This is one of my favorite cookbooks. I tried many of its recipes and they are as delicious as they are healthy. The great thing is that you don't have to feel guilty after eating these meals. It is a great cookbook to have. I gave a copy to all my friends for Christmas and they all loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    I agree with the other reviewer who says she does not acknowledg

    I agree with the other reviewer who says she does not acknowledge coconut oil (interesting, indeed). There's something else she leaves out as well, though I can't remember it since I haven't used the book in a few weeks (flaxseed?). As with all recipes, these are guidelines that can be modified as needed. I use whole wheat and ground flax a lot myself, plus I'm not vegan. There was still plenty of good recipes and excellent information on all the &^$# that seems to permeate food around here. I love her in-your-face narration and sense of humor as well.

    --and now I remember what it was. Coconut milk isn't in her section for non-dairy substitute, and as someone lactose intolerant, I switch between Silk soy and Blue Diamond almond and coconut-almond milk regularly (extra points for mentioning why you should NOT have too much soy in your diet!). It still has a ton of Vitamin E, and 50% more calcium than the almond milk itself. Yeah, there's a bit more fat, but you appreciate it more before your 1.5-mile walk to work in the morning when you're not as hungry soon afterwards =^)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Good overall vegan cookbook

    This is a very good introduction to vegan recipes and I have tried a number of them with success. She totally ignores coconut oil, though, which is the healthiest oil to use. Also disappointed that she uses white flour because white flour only turns to sugar in your body; there is no nutritional value in it. I've worked the recipes around my needs with success.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4